BYD Sealion 7

Bmxcar

On 5/5/2025 at 3:16 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

Lots of Sealions going around the roads now.

Personally I like the car’s design and interior but I have not had any chance to test drive it (also the Seal), because the showrooms are always crowded, the sales are always busy, and when I was at ZSM during off peak hours, the sales lady who served me was not very willing to talk to me. Maybe they see unker in crocs is just looking for fun nia.

I did try the Atto3 before BYD became mainstream. It’s a good car to drive but interior is quite tacky.

The Tesla sales advisors are much more courteous, passionate about the car and knowledgeable in comparison.

And it’s moot talking about car costs and margins la. Businesses all want to earn max margins and consumers all want the best deal. How to settle liddat? Go down physically to the AD and negotiate lah! The price you see in sgcm is not the price you pay! Don’t be a kuku! 

and why would one be concerned about how much margin the dealer makes? 

When you buy BBT do you care how much it costs the shop?

When you buy a Balenciagia tee do you care how much it costs to make?

If you like the product, can afford to buy it (MCF standard is full cash) then buy la.  

Tesla sales advisors are paid on low commission, high basic pay.

BYD sales man are paid on higher commission, much lower basic pay. 

So its no surprise why you are getting this sort of experience 😁

Just signed on the dotted line a few days ago.

Was wishy washy (new tech coming, Blade 2.0, e platform evo yadda yadda, yeah I know cannot win one) but they waived nearly all the loan penalty and gave me a bit better trade in for my old car compared to other makes, so I fell for the trap.

Hope I dont regret.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xw1jdkYW6Yo

Extreme test for Safety for BYD DM plus @30min, Telsa model3 @35min (all these are new cars).

Not sure if many know the LPF battery have challenges accurately estimating battery level hence some owner will see a disparity of range and sudden drop .. it the inherit properties from LFP which assuming EV manuf have  use software/hardware to reduce it. not sure if anyone have encounter it so far.

For those who think replacing individual cells of BYD's blade batteries is going to be easy, think again: https://english.biznessnews.com/posts/replacing-byd-blade-battery-cells-in-nepal-is-impossible-cimex-ceo-misled-customers-to-boost-sales.

Kinda makes sense as the individual blade cells form a pack that becomes a rigid structural member of the vehicle. One of the clever engineering ways of improving volumetric energy density even though the first generation of LFP cells have a lower gravimetric density of around 160Whr/kg.  

On 8/11/2025 at 10:07 PM, kayabread82 said:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xw1jdkYW6Yo

Extreme test for Safety for BYD DM plus @30min, Telsa model3 @35min (all these are new cars).

Not sure if many know the LPF battery have challenges accurately estimating battery level hence some owner will see a disparity of range and sudden drop .. it the inherit properties from LFP which assuming EV manuf have  use software/hardware to reduce it. not sure if anyone have encounter it so far.

It's one of the reasons why manufacturers will state to charge to 100% whenever possible for LFP batteries. Because LFP battery inherently has a pretty flat voltage curve, its harder for some BMS (battery mgmt software) to accurately gauge the remaining % left, and hence the range left. So, charging to 100% is like recalibrating the battery again. 

Edited by Lethalstrike

On 8/23/2025 at 6:39 PM, Lethalstrike said:

It's one of the reasons why manufacturers will state to charge to 100% whenever possible for LFP batteries. Because LFP battery inherently has a pretty flat voltage curve, its harder for some BMS (battery mgmt software) to accurately gauge the remaining % left, and hence the range left. So, charging to 100% is like recalibrating the battery again. 

Charge until stop charging 🤭

Trying to find out if BYD warranty has any statement for minimum range. In other countries like Australia it is 8yrs/ 160k km and 70% retention of the range.  

On 8/23/2025 at 9:40 PM, Mkl22 said:

Trying to find out if BYD warranty has any statement for minimum range. In other countries like Australia it is 8yrs/ 160k km and 70% retention of the range.  

Tiagong is 70% SoH. But who determines SoH? Them lor.

Edited by Ake109

On 9/2/2025 at 2:54 PM, Ake109 said:

Tiagong is 70% SoH. But who determines SoH? Them lor.

70% is standard.

You can charge from 10% to 100% to determine how much capacity the battery still got.

On 9/4/2025 at 10:20 PM, Yaloryalor said:

I think today BYD launched the Cat A Sealion 7. Hearsay it dun have head up display and ambient lighting. No memory seats and it’s PU leather. 😅

@Yaloryalor Confirmed that Sealion 7 is now available in Cat A version, see BYD pricelist that's valid until 8-Sep-2025.

image.thumb.png.ce939faa0542613a41134ed2dc9c6602.png

Problem is that the price difference between Cat B and Cat A versions of the Sealion 7 doesn't match the CoE difference between Cat B and Cat A - currently around $20k.  So Sime Darby / Vantage Automotive and dealers are going to maken more and make higher margin on the Cat A version of the Sealion 7 compared to the Cat B. So those getting the Cat A version should know they are paying more and getting less. 

Will see what the OMV of the Cat A version of the Sealion 7 to see what the actual margin is going to be. 

Edited by steveting99

Another joker car model for Singapore. 

Cat A Sealion 7... sad..

All our car model just becoming a big laugh for other country ☹️

Edited by Tohto

On 9/5/2025 at 7:34 PM, Tohto said:

Cat A Sealion 7... sad..

It also has smaller battery 

On 9/5/2025 at 7:34 PM, Tohto said:

Cat A Sealion 7... sad..

O-100 11.8s....LOL

That's like bullock cart speed in the EV world 

• Haha! 8

On 9/5/2025 at 8:31 AM, steveting99 said:

@Yaloryalor Confirmed that Sealion 7 is now available in Cat A version, see BYD pricelist that's valid until 8-Sep-2025.

Problem is that the price difference between Cat B and Cat A versions of the Sealion 7 doesn't match the CoE difference between Cat B and Cat A - currently around $20k.  So Sime Darby / Vantage Automotive and dealers are going to maken more and make higher margin on the Cat A version of the Sealion 7 compared to the Cat B. So those getting the Cat A version should know they are paying more and getting less. 

Will see what the OMV of the Cat A version of the Sealion 7 to see what the actual margin is going to be. 

Really ah, for a 15k price diff, have to give up ~60% horsepower, 10kWH battery capacity, nappa leather, HUD (and dunno what else).

Not worth it leh. If cannot stretch that last 15k shouldnt be buying a 200k car anyway.