CAI - My version

Andrewkb

I guess the difference at night is that it is sucking even more cold air .. so you're mentally adjusted such that your expectation is shifted to the next category....

recently, the weather is getting very hot in the day so you will feel a bigger difference between day and night driving....nod.gif

You will just need to change your expectation a bit...don't expect similar day and night performance....

ok! I'll make sure the lady collect from you the next time sly.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Oops... for your milo-peng-etc-etc ok hor... not for every order for the whole night... can't afford that [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Hmmm.... can't recall the space (1) when they took out my bumper that day. Dun worry about the washer though - because the AEM set comes with a washer tank to be relocated to the other side remember ?

Actually I've 2 idea, one is a flat kind of scoop, like those on WRX bonnet (of coz the WRX is exaggerated) .... the other is the one I had right now.

Option 1: Flat scoop

- Less air resistance

- Less intake air

Option 2: Snorkel

- More air resistance

- 3" mouth sucks more air

But a scoop that size would probably not fit at the bottom of the car leh... maybe you can consider doing those turbo scoops by cutting a hole in your bonnet and using it to feed the air box ??? [laugh][laugh]

Wait until you measure SUV like RX300 ...

So, at 8" ... I can safely have the whole intake pipe OUTSIDE the car ?? [sly]

EVIL THOUGHT ... BUSY NITE AGAIN !

I tot you were supposed to be prep-ping for the baby ??? Better make sure the baby doesn't come knocking when your car's insides are all over the car park ! [sweatdrop]

Funny, the Stream doesn't seem to have such high ground clearance to me. Maybe it's an optical illusion.....

To be honest, doesn't look that high to me either... I lowered mine by about 2 finger widths only - already kenna bottom going over some car park humps. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Hi all, actually what's the purpose of CAI? Its supposed to help the engine take in cold air and results in better performance right? So does that means that the day driving is the same as night driving? Wanted to ask this as my CAI does not seems to work well, as there is a big gap in performace when driving in day and night. Anyone experienced that?

To try to put it in as simple terms (because that's probably the best I can do anyway), cooler air is denser - and in the engine, when cooler air burns, it expands more, resulting in more power. Warmer air expands less during combustion, so less power. You may have noticed already if you notice driving in the night vs day, or even a cool day vs a very hot day. Car usually more responsive at night or cool day.

Point then is in the engine compartment it's usually very hot, the a CAI set up is to try to allow the engine to take in cooler air by relocating the intake. Also, CAIs are usually designed to be more 'straight' - to make it direct and easier to 'suck' in the air for better power at high revs.

Your CAI - what's your set up ? Got pics ?

wah piang.....will that increase the horse to 280??tongue.giftongue.gif

If like that can, you can bet I'll be the first to have done it - am sure I can figure some excuse to tell my wife and family... probably cheaper to cut the hole than all the $$$ I poured in to just push up from 156 horses to around 180 horses. [laugh][laugh]