CAI - My version

Andrewkb

on a stream....dun pray pray i tell you......that stream move off veli the fast hor sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

yes, very fast for a Stream 120+ on the wheel, about 180 on the crank sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

ah...got it....now for Q&A......leaving it at the end of the compartment seems to be sucking the hotair thats raising while its moving......wouldn't it be better to put in front?

i go tapau first, just back from meeting and another at 1.30....damn sian

It sits as a snorkel on top of the bonnet ... so the heat passes BEHIND the intake ... the front protrude out onto the bonnet ... machiam like WRX kind lah .. but smaller and thinner slit ...

I wonder it will have enough air for high speed driving confused.gif as the air should be of less pressure on the bonnet surface confused.gif

Andrew,

My advice.. since with all the various pattern of CAI you have, how do you know whether it works ?

I suggest you get a Air-FUel Meter to monitor the riches at various RPM, Speed to determine... and also a ext thermometer in your air-box to monitor the temperature.

How I troubleshoot is using the Air-Fuel Meter and Thermometer. Every mornig I travel the same scratch of road and I see how the fuel behaves... Different angle produces different mass intake, and the length of the tube matters.

my 2 cents.. else without AF Meter, you don't know if you are too rich or lean. (besides having the right temperature position).

All the above method is based on On the road Layman troubleshooting.. of cos if you have a OBD reader hook up while driving is the best..

Edited by Cool

Dyno showed 10PS improvement and slight torque improvement.

But that's dyno, not on the road.

Tell you what, I sacrify my car ... you pay $$$ to buy the set, I sacrify to install in my car and let you experiment. OK [sly]

Hehehehe ...

OBD is a joke lar.. crazy to own one.. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

My experience was this.. the last trip to MErsing, at full throttle at 180, my AF meter shows me very rich. (i.e. not enuff air), I had to rip of the con firewall to achieve 10% of stoich...

So when you position, your CAI, layman gauge is idle RPM should be abuot 780rpm, runnning lean but no knocking. My CAI was open pod directly to the fog light opening..so my idle had vast different..and eventally, I used E-manage to adjust my idle RPM.

However, at full throttle, it is difficult. I had to hear from engine knocking (i have the device), relie on the AR Meter to give me a acceptable reading. No way you can adjust the position of the CAI on the run [:/][:/]

Attached is a AF Meter.. I am using AutoMeter, open pod is APEXI dual tunnel and

post-6-1060145819_thumb.jpg

Tap from the O2 sensor at your exhaust manifold or just before the catalytic converter...if not tap from ECU also can...nod.gif