Hanhao Neutral Newbie March 9, 2009 Share March 9, 2009 Newbie (P plate) driver - How to change lane in heavy traffic? Help please...thanks = ) When i drive, i kinda feel nervous when i have to change lane in heavy traffic, esp. during peak hours on normal 3 lane roads n expressways. I need to change lane not because i like to, but because i have to make a turn further ahead, U turn, or drop off a passenger by the roadside. I see so many cars on my right or left side...all zoom past continuously like choo choo trains, n no gap to cut into...i kinda feel nervous leh. Then if i keep on driving n driving i will miss my turn. I keep my signal on by the way Today, i happened to see a gap n so i slowly wanna change lane into the gap. i did it slowly, since driving school say change lane cannot do abruptly. (i onced changed lane sharply n abruptly n kenna scolded by the instructor lol) Then the car behind i think speed up n horn n horn me. then i got a shock...feel scared. so i keep to my own lane n then let him pass before i change lane. Those laojiao drivers, any tips for changing lanes in heavy traffic? I always worry the gap too small to squeeze in, or i scared others will speed up n close up the gap once i wanna go in. Sometimes when traffic is heavy during peak hours, the cars on the other lane seems to go on n on.... all so close together, n no gap to enter. And another problem is, i keep on looking at my side mirrors to lookout for a gap for me to change lane into. Then when i keep on looking, n i tend to forget to see the traffic in front of me. Got once i almost hit the car in front of me coz the car in front stopped due to traffic light changed, n during that time my eyes still focused on my side mirror. Lucky i stepped on my brakes on time. So how ah? i find it hard to concentrate both on the front of the roads n at my side mirror at the same time, when i need to change lane in heavy traffic. Any tips from experienced drivers? Hope to learn some tips n skills here, in order to improve my driving...I'm a new driver still on P plate, n i hope i dun cause inconveniences to other driver or cause potential acccidents. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 9, 2009 Share March 9, 2009 i have no proven-textbook answer, but whatever your method is...try not to rush in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear March 9, 2009 Share March 9, 2009 (edited) plan your routes in advance so that you are in the correct lane prior to making a turn or an exit or a u-turn. if you miss a turn because you are unable to change lane, just forgot that and take a longer route, at least u reach your destination abit longer but safer. 1 more thing: never change lane just before the traffic light, do it after you pass the traffic light because some drivers might stop abruptly or slow down gradually so you need to focus on what is in front instead of what is beside you. good luck Edited March 9, 2009 by Fishy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged March 9, 2009 Share March 9, 2009 Usually if I need to get into a faster lane from my lane, I would actually begin by slowing down to give myself a bit of room from the car in front, and watching the side mirror for a gap, but not too big a gap that other vehicles change lanes into, otherwise you would have to begin all over again. When you see a gap in the fast lane traffic, you nail the throttle to begin matching your speed to the speed of the cars in the fast lanes - the room that you have left yourself at the beginning is now used up for you to gain speed. With the speed differential reduced, you will find that it is easier to merge into the fast lane. Of course, always, always use your turn indicators. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched March 9, 2009 Share March 9, 2009 All experienced drivers also start off as kan cheong newbies on the roads. There's good advice from the posts above. So take heed of them. To ease ur nervousness, the only way is to drive as often as possible. You will also gain experience and learn how other drivers drive on the roads. Pick up the good ones, forgo the bad. For changing of lanes, If there is a car occupying abt 3/4 of ur side mirror, there's still sufficient space to filter in. But if the vehicle is moving in at fast speed, just let it go first. Always have ur signal indicators on. Drivers though not all, will let u in if there's sufficient distance. No need to keep looking into ur mirrors also. Just a glance to take note of the traffic around u for awareness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 9, 2009 Share March 9, 2009 and remember signaling doesn't mean you have the right of changing lane, but signaling your intention to change lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie March 9, 2009 Share March 9, 2009 (edited) Newbie (P plate) driver - How to change lane in heavy traffic? Help please...thanks = ) When i drive, i kinda feel nervous when i have to change lane in heavy traffic, esp. during peak hours on normal 3 lane roads n expressways. I need to change lane not because i like to, but because i have to make a turn further ahead, U turn, or drop off a passenger by the roadside. I see so many cars on my right or left side...all zoom past continuously like choo choo trains, n no gap to cut into...i kinda feel nervous leh. Then if i keep on driving n driving i will miss my turn. I keep my signal on by the way Today, i happened to see a gap n so i slowly wanna change lane into the gap. i did it slowly, since driving school say change lane cannot do abruptly. (i onced changed lane sharply n abruptly n kenna scolded by the instructor lol) Then the car behind i think speed up n horn n horn me. then i got a shock...feel scared. so i keep to my own lane n then let him pass before i change lane. Those laojiao drivers, any tips for changing lanes in heavy traffic? I always worry the gap too small to squeeze in, or i scared others will speed up n close up the gap once i wanna go in. Sometimes when traffic is heavy during peak hours, the cars on the other lane seems to go on n on.... all so close together, n no gap to enter. And another problem is, i keep on looking at my side mirrors to lookout for a gap for me to change lane into. Then when i keep on looking, n i tend to forget to see the traffic in front of me. Got once i almost hit the car in front of me coz the car in front stopped due to traffic light changed, n during that time my eyes still focused on my side mirror. Lucky i stepped on my brakes on time. So how ah? i find it hard to concentrate both on the front of the roads n at my side mirror at the same time, when i need to change lane in heavy traffic. Any tips from experienced drivers? Hope to learn some tips n skills here, in order to improve my driving...I'm a new driver still on P plate, n i hope i dun cause inconveniences to other driver or cause potential acccidents. There are no other ways apart from flicking your signal indicator switch to indicate your intention to turn in any direction or filter into any lane/s. However, DO signal in advance - not at the last few possible seconds. There is no remedy for your feeling nervous since you lack the experience. But I'd suggest you drive in the slower left lane until you have built up enough confidence in handling your car, and those around you. Driving nervous, is not a very good thing to do. And it is different from driving Alert. Edited March 9, 2009 by Cjgoh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 Do the right thing as in signalling early and looking for a gap to go in. Once you make the move, continue to go in regardless if you get horned. Do not take too long in changing lane. Usually around 2 seconds you should be in the other lane. If you go back into your lane, you caused more frustration for the vehicles behind you. The bxtard speeding up to close the gap will not want to hit you from the back. He just wants to scare and bully you. If he does hit you, you can claim his insurance jialat jialat. There are still people who will let in, if you signal early and made clear your intention. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 The thing is that he dun have self confidence, what ever you guys tell him he won't be able to remember when he starts driving. He will panic as usual. What he has to do is to practice more often, take the abuse hurled at him and he will get used to it. TS, welcome to real world driving. For you, it's like your very first job, nobody is going to pamper you and treat you like a baby. You have to prove your worth and take what ever sh*t thrown at you. If you can't take it dan leave. Same for driving. If you dun have some confidence and cannot take the heat/stress, dan dun drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lab4games 1st Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 the pure and innocent newbie driver's mind! there are no text book answer to driving, if u have got ur license, u would have learnt all the required skills for daily driving. practise more lor. better not teach u the laojiao driver way of driving, very easy to lose ur 12points to TP whatever stunt u do, drive safe!! watch out for motorcyclists and pedestrains. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 Thanks for all the contributions but one thing the more experienced drivers may want to do is to give way to "P" platers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 The most important thing to do after switching lane is to step on your accelerator and speed up to close the gap between you and the car in front of you so as not to inconvenience the driver behind you who have to brake and slow down because of you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 I would try to match their speed, while signalling, then they will usually give way. (Probably their mindset is; that car fast enough, if let him go first, wont slow down that much) Putting your hand out of the windows and wave, works for me in super traffic jam situation. Be careful of bikes though. If really no choice, then just go for a U-turn in front or detour. The most use up another 5 mins. I would never approve of people cutting in at last second. Someone did that to me once while it was raining quite heavily, I almost couldn't brake in time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 eh... this kinda thing very hard to teach or explain. normally in a crowded road. i see side mirror, the distance of the car behind is visible through my side mirror , check blind spot, no vehicle, flick signal accelerate turn and u're in. of course must do so swiftly in order not to let the car behind jam brake or slow too much. keep up with the speed with the infront car. try and diversify your attention to your sides front and back. u dont wanna rear end someone, neither its nice to let people langa u. of course when u're turning in do pay attention whether the car behind is trying to be an a------e by picking up trying not to let u overtake. but if really bo pian, cannot exit, take the next exit. dont risk by doing a dangerous stunt. u will get bolder as confidence level will increase by the day. so no worries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 T/S, please let us all know what are the routes you normally take every day ........ Make and colour of your car..... This is so that we can be on a look out of you to stay out of trouble for us..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 the key in changing lanes is to be decisive. there is no 50-50 for lane change. if can change safely then change. plan ahead also helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laiwh 1st Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 ka ka lai, mai kia, long tio ooh sia (means don't be afraid, if bang already, sure got sound *touch wood!!*) The seniors always say that to me when i first started driving in saf abt 10 yrs ago....cos i also got this problem initially when i started driving Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 Leave some space in front in your current lane for speeding up. Signal and move the car towards the next lane whilst still going forward (Means, dun abruptly just turn your steering wheel and have your car diagonal la !!) You will then slowly eat into the other lane(cross the line marker), pple will know your attention and some will slow down 4 u. (Those who dun want to let you cut still can pass you) then gain speed whilst cutting into the other lane as soon as you see a gap. But if you execute this too slowly, you will be blocking traffic. MAKE SURE YOU DUN WAIT TILL LAST MIN TO CHANGE LANE!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...