10th Generation Honda Civic (2016)

Carbon82

A popular phrase in MCF and I quote "Put your money where your mouth is".

For those who say Civic is still the best, go sign up for one. Muayhahaha!

because no one wants to pay > 100k for a car that drives like a toy or handles like shit.  [laugh]

or to put it more relatively.. imagine paying 700k for a home.. and waking up every morning feeling like you just spent your night at a slum.  [:p]  [:p]  [:p]

you are in singapore

pay >100k but get a B&B car

pay 700k but get to live in hdb slum

get used to it

you are in singapore

get used to it

[laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  :a-m1212:  :a-m1212:

you are in singapore

get used to it

Wah, u knock some sense into our mind..we almost forget we are in Singapore. Hahaha..

the one showing on my avatar.

There are "cheap" frames available on TH website to buy as replacement, but that's besides the point. Further, for countries with strict laws, you can't easily change the chassis without running foul of the law.

These days, bar those in higher trim, most honda bike also go thai made. Even those labelled mij also have mic parts. Similar to the cars.

Does a Honda Turbo MPV count?  1st model with the 1.5T is the Honda Stepwgn, but lower state of tune (low pressure turbo) and not in the same league as sedans.

The engine is quite a peach in terms of response provided the eco mode is off.  However, the vocal sound of the engine doesn't quite have the pitch of the traditional Vtec which I've driven before (K20A).

I think unless you're in a hurry, better off waiting for the 1.5T to be available before deciding.  This new civic was meant to have this engine combination.

I would rather wait for the 1.5T or even 2.0T next year which will be higher specced too.

Edited by ktnpl

I've yet to drive nor heard of an underpowered Honda. Surely they have done their homework that the 1 litre engine is sufficient for the car otherwise their reputation would be at stake. Anyway even Ford has put in 1 litre engines in their Mondeo though not available locally so I don't think it will be underpowered.

They have also researched this civic hybrid. But I heard it has many problems.

8 speakers ...... wonder mounted where? Most prob 4 in each door, 2 tweeters near side mirrors ..... the last 2 where?

Also glad to note there is no auto idling stop start system .... related to cause of the recall for vezels....

I went down to the Kah Motors showroom today at around 3pm to kaypoh.

The brochure are as shown:

attachicon.gifUntitled11.jpg

attachicon.gifUntitled2.jpg

attachicon.gifUntitled3.jpg

The first page of the brochure seem to suggest that navigation is standard but even the SE wasn't too sure and said TBC.

There are only 60 units which Kah Motors brought in for this prelaunch and apparently as of 3pm today, some of the more colours has been sold out such as cosmic blue metallic, midnight burgundy pearl, lunar silver metallic. Those buyers booked the car without even a test drive as there is no car to see in their showroom for now. The official launch is in May to June.

If you book today in the prelaunch, collection is only in late July early August.

And yes, it is only 1,6L with the latest earth dreams CVT transmission box.

Hope this info is useful for those in the market for a new car. =))

actually no need to pay so much attention for TC or NA, more important is drivetrain system, CVT leading the trend now

agreed. Turbo or no turbo put one cvt also sianz liao (though i dont think cvt will be on a turbo). So far the only cvt i think can make it one is the toyota super cvt-i.. Edited by Andyngps

Does a Honda Turbo MPV count?  1st model with the 1.5T is the Honda Stepwgn, but lower state of tune (low pressure turbo) and not in the same league as sedans.

The engine is quite a peach in terms of response provided the eco mode is off.  However, the vocal sound of the engine doesn't quite have the pitch of the traditional Vtec which I've driven before (K20A).

I think unless you're in a hurry, better off waiting for the 1.5T to be available before deciding.  This new civic was meant to have this engine combination.

Just to note if the article is correct, 1.5 Turbo does not have VTEC, only VVT but 1.0 Turbo has VTEC :)

http://paultan.org/2015/11/07/driven-honda-1-0-and-1-5-litre-vtec-turbo-first-impressions-via-a-euro-civic-hatch-and-jade-rs-mpv/

agreed. Turbo or no turbo put one cvt also sianz liao (though i dont think cvt will be on a turbo). So far the only cvt i think can make it one is the toyota super cvt-i..

Well Subaru hasn't listened to the complaints about pairing WRX turbos to CVTs (the auto WRX and the Forester XT uses a detuned WRX engine)...

Edited by Gemmoglock

News: so AD is not bringing in 1.0 turbo but 1.6 NA in the new car! So for those who want Cat A/avoiding turbo but still want the good looks...

post-151638-0-41784900-1460543982_thumb.jpg

Edited by Gemmoglock

2.0T Civic Type R is already brought in by PI, 200k a pop.

I am waiting for the 10th Generation. Hopefully the new 2.0T comes in auto. My 3.0T auto only cost 190k back in 2009 and it was very good value for money. At 200k for 2.0T is not palatable to me. I might settle for AD's 1.5T if it is below 130k with very good specifications.

Edited by ktnpl