Redstorm 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 大马路 = North bridge road二马路 = Victoria Street 三马路 = Queen Street 四马路 = should be Bencoolen The older generation normally know this very well because that was the town area for them aka "坡低" http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel...rmode=1&level=5 Please correct my info if wrong Great thread! No, Jee Bay Lor refers to South Bridge Rd, not Victoria St. Some of the old Chinese dialect names for the streets in town include: Ban Ka Kar - Bencoolen St Kin Chio Kar - Petain Rd Bay Chia Koay (Horse Carriage Rd) - Hokkien St Kow Lau (9th storey) - Upp Pickering St Gu Chia Chwee - Chinatown Chat Poi Koay Kee - Boat Quay Sua Kia Teng - North Canal Road Ang Sua - Redhill / Jalan Bukit Merah See Pai Por (Sepoy Line) - currently Cantonment Rd See Kar Teng - Jalan Membina Peh Kio - Norfolk Rd Or Sai (Black lion) - Middleton Hospital (in the current TTSH) and many more which I can't think of now. Will post them if i recall them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 My great-grandmother lived in Ann Siang Hill. The house is now occupied by Batey Ads. I stayed in that boutique hotel next to it one New Year's eve with my wife to remember the place. Poor lady had a stroke and she wasted away for a couple of years before passing on. Typical chinese house with big mirror at the front door. Many tourists requested her to open her house to them when they walked by. I remember another old thing there. A Westinghouse refrigerator from the 1940s. It still chugged on the last time I saw it in the 1990s. Used ammonia as refrigerant I think. No damaging CFCs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 11 'gou' is old woodland rd,10 'gou' is ten mile junction ,9 'gou' is hillview area Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumber Neutral Newbie February 20, 2007 Author Share February 20, 2007 Bukit Timah, also known as 7 miles...pronounced in Hokkien and most elder generation will know...Beauty world and Bt Timah shopping centre used to be many singaporeans' fav shopping paradise..anyone remember the top level food centre at Beauty world? http://202.172.178.226/DJVUServer/getImage.jsp?file=/picas_data/tn_pcd/19980006067-8120-3181-2097/img0033.jpg Chun Tin road? if I remember correctly..now is a clinic at first unit..and "My Wife's place" pub..and further up is the Mazda showroom.(Pic taken in 18/7/1986) http://202.172.178.226/DJVUServer/getImage.jsp?file=/picas_data/tn_pcd/19980006533-8105-3181-0384/img0033.jpg This piece of green field is now a carpark...anyone frequent the rows of makan places there? prata, chicken rice opposite the shophouses are Beauty world and Bt Timah shopping centre. http://202.172.178.226/DJVUServer/getImage.jsp?file=/picas_data/tn_pcd/19980006533-8105-3181-0384/img0060.jpg Old shop in Bukit Timah, 1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 I do not know if the Jumahboy family ever own the A & W franchise, but from what I know the company that owned the franchise before it closed its outlets in Singapore was KUB Malaysia Bhd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 If U R away from Singapore.....40 Years.....When U come back....Become... Blur Like Sotong...... ====================== No need 40 years. Only 10 years & some pple tell me like come to a different country liow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 there are still hawker food stalls up there at beauty world...the curry fish head and or kway tiao is nice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Ya Lor......Now Only Drink .....Cheap Beer.......Import Beer Better.... ========================= Beer Bintan Indoesia.........Batam Beer......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 last time there's a reservist camp beside the nco club issit?the PDF camp is there one rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Wait a min... Kin Chio Kar is not Desker Road? Ban Ka Kar is not Lavender/Balestier Road? So I have my facts wrong all this while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 (edited) 大马路 = North bridge road二马路 = Victoria Street 三马路 = Queen Street 四马路 = should be Bencoolen The older generation normally know this very well because that was the town area for them aka "坡低" http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel...rmode=1&level=5 Please correct my info if wrong Great thread! No, Jee Bay Lor refers to South Bridge Rd, not Victoria St. Some of the old Chinese dialect names for the streets in town include: Ban Ka Kar - Bendemeer Rd Kin Chio Kar - Petain Rd Bay Chia Koay (Horse Carriage Rd) - Hokkien St Kow Lau (9th storey) - Upp Pickering St Gu Chia Chwee - Chinatown Chat Poi Koay Kee - Boat Quay Sua Kia Teng - North Canal Road Ang Sua - Redhill / Jalan Bukit Merah See Pai Por (Sepoy Line) - currently Cantonment Rd See Kar Teng - Jalan Membina Peh Kio - Norfolk Rd Or Sai (Black lion) - Middleton Hospital (in the current TTSH) Ang Sar Lee - Serangoon Garden Ngo Bay Lor (5th Horse Rd) - Middle Road Ang Teng - Clifford Pier Kangkar - end of Upper Serangoon Rd Ow Kang - Upper Serangoon Rd Tekkah - Serangoon Rd and many more which I can't think of now. Will post them if i recall them. Edited February 20, 2007 by Redstorm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 http://202.172.178.226/DJVUServer/getImage.jsp?file=/picas_data/tn_pcd/19980006625-8105-3181-1815/img0085.jpgis this the staircase?photo taken in 1990 http://202.172.178.226/DJVUServer/getImage.jsp?file=/picas_data/tn_pcd/19980006625-8105-3181-1815/img0083.jpg http://202.172.178.226/DJVUServer/getImage.jsp?file=/picas_data/tn_pcd/19980006625-8105-3181-1815/img0084.jpg Base of staircase,Bukit Batok nature park,early 1990s Seem like Everything the Same.......As Now..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Sorry, Ban Ka Kar is Bendemeer Rd and not Bencoolen St as I mentioned earlier on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Uncle Redstorm... can educate more on why those roads are given such names? For eg, why Ban Ka Kar? Is it because there are a lot of mosquitoes around that area? My mom always mentioned "Peh Sua Gu". Which part of Bugis is that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 'peh sua gu' if not wrong is bugis junction or bugis village...btw is 'Da shi jie' the current great world city? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Wah, u called me uncle as if I am so old. I am not that old, lah. Anyway, Peh Sua Gu generally refers to Bugis St. I can't pin-point the actual location as I seldom frequent that place when it was still around but it's somewhere around the Bugis Junction area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Like Nutty said, Ban Ka Kar is Lavender St where my dad used to stay. I remembered we always said go to Ban Ka Kar to visit my dad's relatives and get mosquitoes (Ban) on our legs (Kar). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Yes, "Da Shi Jie" or Great World amusement park was at the site of the current Great World City. Besides Great World, there were also Gay World at Geylang Rd, Beauty World at Upp Bukit Timah Rd and another one at Jalan Besar (damn, I can't recall the name now.) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...