Wolverman Neutral Newbie November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 (edited) 3,400 cars caught speeding on KPE in 6 days NEARLY 3,400 vehicles were caught exceeding the 70kmh speed limit in the underground Kallang-Paya Lebar Expressway (KPE) in the first six days of its opening. Of the lot, 45 cases exceeded 110kmh, and one vehicle - a sedan - was clocked crossing 140kmh. Their owners will be receiving either warning letters or summonses from the Traffic Police. The number of speedsters caught works out to a daily average of 563 - double the number of speeding cases islandwide per day. This is partly because the tunnels have highly accurate digital laser cameras - the first of their kind used here. They never run out of film like the old models used on other expressways. And they work 24 hours a day, seven days a week, unlike policemen carrying laser cameras. The other reason for the inordinately large number of cases is that some motorists are still unaware of the new tunnels' 70kmh limit. Edited November 3, 2007 by Wolverman ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 hahaha.... tat is 10% lo... dun scare ppl la.... Likely KENA .. 150 bucks and 6 points..if exceed 40kmph --> COURT CASE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odex Neutral Newbie November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 the fastest car will show the reading.... wow, ideal for street racing, easy to settle who won :) No more arguing, got photo finish somemore.... maybi c who gota most photo izit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 Saw from Lian He Zhao Bao today that 3378 motorist tio caught speeding with some even lutting up to 40km/hr & above About 30-40 person will tio charged to court for speeding about 40km/hr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odex Neutral Newbie November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 Was trying out the KPE just now. Filtered in from PIE, appeared I am only car heading into tunnel. Was travelling at about 80km/h just cruising to enjoy the new road. Then a few hundred meters after I passed the entrance, I saw a flash from behind! My wife also saw it too. I noticed there's a 70km/h speed limit signboard later. Geez! How come no warning signs one? What an experience. Now don't know whether its speed cam or something on trial one. Anyone kena too? jus wonder who izit drivin the sedan doin 140 as repot in the papar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfpoon Clutched November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 KPE is South-East Asia's Longest Underground Expressway and also the slowest.(not even due to jams) I hope they will increase the speed limit, otherwise it will really be a laughing stock in the region. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 I think there's a 10km/h tolerance so 80km/h is the absolute limit to trigger the camera. I've went 5km/h over while overtaking, and no issue with that. Where are the cameras, by the way? Until now have not seen anything in the tunnel that resembles a camera... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 Majority are Taxi and BMW from what i saw in the pics. The pic taken is damn clear. So beware. Dun worry there are warning sign b4 the speed cam. Keep a lookout n u will be safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lionflyer Neutral Newbie November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 About 600 motorists caught speeding every day since new KPE opened By Julia Ng, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 02 November 2007 2143 hrs Photos 1 of 1 Kallang-Paya Lebar Expressway (KPE) Related Videos About 600 motorists caught speeding every day since new KPE opened SINGAPORE: About 600 motorists are caught speeding on the newly-opened Kallang-Paya Lebar Expressway (KPE) each day. Cameras installed in the tunnel have captured 3,378 vehicles travelling above the speed limit of 70 kilometres per hour since it was opened a week ago. The traffic police said this is cause for alarm because on average 10,000 speeding summons are issued in a month. Many people do not know there are now digital speed cameras operating 24 hours a day in the tunnel. And many motorists are not fully aware that the speed limit in the tunnel is 70 kilometres per hour, not 90 kilometres per hour as in some expressways. "In many countries, speeds in tunnels are always lower than (those) in open expressways. And in Mont Blanc where a serious accident happened before, the speed limit is now 50km/h, much lower than the 70km/h that we have in the KPE tunnel," said Land Transport Authority (LTA) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 (edited) About 600 motorists caught speeding every day since new KPE opened Good job, LTA/TP! For once, I strongly approve taking strong measures on such ignorant/irresponsible motorist when comes to tunnel commuting . Even with all the publications, notifications and promotions, these motorist continue to assume otherwise about the danger of speeding and accidents occurring in restricted confines of tunnels. I say BOOK'EM! For some of us here, it is high-time to get some self-education on the Do's and Don't in KPE. Already online @ http://www.kpeunderground.sg I know some love to continue their "anti-establishment" attitude when comes to traffic rules. But cums KPE and more of such long tunnel systems, one's behaviour need to change for sake of safety. Edited November 3, 2007 by Wishcumstrue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 (edited) just checked with them. they said they r doing testing only, dun worry.... u confirmed testing or not? last night news say they will issue summons soon.. Edited November 3, 2007 by Teriyaki Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 Was trying out the KPE just now. Filtered in from PIE, appeared I am only car heading into tunnel. Was travelling at about 80km/h just cruising to enjoy the new road. Then a few hundred meters after I passed the entrance, I saw a flash from behind! My wife also saw it too. I noticed there's a 70km/h speed limit signboard later. Geez! How come no warning signs one? What an experience. Now don't know whether its speed cam or something on trial one. Anyone kena too? saw a flash when i exited the tunnel just now... u were in the tunnel when it happened? how fast were u goin? Crap, last Sat, I stepped on the gas at the PIE exit to pull away from an idiot who was pushing me in the tunnel at the 70 limit. Wished now that I'd kept my head Now gotta monitor the TP website and hope no summon.. sigh want to write a petition to appeal? I am going to write in though the proper channels as well as the public domain. It wasnt intentional to speed. it is reasonable assumption for drivers to think that highways are at normal 90km/h. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 "Candid" camera: Tunnel accidents http://youtube.com/watch?v=-J7WlX1Vb-Q If some of you have better dramatic tunnel scene, please share. That does not include Princess Diana last ride hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 ya loh .... some more average 600+ per day kena leh ..... where got so good to forgo such revenue .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 think those that are 80 km/h will kena warning letter as CTE only 80 niah. but those above that sure kee-chia one. appeal also no use ... they'll say no excuse because no tunnel in SG has 80 & above ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 Can appeal 1.. pay fine is no problem.. just don't want to kenna court. However, considering the fact that this is a new road, and the speed limit is NOT the NORM. It is REASONABLE for any drivers to have ASSUMPTION that the speed limit is the same as per other expressways, which in this case is 90km/h. Now it is hoping that TP or LTA will be sympathy to waive off this time round. After they have made it known and clear to public that the limit is 70km/h. I believe the numbers will be greatly reduced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsystem Neutral Newbie November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 Sigh. Was travelling at about 80km/hr near the exit. Didn't notice any flash though. Hope if i really do get anything, it'll be the warning letter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glyuen 3rd Gear November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 OT a bit. last sunday drove into KPE from PIE. I want to exit fort rd to Bayshore...while in tunnel, saw 2 paths in front of me....the fuking stupid signboards are not working and I ended up choosing the right path and ended up heading back to Rochor Road...damm. fxxk tunnel. LOL.. they should have used plain old signboards. so much for being tech savvy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...