BANK Robbery !

Altivo

Stanchart bank no need control room. Even guard also no need since sg is a safe country. The branch of SC bank really small so hiring guards costs alot. However i believe they have panic button so within 5 mins police can reach the scene.

Agree some buildings control room is not locked or at open area. Robber can just come and delete the footage

Maybe should buildup clear glass panel all the way up to the ceiling with a small opening to be able to pass passbook, cheque, cash etc. Just like the video circulating online on the prc lady in the counter sitting inside undisturbed by the guy outside holding chopper and still can laugh at him. Imagine if it is opened concept, the guy will be able to swing the chopper to the lady neck and ask for ransom.

Cos no guard? Hmm probably but 30k really peanut

For a bank

Maybe it's a lot for them? This is Stan Chart we're talking about. [laugh]

"You know Singapore is safe when banks don't even hire armed guards.

You know Singaporeans are obedient when a teller complies with just a note to hand over $30,000.

You know Singapore is truly globalised when even bank robbers are foreign talents."

For the weekend...

Singaporeans must really be grateful to our Foreign Talents for showing them what is really possible.

Until now, Singaporeans thought that Singapore was so safe and secure that it would be madness to rob a bank. And even if a madman were to try it and somehow succeed, it was guaranteed that he would be caught in short order because of our wonderfully efficient police force.

But it took a courageous and enterprising FT to show us the limits of our imagination, and how something we dared not even dream of can easily be accomplished.

We really do need these FTs to break out of our Sinkie "in-the-box" mindset.

And we must be eternally grateful to our farsighted gahmen for bringing in so many FTs so that we may continue to learn many wonderful things from them. :D

By the way, is Crimewatch still showing?

It would be more appropriate than ever.

The SPF watches as crime happens. :D 

Brace yourself. .....

After this incident, not sure whether more robbers wannabee would try as it seems rather too easy.

Singaporeans must really be grateful to our Foreign Talents for showing them what is really possible.

Until now, Singaporeans thought that Singapore was so safe and secure that it would be madness to rob a bank. And even if a madman were to try it and somehow succeed, it was guaranteed that he would be caught in short order because of our wonderfully efficient police force.

But it took a courageous and enterprising FT to show us the limits of our imagination, and how something we dared not even dream of can easily be accomplished.

And we must be eternally grateful to our farsighted gahmen for bringing in so many FTs so that we may continue to learn many wonderful things from them. :D

Can't praise you. You mean forcing the frog to jump out of the well. Hahahaha. Many have this mentality that Singapore is so super safe and expect the world to revolve around them. But the real truth is hurting cos we are unique and the rest are norm.

CID reconstruction of events (must be from highly placed inside source, sounds really legit :D):

Robber: Pak chio, $3 million...

Counter: $3 million, u have gun boh?
Robber: Nope...
Counter: Fake gun? if have, can fetch $1 million...
Robber: Huh... friend tell me pass u paper with the word "Robbery" will do... no need to bring weapon leh... $500k can?
Counter: $500k? u sibei lousy leh... I have to sound alarm & scream immediately... U run fast boh?
Robber: Cannot lah... my leg pain,run very slow, sure kena caught... How about $300k?
Counter: No need worry, If local rob, jail 10years, if foreigner rob, jail 1 year nia... Anyway for $300k, i scream only...
Robber: Errr... 100k leh? Btw y no security guard huh?
Counter: Security guard go lunch liao & my colleague forgotten to put up "No robbing during lunch" sign loh... Wait ah, let me check my guidebook on $100k category... Ok, here it goes... No sound alarm, no scream... i call police 3mins later... steady boh?
Robber: How about $50k huh?

Counter: CB... u now robbing, not go market buy vegetables... Give u $30k now & f**k off, a lot of ppl waiting behind u... NEXT!!

:XD:

Maybe 1st day of rubbery polis bring in Stylo Milo team big time already and "ass-ets" mobilized , comb every tong sampah (dustbin) and now all fatigue already and not worth with their salt to pursue no more , just like maybe how Incum Tax pursue tax evaders , got costing ..... Jus Mov On

So many days still no news, think our softy police needs help.

Should we wake him up?

demolition-man-original.jpg

we need guys like this ...

post-15968-0-94363600-1468103809_thumb.jpg

we need guys like this ...

We HAD a Dirty Harry. His Chinese name was Lee, and he is sorely missed.

It's sad when you think about how much this country has gone downhill since he relinquished most of his authority.

I think this should be a wake up call for management. When staff or people feedback on things that seem unlikely like "what if we are robbed and no guard?", don't brush it off or make the staff look stupid.

The bank is lucky. "Only" 30k stolen. Could have been more or maybe even injuries.

I remember i worked in a place where there was a panic button for the cashier. During an audit, the button was pressed so that timing for arrival of security could be audited. No one came. Turned out that when when the cashier pressed the button, the security department was informed another area was in distress and rushed there. The wires were not connected correctly. Lucky this was discovered during an audit and not a real situation.

Point of long post.

1). Never take anything for granted. Funny things happen.

2). If anyone says something, don't be so fast to mock the person. Just because it rarely occurs does not mean it cannot occur.

Is Singapore too safe? No comments. I feel it is more of we take things for granted than anything else. Like if there is a robbery, it will be a standard show weapon, panic button pressed, police arrive and arrest robber. Never thought or plan for the possibility of something like this.

wah....u rich liao still want to rob bank har?

A Stanchart spokesman quoted to the press that the bank teller did the right thing by handing cash to the robber, so as to protect the interest of employees and other customers there.

This, coupled with the lack of security guard, opens all its branches to robbery attempts. Even a primary school kid can rob them without much difficulty.

The shareholders and regulator (MAS) should ask Stanchart what are their controls to protect depositors' and shareholders' interests. This lack of protection is totally irresponsible and unacceptable.

The Head in charge of these lapses should do the right thing and step down at the minimum.

The whole process took the robber by surprise too.

If he had known that the whole process would be so smooth, he would have put more zeros on that note.

Not just 20,000.

I think I missed it.... what was the threat again?

What interest are we talking about? The savings interest rate or health/safety interest?

What was the "weapon" used to give reasonable suspicion that their interest might be compromised?

A gun/knife/bomb/dick?

A Stanchart spokesman quoted to the press that the bank teller did the right thing by handing cash to the robber, so as to protect the interest of employees and other customers there.

This, coupled with the lack of security guard, opens all its branches to robbery attempts. Even a primary school kid can rob them without much difficulty.

The shareholders and regulator (MAS) should ask Stanchart what are their controls to protect depositors' and shareholders' interests. This lack of protection is totally irresponsible and unacceptable.

The Head in charge of these lapses should do the right thing and step down at the minimum.