Rickster 5th Gear November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 Anything that is above 170Nm (must come in mid range RPM) will be nice....provided that your car does not weight 1.5ton. How about a mid-range torque of only 137Nm, but the car weighs only 1 ton? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 Thats why many conti cars, despite very low ratings BHP/ton, does not feel sluggish as conti cars tend to focus on bringing out more torque. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 Considered a little high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 (edited) Read through the thread. There is another problem with asking for a magic figure... Torque figures at the wheel (unlike power) is affected by the gear ratio as well, so two identical cars with equal engine torque with diff gear ratios will show different torque figures at the wheel, at each point along their curves. Edited November 7, 2008 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 If it develops 80% of it early in the rev band....then not so bad. But dun expect too peppy performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 Not that conti cars bring out more torque...its more on their gearbox ECU unlike Jap and Korean which IMHO is a lazy unit....dun downshift when required. Jap boxes when you lift off the pedal at 90kmh...it will remain in top gear until you stop then it goes into 1st gear. So when say halfway thru and the lights turn green and you need to move, you step on the gas and it will respond slowly....then you step a bit harder it downshift 1 or 2 gears. Conti on the other hand will downshift according to the speed....so when you step on the gas at anytime, it will be in the proper gear to move off smartly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 that's why people mod their car with 'sprint booster' and something like that to improve the throttle response. however, all these i suspect is butt feel only and the unit does not work or response well to varities of car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 Wah.... lidat the FC sure kena big time. But Jap gearboxes also provide a responsive gear switch... but need to actvate that option throu' a switch mah... then the FC suffers like crazy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucien Neutral Newbie November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 Often read comments that a NA car lacks the torque. Also read that a TC-ed car can overtake effortlessly, faster response in changing lane. So how much torque do you think is required for a NA car to do the same? Lets say how much torque do you think a stock 2L car should at least have? 20? Regards, NA cars should have 999Nm to push the car fast. 1000Nm will burst your tyres. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabretooth 2nd Gear November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 "double vtec". new phrase? anyway,even vtec can't produce that much torque compare to turbo assuming same power and capacity. hehe.... some morning creativity just kicked in. ;) Thats true. unless its a detuned TC car if there is such a thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 Often read comments that a NA car lacks the torque. Also read that a TC-ed car can overtake effortlessly, faster response in changing lane. So how much torque do you think is required for a NA car to do the same? Lets say how much torque do you think a stock 2L car should at least have? 20? Regards, This question is just simply too general. Unless you are able to define your purpose for asking such a question and narrow down the factors, otherwise there are just way too many variables to even consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 (edited) Often read comments that a NA car lacks the torque. Also read that a TC-ed car can overtake effortlessly, faster response in changing lane. So how much torque do you think is required for a NA car to do the same? Lets say how much torque do you think a stock 2L car should at least have? 20? Regards, Correct me if I am wrong, but it seem to me that you have never sat or driven in a TC-ed car? I think a ride in a friend's TC car will give you all the answer you need..... how much torque a TC-ed car have to be able to overtake effortlessly is the same torque your NA car needs (if all other factors considered). Period Edited November 7, 2008 by Vratenza Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 Thats why many conti cars, despite very low ratings BHP/ton, does not feel sluggish as conti cars tend to focus on bringing out more torque. not only that, some of the conti paper specs are done differently from Japs/Koreans, eg, the 1 to 96km/h is done with a specific passenger weight on the passenger seat, 1/2 petrol tank & also a specific luggage weight in the boot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcng Neutral Newbie November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 my car is a 2L car weights 1.4 tonnes and has only 375mn torque@ard 3.8k rpm is easy to overtake cars at expressway but the G pull isn't very strong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 That is e-throttle then you need sprint booster. It is there to "fool" the electronic throttle...layman term...a lot of drivers on e-throttle cannot gradually step the throttle and they step a bit....no action (cos the e-throttle opening) then they buay tahan....step a bit more....then throttle by then would have open up. Its like a retarded action. E-throttle does nothing to gain power or torque. Its just there so that pple feel shiok....step a bit only the car go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 You mean the sports toggle ? That would usually switch your ECU into another mapping altogether....older cars will just hold the rev but newer cars will have another map for "sports" mode. Yes....FC will go up. Power does not come without a price. But conti dun even need to switch to "sports"....and they are responsive liao. They are more advance than Japs....my ex ride a 16yr old Bimmer already has 5 speed gearbox....today Jap boxes still have 4 speeder....hianz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear November 7, 2008 Share November 7, 2008 (edited) Often read comments that a NA car lacks the torque. Also read that a TC-ed car can overtake effortlessly, faster response in changing lane. So how much torque do you think is required for a NA car to do the same? Lets say how much torque do you think a stock 2L car should at least have? 20? Regards, This question is just simply too general. Unless you are able to define your purpose for asking such a question and narrow down the factors, otherwise there are just way too many variables to even consider. maybe he often get overtaken by turbo cars. so he is asking for ways to enhance his 2litre NA car to match turbo cars? Edited November 7, 2008 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 7, 2008 Author Share November 7, 2008 not only that, some of the conti paper specs are done differently from Japs/Koreans, eg, the 1 to 96km/h is done with a specific passenger weight on the passenger seat, 1/2 petrol tank & also a specific luggage weight in the boot This could be another topic on its own. This is more like a myth or hearsay. No one can be exactly sure about this as there is no concrete evidence. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...