Kangadrool Supersonic August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 Apricot? the name is a curse, they should rebrand it and come out with better design. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 good! need more ppl like u support them! Down with Apple!Creative Tech could not find their niche after their sound card business evaporated, till now. They tried a few things like the MP3 players (I bought their first CD looking one), and after that mostly accessories like speakers and stuff that everyone else can make. Frankly Electronic companies are one of the toughest industry to be in because some products that is revolutionary, ahead of its time, is too ahead and the consumers are not ready, good example is the Apple Newton. Apple is strong because it knows how to hit on the consumer at the right time, and place. Its strategy of being secretive creates mystery and got everyone speculating and salivating. Now all of Silicon valley are doing likewise. Creative is history unless they be bold and innovative and come out with a revolutionary product at the right place at the right time. But what product will catch on ? That my friend is a Trillion $ question. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 My relative told me that Seagate (Woodlands) will be conducting a mass retrenchment on Monday 05/Jan/09 ... most staffs were on "force" leave for the past 2 weeks liao ... lets see whether it will be reported in the papers. run road to Penang ( this week's news ) quote: Seagate invests RM1 billion on new Penang plant 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 What will catch on? I think 3D printing. 3D screen projection from ur phone A phone that can let u feel textures using some electric impulses to trick ur brain. And ultimately, a proper virtual reality implementation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 Creative didn't know how to market their MP3 thou they are the first to introduce it. Creative sell high tech products engineers want to make. Apple make cool products customers want to buy. Listen to your customers and not your engineers. 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 Creative sell high tech products engineers want to make. Apple make cool products customers want to buy. Listen to your customers and not your engineers. Singaporean wives want what they want. ATB give men what the men want to get what THEY want. That's why usually see old man draw CPF take their ATB out.. =D 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 Singaporean wives want what they want. ATB give men what the men want to get what THEY want. That's why usually see old man draw CPF take their ATB out.. =D Creative made in Singapore, like Singapore women. Apple made in China, like ATB. Do I smell a conspiracy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 (edited) Creative sell high tech products engineers want to make. Apple make cool products customers want to buy. Listen to your customers and not your engineers. I've had a couple of Creative products. Yes, I had a Sound Blaster or two. But I also had a Muvo TX FM mp3 player (actually, still have it - it's indestructible). Frankly, I found it head and shoulders above anything Apple had at the time. Solid state flash drive-based, which meant it could survive pretty much any "normal" drop or knock even onto hard pavement. In fact, it could weather anything short of a direct thermonuclear hit. And very minimalistic controls that nevertheless provided a lot of options. 1GB storage, not at all bad in those days. And to top it all off, it had an excellent design - you transferred files by detaching the central portion which functioned as a USB stick. So not only was it a music storage system, it could store and transfer any files! There was never a need for cables or special software. And it used just a single battery (AAA, if memory serves). Lean and mean and very functional. The problem was that Apple still led market share no matter what the competitors threw at it. You can't even say it was "founder effect" (i.e. being the first introducer of a product concept) like in the case of Windows. It was just that Apple had astounding marketing. They've always been known for having a cult following, and that's not actually too far off the literal truth. Apple sheeple just lap any crap the company serves up and calls it manna from heaven. Even now, I can't fathom how the iPhone retains such a massive portion of the market share considering the other offerings out there on the market. Bottom line: screw the engineers. Get the marketers to do the work. People are sheeple and will do as they're told. Edited August 11, 2014 by Turboflat4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 Will creative roar help creative make a comeback? Its really one of the best out there. If not, the Best People compare it with bose sound link very very unlikely that roar will let creative make a comeback...it probably buy it some time though... truth is that roar is selling like hot cakes but u got to rem it's a very competitive market segment.... In fact u take a close look at roar, u will realise why creative is failing...it is the best example u can find - instead of focusing on the key features and functionalities, they try to cramp every single thing into 1 device...regardless if its useful or just downright ridiculous...example, do u know your creative roar can emit loud siren to scare off burglars? will anyone actually use such a function at all?? Flip over to the rear of the unit and you can see how complicated it is.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 very very unlikely that roar will let creative make a comeback...it probably buy it some time though... truth is that roar is selling like hot cakes but u got to rem it's a very competitive market segment.... In fact u take a close look at roar, u will realise why creative is failing...it is the best example u can find - instead of focusing on the key features and functionalities, they try to cramp every single thing into 1 device...regardless if its useful or just downright ridiculous...example, do u know your creative roar can emit loud siren to scare off burglars? will anyone actually use such a function at all?? Flip over to the rear of the unit and you can see how complicated it is.... no wonder they are call Creative. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 very very unlikely that roar will let creative make a comeback...it probably buy it some time though... truth is that roar is selling like hot cakes but u got to rem it's a very competitive market segment.... In fact u take a close look at roar, u will realise why creative is failing...it is the best example u can find - instead of focusing on the key features and functionalities, they try to cramp every single thing into 1 device...regardless if its useful or just downright ridiculous...example, do u know your creative roar can emit loud siren to scare off burglars? will anyone actually use such a function at all?? Flip over to the rear of the unit and you can see how complicated it is.... another feature that engineer put in whatever they wanted.... yup too many similar products offering, spoilt with choice even for big names entering into this segment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 another feature that engineer put in whatever they wanted.... yup too many similar products offering, spoilt with choice even for big names entering into this segment. creative still have not learned its lessons from its previous MP3 Player debacle, when it declared war on Apple Ipod.. it is not how many functions u manage to cramp into a single device, the key focus is their main functionality. The entire market segment is filled with big boys like sony, samsung....top players like bose, b&w, B&O look at the target audience of Roar....have u seen a woman considering buying a creative roar? I have not.... when my gf wanted to get a wireless speaker, the first thing she wants is a bose...even though it is more expensive and it doesnt even sound that good anyway Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 Bad FS. One of the company I know moved there, lotsa problems! Previously was doing a roaring business and busy expanding. After moved there, ....... Seems to me that area have a lot of bad FS...e.g like Jems and Bib Box too...Sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 I've had a couple of Creative products. Yes, I had a Sound Blaster or two. But I also had a Muvo TX FM mp3 player (actually, still have it - it's indestructible). Frankly, I found it head and shoulders above anything Apple had at the time. Solid state flash drive-based, which meant it could survive pretty much any "normal" drop or knock even onto hard pavement. In fact, it could weather anything short of a direct thermonuclear hit. And very minimalistic controls that nevertheless provided a lot of options. 1GB storage, not at all bad in those days. And to top it all off, it had an excellent design - you transferred files by detaching the central portion which functioned as a USB stick. So not only was it a music storage system, it could store and transfer any files! There was never a need for cables or special software. And it used just a single battery (AAA, if memory serves). Lean and mean and very functional. The problem was that Apple still led market share no matter what the competitors threw at it. You can't even say it was "founder effect" (i.e. being the first introducer of a product concept) like in the case of Windows. It was just that Apple had astounding marketing. They've always been known for having a cult following, and that's not actually too far off the literal truth. Apple sheeple just lap any crap the company serves up and calls it manna from heaven. Even now, I can't fathom how the iPhone retains such a massive portion of the market share considering the other offerings out there on the market. Bottom line: screw the engineers. Get the marketers to do the work. People are sheeple and will do as they're told. I think SWH should sack the whole lot of marketers be it contractors or staffs..Losses in 10 quarters is very much more than ridiculous...just look at Korean products be it Tv, handphone,household items and cars....they can market very well that is the reason....the brand selling like hot cakes not only in sinkieland...n also the whole world.. Mr Sim wong Who....time to act...."No U-Turn" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniellica 2nd Gear August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 Creative should just use the brand name "Creative" for non-consumer end products; for MP3 players, etc, should come up with more creative name than "Creative" for end consumer products. The name doesn't sell. You need a more lively and hip sounding name for music. Many many moons ago, they have sound blaster. One of the best for diy pc freaks into sound. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 I think SWH should sack the whole lot of marketers be it contractors or staffs..Losses in 10 quarters is very much more than ridiculous...just look at Korean products be it Tv, handphone,household items and cars....they can market very well that is the reason....the brand selling like hot cakes not only in sinkieland...n also the whole world.. Mr Sim wong Who....time to act...."No U-Turn" I agree with you. Know yourself. Find your weakness and work on it to improve yourself. In this case, it's definitely the marketing. I'm hardly a Luddite, but this is the first I'm actually hearing about the SB Roar. In fact, based on the reviews and the price, it looks like something I could really use, and I'm probably going to buy it direct from their store very soon. But the point is: that it took a random thread in a random non-audio/non-tech forum to even introduce me to this awesome (going by the rave reviews) product. They can't just depend on engineering and even design excellence to sell themselves by dumb random luck and coincidence (like in my case) - they need marketing gurus! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 bought the aurvana x-fi recently and very impressed with how it shuts out background noise. i think Mr Sim is steering the company in the right direction with all its latest products. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 11, 2014 Share August 11, 2014 I think SWH should sack the whole lot of marketers be it contractors or staffs..Losses in 10 quarters is very much more than ridiculous...just look at Korean products be it Tv, handphone,household items and cars....they can market very well that is the reason....the brand selling like hot cakes not only in sinkieland...n also the whole world.. Mr Sim wong Who....time to act...."No U-Turn" He is a very traditional Chinese businessman, if he want to do that, he would have done it long time ago. I dun think he like to manage a bunch of creative designer and marketing person to tell him things that he couldn't understand half the time. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...