Jerms Clutched February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 It's the salary that matters...me only a lowly professional....but,....nvm, you get my drift.. haha.. rich rich. :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 I remembered when I was young and wanted to reach the top...I did...and regretteed it as at the top, it was real lonely. I progressed then to move down and thus be happy with what i enjoyed doing and hav enot looked back since. Remember, ' the grass is greener on the other side' you would not know it until you experience it and I did Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Bro, you must also remember.. Luck and opportunity don't come at the same time for everyone.. For example, in your own definition, you maybe a "lowly" executive even until 35, but who knows, at 35 to 40, suddenly u climb super fast, due to different company, different opportunity leh ?? On the other hand, someone may reach the v top, appear super successful and rich at 28. Who knows maybe from then on is all downhill ?? or if he tio retrench at 35, will you still envy him?? Also, life is not all about the work. Some ppl's pride do not come from their career, it can come from having a warm, loving family, having and raising kids that do better than they ever did. Juz IMHO.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 you mind disclosing how much an executive at 30 earns in your company? I think it's more transparent for comparison purposes for my side, engineer in aviation sector abt 30 yr old , MNC earn abt 60-70k per annum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 I think title is not that important. Its the responsibilities you are holding & payscale u're on. I've a friend who is an "Executive assistant" to the country CEO of standchart. She is 25 yr old and earns 60++K per annum. On the other hand, many managers or assistant managers I know personally don't even earn 5K/month. hhhmm, I know many many assistants who are also 25 also earning about that leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Bro, you must also remember.. Luck and opportunity don't come at the same time for everyone.. For example, in your own definition, you maybe a "lowly" executive even until 35, but who knows, at 35 to 40, suddenly u climb super fast, due to different company, different opportunity leh ?? On the other hand, someone may reach the v top, appear super successful and rich at 28. Who knows maybe from then on is all downhill ?? or if he tio retrench at 35, will you still envy him?? Also, life is not all about the work. Some ppl's pride do not come from their career, it can come from having a warm, loving family, having and raising kids that do better than they ever did. Juz IMHO.. well said Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 hhhmm, I know many many assistants who are also 25 also earning about that leh Yap, in your line is quite common for an exec. assistant to be earning 60-70K per annum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 true...I have the same experience...was feeling a bit down on my own pay and position when I was 30...then 2 yrs later, I got a tremendously good jump in both pay and position rather unexpectedly...now I feel rather ok with wat I have..so its not always a definite thing if one is stuck with low pay and position at certain stage of life.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Thats true. My cousin who is 35 this year. Singapore poly grad and was working as sales engineer for marine industry. for 7 long years since he graduated, he's just a lowly paid salesman in his industry driving 2nd hand cheap cars. 5 years ago his break came. Now he is running his own marine parts importing company with a staff of over 50ppl. Owns a few commercial & private properties in SG, drives a 735li and a Lexus GS300 for wife. All these achieved in a matter of 5 years. So I hope the TS continue to look forward and aim high. After all, 30yrs old is still considered quite young in the working class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Agree. Title is less important, how much they are willing to pay you is the litmus test !! [nod] .... they can pay me 5 figure to be a clerk... i dun mind..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 (edited) Hello, If you are approaching 30 years old and you are just in an executive position (obviously I'm not referring to chief executive) - just those type of low rank executive, when is it time to move on to another company or even to another industry if you are still not promoted to next level e.g. senior executive or even assistant manager? 30 years old still just an executive - is it normal? any benchmark? Assume you have degree qualification... Don't compare la. I am in mid 30s... still a small executive. Often pressure by a small old manager... quite sian at times. Edited February 4, 2009 by Ncss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Hello, If you are approaching 30 years old and you are just in an executive position (obviously I'm not referring to chief executive) - just those type of low rank executive, when is it time to move on to another company or even to another industry if you are still not promoted to next level e.g. senior executive or even assistant manager? 30 years old still just an executive - is it normal? any benchmark? Assume you have degree qualification... Cud be a few possible scenarios. 1) Your superior dont like u and finds u an eyesore, cant wait for u to quit. 2) If u are good performer and productive, then it means your superior scared of u over shadowing him/her, hence, pass on when it comes to promotion. 3) Maybe u not singing the same song wif your superior even if he/she singing a damn stupid tune. Hope it helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Bro, Also, life is not all about the work. Some ppl's pride do not come from their career, it can come from having a warm, loving family, having and raising kids that do better than they ever did. Juz IMHO.. Agree fully Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Sebe sian... I am mid 30s... still a small senior engineer. earning peanuts... but no choice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Hello, If you are approaching 30 years old and you are just in an executive position (obviously I'm not referring to chief executive) - just those type of low rank executive, when is it time to move on to another company or even to another industry if you are still not promoted to next level e.g. senior executive or even assistant manager? 30 years old still just an executive - is it normal? any benchmark? Assume you have degree qualification... Depends? Are you stuck because the company doesn't appreciate your talents or are you stuck because you suck? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Hello, If you are approaching 30 years old and you are just in an executive position (obviously I'm not referring to chief executive) - just those type of low rank executive, when is it time to move on to another company or even to another industry if you are still not promoted to next level e.g. senior executive or even assistant manager? 30 years old still just an executive - is it normal? any benchmark? Assume you have degree qualification... Some people work till 60 years old also executive..if everyone 30 years old must be senior executive, who to do sai gang? anyway, just relax, money is never enough, people will always crave for more..just take time to smell the roses..on your deathbed, it's highly unlikely to hear someone say "I wish I did a few more days' work" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Sebe sian... I am mid 30s... still a small senior engineer. earning peanuts... but no choice Bro, dont say peanuts lah. As the saying goes of salary, u pay peanuts u get monkeys. But now, have a job must be satisfied oready. Hope yr big break comes soon. Be positive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Sebe sian... I am mid 30s... still a small senior engineer. earning peanuts... but no choice bro, it's ok lah..got big senior engineer one meh? got peanuts to eat during these times already not bad liaoz Don't beat yourself up ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...