Migrating down under? Come share your experiences

Leslielai

I just spent 2 weeks over in Tasmania. I like the fresh air, weather (not sure about summer), slow pace, etc. Cost of daily expenditures although almost the same here, quality of their serving is definitely much better. So, if you consider quality, then Singapore is more expensive.

However, having live my entire life here, I doubt I could switch to this kind of living. Maybe for 1 month to relax but then what next? Go farming and fishing daily?

As to TS question on migrating. Only he will knows if that place suits him. But I can be sure, life is better and more normal there than here. We are living in a pressure cooker unless you got money. If you want to live here, you just got to struggle and then go for holidays. Maybe that is what we call an exciting life style.

Depends what is a person's hobby or interest. Personally I like the outdoors, activities like trail running and climbing - certainly not many places to do these now in singapore! Here only have very 'tame' PCNs [laugh]

I would love to let my kids have a go at astronomy, but the night skies are too bright here. Honestly we can only go to contrived tourist spots like zoo, sentosa, etc. or else to the malls to walk around or trip to the public library.

No doubt there'll be many quiet (boring?) evenings in foreign countries, but it is possible to pick up a hobby and develop skills - something which we don't have time or space to do in singapore.

How come no one want to migrate to tiong kok?

many ang mo like tiong kok, i also quite like but my wife hate it   [laugh]

KTV in tiong kok [sly]

Power! [thumbsup]

I've friends and clients migrated to Shanghai and Beijing.

Tiagong the massage parlour and KTV there sibei happening.

no need tiagong ... it's definitely happening ... china ktv is more boleh and msia ... nothing is impossible

if you want to be xiao bao also can

BpN5b_8CMAAAhtb.png

Tiagong the massage parlour and KTV there sibei happening.

no need tiagong ... it's definitely happening ... china ktv is more boleh and msia ... nothing is impossible

if you want to be xiao bao also can

BpN5b_8CMAAAhtb.png

Aiseh... I never has a chance to visit yet..

Wifey always with me whenever I go.

i rather migrate to usa or canada. oz dam boring after awhile

canada dam cold leh.

not good if u have arthritis lol  [laugh]

FYI, tiong kok is VERY hard to migrate to [laugh] [laugh] Even if you got money also hard to get citizenship there.

mlmlwml

I actually prefer Europe although the people there not so friendly. May also not use English depending on where one stays.

So much history and culture to explore.

i enjoy museums. But ok lah, all these can explore on tour lol.

Their most beautiful areas are their tomb sites to me.

Such lovely parks!

mlmlwml

i enjoy museums. But ok lah, all these can explore on tour lol.

Digging up an old thread.

In the current context, year 2021 and beyond, is it still good for middle-aged man with family to migrate to Australia or New Zealand?

What are the good jobs available there, besides IT?

Can semiconductor people find jobs there?

Edited by Albeniz

I just want to spent a few months each year there as a long term tourist. 

Maybe buy some older exotic cars and park there with friends too and use whenever there! 

1. I know of a few (far-distant) Indonesian relatives who came to Singapore at a young age, barely survived the education system here but managed to become "top" students in Australia.  A few others who find the working environment extremely stressful in Sgp, find working life in Australia and New Zealand more acceptable. 

2.  On the other hand, I know quite a number of our local Singaporeans who studied in Australia (after polytechnic in Sgp), didn't continue to stay and work in Australia.  Most came back after their university education.

There are 2 different views.   

8 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

I just want to spent a few months each year there as a long term tourist. 

Maybe buy some older exotic cars and park there with friends too and use whenever there! 

I also want!

5 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

To enjoy exotic cars properly, I will follow @Wt_know to Ipoh.

Aust is so strict on the speed limit.

Yep, the speed limit over at Aussie is a seriously PITA.. can't speed at all.

Hearsay the Aussie police even ambush in backwater country road to catch speedster.. super on.