Little_prince Supersonic April 20, 2010 Share April 20, 2010 i think it's deserved.... 20% to deprive another more stable couple who REALLY wants to get married is not much at all... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged April 20, 2010 Share April 20, 2010 (edited) while i agree with you about the part couple should always think carefully before buying house and settling down, i don't think it is always able to solve such problems. you must realize that people and relationships change over time. even couples that stay married together after a few years also suffer from deterioating marital relationship. So should they suffer in silence just because they have not pass the arbitary 5 years time frame set by the HDB? furthermore, most humans still are emotional creatures. be it while shopping, getting married, falling in love etc, they still exhibit such characteristics. to insist them to be rational about buying houses is not wrong. but in singapore, where affordable houses are difficult to get and policies are crafted in such way that only entitles married couple to buy hdb properties, most of the couples subconsciously relate the act of falling in love to the act getting married and then to the act of buying houses. ie they see no difference between either of 3 and therefore, when they fall in love for some time, they think it is logical to get a flat. if the govt is so rigid about it, then i feel might as well only allow it to be purchased when couples are already married, instead of allowing prospective married couples to buy it. At least with a marriage certificate, most couples won't be able to break off in less than 3 years. with some delay factor into the commencement of filing for divorce, at least it will be 3+X years which will be rather close to the 5 year period the government sets. Edited April 20, 2010 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear April 20, 2010 Share April 20, 2010 i think it's deserved.... 20% to deprive another more stable couple who REALLY wants to get married is not much at all... but sometimes sh1t does happen to the most stable of couples. nvm la, anything the govt can make money, sure no problem one. in fact if i was MBT, i would create special division of hot males/females to go around breaking up all the DBSS couples who have put deposit already. 150k x 1000 flats. 150 million wei, sure get a good pat on my back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Introz Clutched April 20, 2010 Share April 20, 2010 feel sori for your sis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear April 20, 2010 Author Share April 20, 2010 (edited) dunno le...she said the guy zero in bank accounts till now...she shudder if she needs to pay for everything in future. Edited April 20, 2010 by Babyt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Introz Clutched April 20, 2010 Share April 20, 2010 dunno le...she said the guy zero in bank accounts till now...she shudder if she needs to pay for everything in future. is she 35yr above? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear April 20, 2010 Share April 20, 2010 (edited) wait till they allow singles to buy direct from HDB...Then maybe they will change.... I think now everyone is entitle to two chances to make some money...maybe they should allow singles one chance instead of two....we pay tax as well...and we contribute to the building of singapore....the only thing we don't contribute are babies....but then some married couples don't contribute babies as well...so what is the difference ??? it is time the MIW wake up and do something.... Edited April 20, 2010 by Seaweed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 20, 2010 Share April 20, 2010 I don't think the gov should be so strict to only allow couples with a marriage cert to apply for a flat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 20, 2010 Share April 20, 2010 should have allow the splitting couple to sell off the house on their own accord. Then it will become a loophole for people to make money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear April 20, 2010 Author Share April 20, 2010 is she 35yr above? both r mid 20s..same age. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear April 20, 2010 Share April 20, 2010 but sometimes sh1t does happen to the most stable of couples. nvm la, anything the govt can make money, sure no problem one. in fact if i was MBT, i would create special division of hot males/females to go around breaking up all the DBSS couples who have put deposit already. 150k x 1000 flats. 150 million wei, sure get a good pat on my back MBT will have a ready pool of FT for this purpose.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged April 21, 2010 Share April 21, 2010 well in the current hdb market euphoria yes. but if we look back to year 2000 to 2005, there wasnt a definite gain in those years. of course you may mean gaining from the hdb subsidy dished out. well, i was a little bit too brief in what I wrote but basically it is not difficult to set rules to claw back subsidies upon sale etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 21, 2010 Share April 21, 2010 What would happen if a couple has applied and paid deposit and cpf deducted for DBSS flat and now they wont be getting ROM. What will be the penalty for this couple? I heard it will be totally no refund?? Can the family members like bro buy the flat w the sis who applied the unit with the ex? case by case basis but should be able to appeal and buy the flat with immediate family subject to conditions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 21, 2010 Share April 21, 2010 well in the current hdb market euphoria yes. but if we look back to year 2000 to 2005, there wasnt a definite gain in those years. of course you may mean gaining from the hdb subsidy dished out. well, i was a little bit too brief in what I wrote but basically it is not difficult to set rules to claw back subsidies upon sale etc the fundamental of HDB will also not be stable coz new flat that is suppose to be on balloting for first timer, extended family, etc will be eroded when new buyer start offloading them in the open. I don't think setting new rules to cover another rule is the way ahead.. things are complicated as it is already... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnomish 2nd Gear April 21, 2010 Share April 21, 2010 you all can imagine how much has HDB profited from repo flats Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 21, 2010 Share April 21, 2010 For such cases only immediate family members like parents or siblings can "take over" the purchase of the DBSS flat. So still got Plan B. But if family members dun have that kind of financial capability or dun want to have the flat. LPPL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear April 21, 2010 Author Share April 21, 2010 oo sibling can ah? im still under 35yo...can buy the flat w my sis? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 21, 2010 Share April 21, 2010 (edited) Siblings as in maybe your brother & sister in law or sister & brother in law, you know, married couple, not brother and sister. LOL... You can be eligible if you can find a partner and get married in record time. Your parents are eligible cos they are a married couple but if they currently already own any HDB flat they cannot own a second one. Edited April 21, 2010 by Watwheels ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...