Come on in if you are into cheap engine oils...

Ken4555

He is the right person you should ask. [lipsrsealed][laugh]

yah i remember his posts... he shd be quite an expert on topics on mei meis.... keke... [laugh]

i bought the 5w30 CL fully syn for $9+ b4(1 ltr bot). it was on sale at carrefour, last yr IIRC. the front is light blue right? but now seldom see sale for it. last i bought was normal price at $11+. i used it for my 1k servicing in mar. at giant.

actually i have always felt Mobil1 is a great oil...

just that whenever i think of the cost involved in their advertising, sponsorships... then just feel like we kanna paying extra...

trying a lesser know brand... is ofcourse alright SO LONG there are reviews on it... but i dont think any car enthustist will try a never before heard of engine oil... even if it was an expensive good oil... claims are claims...

so conclusion... we are kiasi....

okok la

redline price slight bit cheaper only but performance bout the same

c-----e 5W/30 is more expensive than 5W/40...

the possible reason i can think of is that Giant orders much more 5W/40 so got better price lah...

but semi-syn more expensive then fully syn??? pls explain... thanks...

I went shopping @ giant tampines last week. Karlube fully syn was priced around $29 while the semi-syn (dark blue label with the word 'semi-synthetic' on it) costed around 39 bucks. This is really fishy.. ^_^

hmmm... probably fully syn on offer sold so well they either decided to leave it at that price or forgot to change back... ^_^

Am using C@rlube for the first time and surprisingly, it gave me better FC than M1. 40km extra, unbelievable!

you know when i read your post, i was thinking... how can such a cheap oil give better FC than Mobile1????

must be different load, diff driving styles, highway city differences, maybe even your petrol different... maybe new or diff plugs..

watever, i just didnt believe... until i realised that my VX has given me better FC also than my 5000k old NA RACING... i didnt change plugs, i didnt clean air filter, i didnt even change my oil filter... i just drained all the old oil and poured in the new oil nothing else, didnt balance or rotate my wheels... tyre pressure same usual psi... car same weight..

hmmmm.... maybe all the addtives like detergents, and other stuff make the oil rougher actually... i understand all modern fully syn oils has additives but maybe the cheaper ones less...

anyways i'm just guessing/assuming... based on my own butt dyno so dont take me too seriously... ^_^

you know when i read your post, i was thinking... how can such a cheap oil give better FC than Mobile1????

must be different load, diff driving styles, highway city differences, maybe even your petrol different... maybe new or diff plugs..

watever, i just didnt believe... until i realised that my VX has given me better FC also than my 5000k old NA RACING... i didnt change plugs, i didnt clean air filter, i didnt even change my oil filter... i just drained all the old oil and poured in the new oil nothing else, didnt balance or rotate my wheels... tyre pressure same usual psi... car same weight..

hmmmm.... maybe all the addtives like detergents, and other stuff make the oil rougher actually... i understand all modern fully syn oils has additives but maybe the cheaper ones less...

anyways i'm just guessing/assuming... based on my own butt dyno so dont take me too seriously... ^_^

Logically a thinner oil will gives better FC, so if you are getting FC day after day, it could also mean that the VII(viscosity index improver) has sheared down. The shearing down of VII polymer could cause sludge and piston ring gum up. So be careful now [:)]

just want to share some of my knowledge, all full syn oil outside have alot of different stuff inside, thats y branded oil like liqui moly , ows , motu cost much more then some very cheap brand u guy can pick off the shelves,

for normal every day usage , work to office , short driving u might not be able to know or feel any different ,

but if u go track or u run ns high way , the different is obvious , some oil cause engine to heat up much more then the other . if u are used to using high end oil, and u want to switch to burget oil, pls think carefully, i got a friend driving a subaru impreza , change to cheap oil, go my, end of ns highway , car cannot move, engine overheat . no joke.

i am not saying we must die die used branded stuff, but in some cases, some money just cannot be save ,

Logically a thinner oil will gives better FC, so if you are getting FC day after day, it could also mean that the VII(viscosity index improver) has sheared down. The shearing down of VII polymer could cause sludge and piston ring gum up. So be careful now [:)]

okok... am into 670km now... still feels the same when i started using it...

will stop at approx 5000km... give and take 100km at most... ^_^

btw this VX that i'm on trial now, is 5W/40... as we all know, OWS NA RAcing and TURBO both do not state their viscosity... i heard mechs telling me the turbo is 50 and the NA RAcing is 40... now how am i suppose to believe he is not just making that up? :mellow:

just want to share some of my knowledge, all full syn oil outside have alot of different stuff inside, thats y branded oil like liqui moly , ows , motu cost much more then some very cheap brand u guy can pick off the shelves,

for normal every day usage , work to office , short driving u might not be able to know or feel any different ,

but if u go track or u run ns high way , the different is obvious , some oil cause engine to heat up much more then the other . if u are used to using high end oil, and u want to switch to burget oil, pls think carefully, i got a friend driving a subaru impreza , change to cheap oil, go my, end of ns highway , car cannot move, engine overheat . no joke.

i am not saying we must die die used branded stuff, but in some cases, some money just cannot be save ,

true... i agree with you... but i think our definition of 'cheap' or 'budget' oil is not the same... for examle do you think c@rlube is cheap oil? well i always thought it was cheap and lousy... ugly packaging... no advertisments watsoever in SG... but after some research, its popular in the UK, approved by porsche even... so its not a low grade oil... a bro here used c@rlube on the track and no increase in engine tempreture... so just because an oil is cheap doesnt mean its lousy... just that other branded oils are expensive lah... [:)]

but me i did take a risk to use VX... the label states all that i need to heard but it was the made/blended in Singapore that made my final decision to try it... believe me since i started driving years ago, i never ever dared to use an engine oil that was unheard of before... so always ended up paying so much more... but now i ave realised i am actually not a racer on the streets, just looking stupid trying to be one... hahaha [laugh]

btw the way your frd WRX? its very common to overheat on the NS highway for a rex... especially if modded... instead of blaming the oil should check on the intercooler and other stuff... ^_^

true... i agree with you... but i think our definition of 'cheap' or 'budget' oil is not the same... for examle do you think c@rlube is cheap oil? well i always thought it was cheap and lousy... ugly packaging... no advertisments watsoever in SG... but after some research, its popular in the UK, approved by porsche even... so its not a low grade oil... a bro here used c@rlube on the track and no increase in engine tempreture... so just because an oil is cheap doesnt mean its lousy... just that other branded oils are expensive lah... [:)]

but me i did take a risk to use VX... the label states all that i need to heard but it was the made/blended in Singapore that made my final decision to try it... believe me since i started driving years ago, i never ever dared to use an engine oil that was unheard of before... so always ended up paying so much more... but now i ave realised i am actually not a racer on the streets, just looking stupid trying to be one... hahaha [laugh]

btw the way your frd WRX? its very common to overheat on the NS highway for a rex... especially if modded... instead of blaming the oil should check on the intercooler and other stuff... ^_^

ya quite true, also, cheap oil dun mean its bad, expensive oil also dun mean its good. but there are some spec for every oil which we consumer cannot get, its those spec that determine the grade oil, good or bad,

but for my friend case its 100 % the oil, lucky he notice the temperature go too high ,

for my persona view, motu is the best, really reduce the temperature esp when u track, but the cost abit too high , i currently using liqui moly toptec4100 .

ya quite true, also, cheap oil dun mean its bad, expensive oil also dun mean its good. but there are some spec for every oil which we consumer cannot get, its those spec that determine the grade oil, good or bad,

but for my friend case its 100 % the oil, lucky he notice the temperature go too high ,

for my persona view, motu is the best, really reduce the temperature esp when u track, but the cost abit too high , i currently using liqui moly toptec4100 .

Actually, many people will face high oil temp during tracking, esp. for Turbo cars. This is because most cars lack adequate oil cooling. you have radiator to cool water but you do not have an oil cooler. Thats why many people install aftermarket oil cooler.

However, I do agreed with you that using good oil is very important for tracking. You need the extra protection when you track.

One good and cheap oil to use is the Amsoil Dominator. You can use it when you track. However, its not meant for street use, thus you will have to change the oil after tracking.

Edited by Mini-itx

thats good to hear... wats your ride? just wanna know so can have an idea which cars have no problems with these lower cost oils... [:)]

which oil are you gonna use next?

Im driving a suzuki swift sport. Schnell oil is good. I used Shell Heliz Ultra for only 1000km then cannot tahan then changed to Schnell oil immediately. Engine was smooth. No apparent oxidation or detoriarion of quality. Could feel the difference btw Shell and Schnell. Shell is lousy for my car!

I'm using royal purple racing series after much persuasion from my friends.

Royal purple racing series is damn shiok... engine is very willing to be pushed further without strain.

But cost is high... $20 per quart. :( I needed 4 litres. Still cheaper than mobil gold.

so far so happy!

Edited by Forummer

C@rlube 5w40 Fully Synth 5L on promo @ GIANT now only $27.89 with FREE C@rlube Oil Treatment 300ml :o

Bro, if I want to use cheap oil, I think the lowest I would go is the Scaeffer 7000. $8.50 a qt if buying 6.

how abt their gals ah? hows the quality? good stuff? [sly]

so far i eaten taste very good i like... [laugh] no problems...

================

Just like most of their stuff. Cheap & good. [thumbsup]

But Thai is still cheaper & better. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

hey i also wanna get messaged... shall i PM you guys my Hp number?

==============

I just got an alert GIANT having CLTR promo. <$29/5 lit.