HARDGAYHOOOO Neutral Newbie July 28, 2010 Share July 28, 2010 http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_558851.html By Ted Chen A MAN escaped unharmed when a fallen tree hit his car's windscreen at about 8.30am on Wednesday. He was alone in the vehicle, waiting for the traffic light to turn green at the junction of Upper East Coast Road and Bedok South Ave 1. This latest incident is the third in the past two weeks. On July 20, Mr Chua Loong Wai was killed after a rain tree fell on his moving car along Yio Chu Kang road. Two days later, another tree fell on a moving car in Ang Mo Kio, but the three in the vehicle were unhurt. Whatever there is to suggest, make sure you dun create more problems just to tackle this problem as many are so fond of doing.... angry.gif angry.gif ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 28, 2010 Share July 28, 2010 pls lah.... this is Singapore, not some country side.... we're a concrete jungle.... and will soon be ever closer to seeing lesser trees around.... more land has to be reclaimed from forested areas to make way for public housing and more roads being build.... and floods aren't entirely caused by the lack of trees to hold the ground or to trap the water.... But it is still one of the reasons hor. Since u know it, shouldn't there be conservation of existing trees? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
themagi Neutral Newbie July 28, 2010 Share July 28, 2010 let me guess...next public statement from our parleement will be : tree falls because their root can no longer hold them upright... That would be a champion statement! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear July 29, 2010 Share July 29, 2010 (edited) But it is still one of the reasons hor. Since u know it, shouldn't there be conservation of existing trees? it supposed to have... let me see how to answer this..."Tree falling is not only the government job and we will sue if the tree belongs to a private entity. Our citizen should be proactive in reporting suspecting Trees. We cannot expect Trees not to fall." but not to worry, there will be a task force coming, I think.... Tree Fall Conservation Task Force. Than because of this task force, we will have Prevent tree falling tax with a new decal on our car screen. Those never pay, kana tree fall on car cannot complain. Edited July 29, 2010 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 1, 2010 Share August 1, 2010 Fallen tree along Jln Bt Merah, in the direction of Lower Delta Rd, just after the CTE entrance/exit. Think all 3 lanes are closed & the only victim is the traffic light. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 1, 2010 Share August 1, 2010 Trees are lao li baby. You cannot anyhow cut down trees. But he probably didn't have the foresight to see the number of trees causing problem when planted along the roads. If you don't bang into it, it comes crashing down on you. But it's a small price to pay for beautiful Sg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 1, 2010 Share August 1, 2010 Fallen tree along Jln Bt Merah, in the direction of Lower Delta Rd, just after the CTE entrance/exit. Think all 3 lanes are closed & the only victim is the traffic light. That is near my office. Second fallen tree in less than 2 months or so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear August 1, 2010 Share August 1, 2010 That is near my office. Second fallen tree in less than 2 months or so. they have been cutting down lot of trees near my house. think Npark scared lao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear August 1, 2010 Share August 1, 2010 Episode III: Revenge of the Trees Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched August 1, 2010 Share August 1, 2010 just now news report 12 fallen trees all over singapore today? when i thought today is a cool day, kept raining but wasn't heavy at all.. and trees still fell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 Today another Tree fell at opposite Mazda showroom. Landed on a BMW and part of the road was close. Poor BMW owner.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 Today another Tree fell at opposite Mazda showroom. Landed on a BMW and part of the road was close. Poor BMW owner.... the one at alexandra or macpherson? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeff49er Clutched August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 Last sun a tree ( about 3 storey) in my condo fell. Lucky thing no one was hurt and no car was damage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laworder17 1st Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 Go & read ur books. With all the trees chopped, we gonna see more flood. Nice song...hahha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laworder17 1st Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 the one at alexandra or macpherson? I think should be alexandra, didn't remember any big trees at macperson road.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 (edited) NEA should be fined for every fallen tree. Just like Singtel is fined for downtime etc. it supposed to have... let me see how to answer this..."Tree falling is not only the government job and we will sue if the tree belongs to a private entity. Our citizen should be proactive in reporting suspecting Trees. We cannot expect Trees not to fall." but not to worry, there will be a task force coming, I think.... Tree Fall Conservation Task Force. Than because of this task force, we will have Prevent tree falling tax with a new decal on our car screen. Those never pay, kana tree fall on car cannot complain. Edited August 2, 2010 by Achtung Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 And one fine day, all the trees in Singapore will rise as one, and takeover the country, crushing all the cars and traffic lights, and hopefully ERP gantries, ... chanting "We are not trees... We are ENTS!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laworder17 1st Gear August 2, 2010 Share August 2, 2010 And one fine day, all the trees in Singapore will rise as one, and takeover the country, crushing all the cars and traffic lights, and hopefully ERP gantries, ... chanting "We are not trees... We are ENTS!" Hmmm...Trees will dominates!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...