Hosch Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 TS, you did not state the timeline or the most impt piece of information with regards to the claim (ie. liability %). Not sure about the rest, but I for sure would have trouble recalling something that happened a yr ago. As you had settled on your own and did not make an accident report (within 24hrs of incident) and there are no witnesses, it would be purely your words against his. My gut feel is that insurance agencies will do this 50-50, so both of you are liable for 50% of the claim. The others are right, in the sense that the case is not in your favour, because: - You did not signal before filtering, which is actually a fundamental traffic rule, hence TP could slap an offence that carries fine and demerit pts on you. This important fact must have been established somewhere in the investigations and whether it caused an accident is probably not relevant at all. So, my 2 cents: Like your mum says, take it as an expensive lesson, and move on. If you do not wish to risk your license, best would be to not drive, wait it out during this period and revise your basic / advanced theory in the meantime. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 u really 1 kind. he only extort S$500 (not S$5000). Just pay la! he also need to re-spray his bike and go for medical check-up. What's the big deal? Anyway, going head-on with bike (whether u are right or wrong), the judge/police will always side with them. Not the car owner. few years ago, A bike bang behind me and injured a cyclist. both sent to hospital. The bike call and extort S$3000 from me. I ask her to fly kite. My car only minor damage. i change a new set of my rear heaedlamp at S$60. That's all. In the end, i lost 6 points/S$200 and my 50% NCD even though not my fault. I cant be bother to appeal since the bike/cyclist are both injured. Surprisely, my insurance thru the same company didnt even go up and is lower than the previous year (LOL). maybe the claim did not go thru.! As the Chinese saying, pua cai tan cai Since u can pay the S$7K insurance, just take taxi for the next 1 year to gain back the 24points. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 Did TS say he drove a tiong chia? Left with 6 points? Just passed for a year+? I would say good luck posting your predicament here as in be prepared to be criticized. Dun signal & dun see blind spot before changing lanes. Well done. Look at it this way, at least you did not cause the motorcyclist his life. Things could have been a lot worse. What would you have said if smth like that happen? More excuses for yourself? Your mum is right. Take it as a lesson and move on. 7k+ for insurance premium? For NSF where got that kinda money? She said the insurance premium can't get back and that NCD gone for the second car I use to drive another car before this car which was a cheap tiong chia. Hi TS, not trying to throw stone at you. You said you were driving a cheap tiong chia and the insurance is 7k+ ?! does it make sense to drive? Previous insurance was 2k (-50%ncd) current insruance is 7k(0%ncd) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 how come people who are wrong in accident liao ALWAYS want to claim other party is speeding huh??? Its like the universal defence statement. When my mazda 6 got hit sideways by a honda civic 2 months ago, his first defense was I CHECKED BUT U SPEEDING!!!!! Then i pointed out to him the zebra crossing i just passed which was packed with people crossing. And the zebra crossing is like 1m beside the junction where he hit me Laopok old mazda 6 can accelerate to 80kmh in 1 meter sia!!! This happened in the expo carpark during the robinson sale somemore... Just be a man own up to your mistake. U should have paid the damn $500 if u were so concerned abt your NCD and points. U didnt cuz u and your mom thinks u can get away with it I told the civic driver my point of view, no point i go long way claim him, affect all fellow motorist premium next year and his own ncd. We brought the car to my trusted workshop and left the bargaining to him, I didnt claim a single cent from him for loss of transport whatsoever. Every1 happy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 Young man, better go for refresher driving lessons. The critical/primary mistake is you saw the motorcyclist yet you filtered from Lane 1 into lane 2. The signalling is only secondary mistake (no accident you are not in trouble) It does not matter that your car did not hit the motorcycle. As long as you caused the motorcyclist to had an accident, you are at fault If you now feel pissed, how do you think the motorcyclist felt then (twiced as pissed as you are) Your mum is right: learn this lesson, will you? (attend refresher driving lessons) Believe you never really drove a low coupe with huge blind spots :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Believe you never really drove a low coupe with huge blind spots :( PLEASE! dont blame the car. Blame yrself for being a GREEN HORNET! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Believe you never really drove a low coupe with huge blind spots :( The point is, if u had been a man and just pay the motorcyclist what he wants in the first place, u wouldnt have been in this mess. 500 alot?? Repainting a fuel tank is already 100plus, more if the bike had been a fairing bike. You deserve to be punished if u ask me. Sometimes accidents are just really suay, the thing is, u already admitted u wrong and yet u didnt want to be responsible. 100 is not even enough to bring his bike back to normal condition. Have u ever spared a thought for the biker instead of yourself when u decided to reject his claim? Bottom line is, you and your mother both thinks u can get away with it. Good for the biker! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Believe you never really drove a low coupe with huge blind spots :( Low coupe 7k insurance Tiong chia Let me guess, this is one of the cars that appeared in Initial D isn't it? You're probably one of those cashed up kids driving around living their Initial D fantasy in real life. 100kph in a 70kph zone and swerving out into another lane without signalling or checking carefully. My dad had a head to head accident with a young fella driver a be-winged Subaru Impreza TS, my dad was driving straight and kid was waiting for a gap to merge into traffic from a side lane. Both cars got damaged on their front fenders. Young fella claimed my dad was speeding, I checked and didn't see you. My dad said I have the right of way and you are merging from a side road. Young fella couldn't handle the situation, call his dad come down to argue. But when his dad came down, listened to his son's account, looked at the site, he told my dad, my son's fault, can we settle? Haha. Pawned by his own dad. Kids nowadays think that its always someone else's fault. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Why the hell you pay the motorcyclist. He is lane splitting which is illegal. Alot of these accidents can be avoided if motorcyclists ride properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 There was a discussion on SBF on this topic of lane splitting legality: http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showt...d.php?p=5985300 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 I think the biker falls on purpose to avoid collision with TS's car. Becos the motorcyclist's insurance can deny him if he collided with TS's car, riding inbetween lanes is illegal for motorbikes in the eyes of the law. But TS cannot prove anything and biker can make up his own story. Anything can happen. TS is at fault but biker is equally at fault also IMO. Even very experienced drivers get into accident. In fact, count yourself lucky that no one is killed. And learn from every accident so that you can avoid the very serious ones. Good luck and move on with your life. Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 There was a discussion on SBF on this topic of lane splitting legality: http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showt...d.php?p=5985300 SBF .. for a moment i thought it was sammyboy .. lol ... ok OT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 u really 1 kind. he only extort S$500 (not S$5000). Just pay la! he also need to re-spray his bike and go for medical check-up. What's the big deal? Anyway, going head-on with bike (whether u are right or wrong), the judge/police will always side with them. Not the car owner. few years ago, A bike bang behind me and injured a cyclist. both sent to hospital. The bike call and extort S$3000 from me. I ask her to fly kite. My car only minor damage. i change a new set of my rear heaedlamp at S$60. That's all. In the end, i lost 6 points/S$200 and my 50% NCD even though not my fault. I cant be bother to appeal since the bike/cyclist are both injured. Surprisely, my insurance thru the same company didnt even go up and is lower than the previous year (LOL). maybe the claim did not go thru.! As the Chinese saying, pua cai tan cai Since u can pay the S$7K insurance, just take taxi for the next 1 year to gain back the 24points. :x See, sometimes it's really not the fault of driver ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Bro, drive safely lah ... kui signal at all times ok ? Even if u see no one at ur blindspot .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 how come people who are wrong in accident liao ALWAYS want to claim other party is speeding huh??? Its like the universal defence statement. When my mazda 6 got hit sideways by a honda civic 2 months ago, his first defense was I CHECKED BUT U SPEEDING!!!!! Then i pointed out to him the zebra crossing i just passed which was packed with people crossing. And the zebra crossing is like 1m beside the junction where he hit me Laopok old mazda 6 can accelerate to 80kmh in 1 meter sia!!! This happened in the expo carpark during the robinson sale somemore... Just be a man own up to your mistake. U should have paid the damn $500 if u were so concerned abt your NCD and points. U didnt cuz u and your mom thinks u can get away with it I told the civic driver my point of view, no point i go long way claim him, affect all fellow motorist premium next year and his own ncd. We brought the car to my trusted workshop and left the bargaining to him, I didnt claim a single cent from him for loss of transport whatsoever. Every1 happy. i'd had paid the $500 if i knew such things would happened :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Believe you never really drove a low coupe with huge blind spots :( you know TS, i wnated to show you some sympathy and give you some kind words but ah..a mistake is a mistake...let's not compound it. So what if it is low coupe? If you knowingly drove one, then you better put in extra effort of signalling then checking your blind spot properly before execution. Haiz......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 The point is, if u had been a man and just pay the motorcyclist what he wants in the first place, u wouldnt have been in this mess. 500 alot?? Repainting a fuel tank is already 100plus, more if the bike had been a fairing bike. You deserve to be punished if u ask me. Sometimes accidents are just really suay, the thing is, u already admitted u wrong and yet u didnt want to be responsible. 100 is not even enough to bring his bike back to normal condition. Have u ever spared a thought for the biker instead of yourself when u decided to reject his claim? Bottom line is, you and your mother both thinks u can get away with it. Good for the biker! His bike is a lau pok bike, from my pov, of course i don't want to be by him! Especially when i offer to pay is not because i felt entirely at fault but also because i took pity on him ! Now he come and claim me and i'm sort of like okay with it but if i have to be faulted for this 'mistake', it's really unfair isn't it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 Why the hell you pay the motorcyclist. He is lane splitting which is illegal. Alot of these accidents can be avoided if motorcyclists ride properly. Didn't know about the legality of such stuffs and the biker kept scolding me and made it thought that it was my fault. I shall say this, i tried to filter to lane 2, but the front of my car haven't even crossed the line between lane 1 and 2. he was in the middle of 2 lanes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...