Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 Low coupe 7k insurance Tiong chia Let me guess, this is one of the cars that appeared in Initial D isn't it? You're probably one of those cashed up kids driving around living their Initial D fantasy in real life. 100kph in a 70kph zone and swerving out into another lane without signalling or checking carefully. My dad had a head to head accident with a young fella driver a be-winged Subaru Impreza TS, my dad was driving straight and kid was waiting for a gap to merge into traffic from a side lane. Both cars got damaged on their front fenders. Young fella claimed my dad was speeding, I checked and didn't see you. My dad said I have the right of way and you are merging from a side road. Young fella couldn't handle the situation, call his dad come down to argue. But when his dad came down, listened to his son's account, looked at the site, he told my dad, my son's fault, can we settle? Haha. Pawned by his own dad. Kids nowadays think that its always someone else's fault. the car that got into accident was 2k(-50%ncd) I shall not mention what car is it, but need alot of skill to drive on normal roads(powerful rwd with no abs and traction control system and have 2way LSD at the rear) Current car is not tiong chia but still coupe, has 7k insurance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 When trying lane splitting, the rider should be alert and look out for other vehicles changing lanes. Cannot be when i am in 1 lane keeping close to the right lane marker and move to the left lane marker, idiot motorcycle jams brake in anticipation also my fault right. Anyways, what kind of insurance company pays out claims without even informing you about the matter in the first place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 your scenario is quite typical for drivers stuck in lane one wanting to get out of the jam. Some will try to muscle their way through, others cause lane 2 cars to jam brake for them the better one will make sure its clear before making their move. Others will simply wait out the jam. take it as a lesson learn. Move on. learn to have more patience Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 you know TS, i wnated to show you some sympathy and give you some kind words but ah..a mistake is a mistake...let's not compound it. So what if it is low coupe? If you knowingly drove one, then you better put in extra effort of signalling then checking your blind spot properly before execution. Haiz......... That was the first time a biker had been riding at my blind spot and i didn't know, when i turn my head and look he was like either behind my c piller or way behind, and when i tried to filter and he fell like really slowly onto the ground with just a bit of scratch on his arm. When i looked at his bike, there was nothing wrong but a small chip on the fuel tank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 When trying lane splitting, the rider should be alert and look out for other vehicles changing lanes. Cannot be when i am in 1 lane keeping close to the right lane marker and move to the left lane marker, idiot motorcycle jams brake in anticipation also my fault right. Anyways, what kind of insurance company pays out claims without even informing you about the matter in the first place. Liberty co. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 Why didn't anyone thought about how a factory worker who is riding a really cheap and old bike managed to sent a lawyer letter to me and got him to fault me? And why can just some scratch on his arm, he can claim to have body aches and need to claim thousands in medical expenses, he still told me he was okay and the bike was okay after the accident ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Your biggest mistake is not about failure to signal. ITs cutting into biker's lane despite knowing the biker is there (I assume you know since you said you check your blind spot, this means side mirrors as well). I thought I saw somewhere about biker speeding.... Then you still want to cut in? You trying to kill him or what? So what if you signal? Signalling does not give you right of way. ITs simply telling others what you are going to do. Even if you did signal and the accident occured, its still your fault. Such cases has happened numerous times. People signal and change lane (w/o juding or looking if there are cars on that lane), then the car on that lane could not brake in time and bang. The person changing lane is at fault for failure to keep a lookout for oncoming vehicles. No arguments..... SIGNAL MUST SEE STILL PEOPLE GOT GIVE WAY OR NOT...... VERY VERY IMPORTANT! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Believe you never really drove a low coupe with huge blind spots :( He may not, but I have, and on multiple. You only miss someone if you're: 1) Inattentive/distracted 2) Don't turn your head properly to check blindspots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firefly968 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 (edited) TS you stuffed up by not signalling, checked blind spot and admitted liability to the biker. You were lucky to get offered an easy way out with private settlement but you didn't take it. The biker even warned you that you'll ended up paying more but you and your mum still think $500 is too much . Eventually you did have to pay more, in fact A LOT MORE Just take it as a lesson learnt, drive defensively from now on or just take taxi since you're rich enough to pay $7K insurance Edited August 27, 2010 by Firefly968 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 TS you stuffed up by not signalling and admitted liability to the biker. You were lucky to get offered an easy way out with private settlement but you didn't take it. The biker even warned you that you'll ended up paying more but you and your mum still think $500 is too much . Eventually you did have to pay more, in fact A LOT MORE Just take it as a lesson learnt, drive defensively from now on or just take taxi since you're rich enough to pay $7K insurance and pay parking every month ? and let the car depreciate every month ? and let the insurance go to waste ? [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Do you want to count the cost of losing your licence and gaining it again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 He may not, but I have, and on multiple. You only miss someone if you're: 1) Inattentive/distracted 2) Don't turn your head properly to check blindspots the car i was in(with roll-cage and huge ass gt-wing) and the seats(full bucket), was difficult to check blind spot, and i really did checked, i even stopped my car to check because i don't wana hit the car infront. But when i turned my head and look, it's just rows of cars and then when i look at the side mirrors, its also just the row of cars. Therefore the bike is either no.1 speeding, no.2 previously not on that lane, no.3 hiding behind my c pillar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Why the hell you pay the motorcyclist. He is lane splitting which is illegal. Alot of these accidents can be avoided if motorcyclists ride properly. There is no legal or illegal law on lane split. It is in a grey area. Dont spout crap from your mouth like the golden truth if u dont know for sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firefly968 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 and pay parking every month ? and let the car depreciate every month ? and let the insurance go to waste ? [bigcry] It's your choice. Think carefully, weight the pros and cons, make and live with your choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 i'd had paid the $500 if i knew such things would happened :( Yah the point is, you admitted liability already, peoples bike got damaged and they got injured because of u. You and your mom didnt want to be responsible for it. You think u can get away with it, end up kena points , fine and policy affected. The fact that TP charged u means that your insurance has a high chance of being claimed jialat jialat. The worst is yet to come for you. You even had the bloody cheeck to accuse him of speeding. U had a speed radar or rear view cam on your car???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firefly968 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 the car i was in(with roll-cage and huge ass gt-wing) and the seats(full bucket), was difficult to check blind spot, and i really did checked, i even stopped my car to check because i don't wana hit the car infront. But when i turned my head and look, it's just rows of cars and then when i look at the side mirrors, its also just the row of cars. Therefore the bike is either no.1 speeding, no.2 previously not on that lane, no.3 hiding behind my c pillar. You're not competent enough to handle your previous ride. Hope you chose a ride you can handle this time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Oh Man!!! Somehow i knew you will come in all guns blazing at TS. U like a teacher scolding school children lei........pao pao ma ma de........like old granny. [b]To TS Ppl like you should be.. 1) charged for dangerous driving 2) and the biker should get a lwayer to sue the pants off of you.. Your $500 farking dollars so much ar? Biker is the low IQ type or else will get lawyer to sue for at least $10000 from your insurance! In this case, you see whether your mum can still pay the car insurnace premium thereafter. God damn mummy's boy, still in NSF go take public transport lah! Once in awhile, we get jokers like this in MCF or other forums. they fark around posting crap and then disappear![/b] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 TS should probably take note that the comments and advice he is getting from here is likely the same things that the Traffic Police case officer considers during your appeal. To summarize: - 20 year old driver - Prior speeding history - Nissan coupe (hint hint), turbocharged, roll-caged, GT-winged, 2-way LSD-ed goes a long way towards forming opinions about the manner the car would be driven - Admission of liability, admission of not signalling And all the TS can say is that the motorbike could have been speeding but there is no way to prove it one way or another. Faced with overwhelming evidence both circumstantial and otherwise I suggest that TS just takes the $200 and 6 points on the chin and really drive carefully till points come back, or not drive at all. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...