Wave_rider Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Being a bike & a driver. I really HATE road users who do not signal. Be it they dun bother or it's their 1st time. No other road user is GOD n will be able to tell where u wanna head. U should thank god that the biker who fell was not a TP or LTA plater. btw, u do not need to physically touch a motorcycle to be responsible for an accident. Causing other road user to take evasive action is enough for a "gift voucher" from TP. I suggest u go TP HQ & speak/appeal to the IO. Best of Luck. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavina Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Very typical Singaporean responses. Only know how to criticise. You sir, just criticized the criticizers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoh Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 TS bro... IMO, You are the one at fault lah... Never signal already wrong. Only check blind spot, how about the rear/side mirrors? Clear?? Your judgement failed you big time. You already admitted liability by telling him will only pay him 100, anything more he will have to claim insurance... Of course pple will claim lah!!! I will claim you jialat jialat if i were him. And how do you know if he trying to extort more money from you?? You felt his pain?? Are you the one that skidded??? Bro, next time (Touch wood lah hor), if you want to be absolutely sure that you don't get con, send him to hospital yourself and pay for his medical bills. Oh yes, also the repair cost for his bike. If i were you, i will pay him the 500 bucks and get him to sign me an indemnity letter on the spot. Well, its better than risking my 55% NCD and increase of insurance premium. I've paid 250 bucks for a bumper respray for just a little kiss (only slight scratches on a jap saloon which you can't really tell if you are not observant enough, no dent somemore). A normal bumper respray max max only 150 bucks. Took it positively, i saved thousands of dollars by paying 250 bucks. Always think of the implications. If 500 bucks really such a big deal to you, GET FROM YOUR MAMA. Chances of you getting your points back?? 1 in a million chance... Decision is made, the insurance claim already went thru.... Well, no harm appealing to TP.. you might just be that 1 in a million. Drive safely bro, driving is not about taking chances, you need to be sure! Good Luck my fren... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueraven Clutched August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 I agree that TS did not signal his intentions to change lane is wrong... but i feel that most of the fault lies with the motorcyclist for riding between lanes. In school they taught us never to ride in between lanes or squeeze in between cars at traffic lights. Just my 2cents worth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxsurat Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 just want to give more advise, even u have signaled, does not mean u have rights to change lane. some people thinks give signal mean they have rights to change lane =( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pigkachu Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 So at the end of the day? may i know what car is TS driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Oh Man!!! Somehow i knew you will come in all guns blazing at TS. U like a teacher scolding school children lei........pao pao ma ma de........like old granny. He reminds me of the mental case old man who scold anybody for just about anything that some of you may see around buangkok. And the best way to deal with the old man is to ignore him. Suggest forummer likewise do the same.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosch Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Why didn't anyone thought about how a factory worker who is riding a really cheap and old bike managed to sent a lawyer letter to me and got him to fault me? And why can just some scratch on his arm, he can claim to have body aches and need to claim thousands in medical expenses, he still told me he was okay and the bike was okay after the accident ! Not that I'm taking sides, but as another bro mentioned, such mentality is uncalled for. We are in no position to judge others, not to mention that you were not the one injured. Can you touch your conscience and say the same if you switched positions with him? Body aches could be a sign of internal injury, and usually do not surface immediately. He could be lying, but then if you already accepted responsibility for his predicament, why not give him the benefit of the doubt? IMHO doctor would have advised him to go for xray, mri, etc to ensure that he has no internal injuries and these don't come cheap. Immediately after an accident, people will be in a state of shock and cannot think clearly, so you can't actually hold them to their words without black and white. His family/friends, insurance co and/or workshop could have advised and handled the claim on his behalf. All they need is a 'yes' & authorisation from him to take action on his behalf. In this case you didn't see it coming but turning down his 'offer' would have left him with no other choice. Well there is one thing impt which I would like to point out to the rest. TS did not run away and decided to take responsibility for his actions, which I really applaud as I have been the victim of a hit-and-run just last week (no human injuries, but car kena really jialat). TS, I sincerely hope you do not let this incident and criticism take away your sense of righteousness and responsibility. As a word of fairness, if the biker had really ulterior motives, then as you would have learnt by now there is karma and he will pay back in other ways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Fast forward again, his claim at the insurance was successful because he probably got some of his abangs in TP/working as lawyers or whatever because even my insurance co did say that it actually isn't really my fault and i don't have to pay, just didn't know why his claim went through. in this forum there are some TP and LTA officers with that kind of post you already insults them good luck to you when appeal and the same officers pick up the appeal letter should not be hard to know which is your appeal letter, as you already decribe what happen here. anyway even if you did signal what makes you think you can change lane? giving signal does not give you the right to change lane Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosch Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 just want to give more advise, even u have signaled, does not mean u have rights to change lane. some people thinks give signal mean they have rights to change lane =( Very true! When I was at driving school, I was taught that driving involves constant interaction with the other road users. Signalling is very important part of this interaction as it will let others know your intentions and prepare for it. I guess many did not notice that alot of driving rules end with "WHEN SAFE". This actually means something, because if the other party choses to ignore your intention and refuses to give way, it automatically becomes unsafe. So, fully agreed that signal does not equal to having the right or mean it is safe to change lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoh Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 I agree that TS did not signal his intentions to change lane is wrong... but i feel that most of the fault lies with the motorcyclist for riding between lanes. In school they taught us never to ride in between lanes or squeeze in between cars at traffic lights. Just my 2cents worth In school, during my time, they also taught you to drive with 2 hands on steering wheels, 10 o clock and 2 o clock position except when you are changing gears. You follow this??? Legally speaking, is it wrong for you to drive with a single hand? It's becoming more of a practise/habit/norm for motorcyclist to ride between the lanes, what can you do? I'm not taking sides, just offering a neutral point of view. Btw, i don't ride. Or maybe someone can write letters to TP getting them to summon those motorcyclist riding between lanes. I will fully support. Whats more important is that preventive measures are taken - signal lights on early to inidicate intention to switch and confirming that lane is clear and safe before proceeding. Peace out.... TGIF!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HARDGAYHOOOO Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 The fact that u're left with 6 points shows how "good" a driver u are. From your story i think u deserve it. I hate pple who don't signal when changing lane like they own the mother f****** road. Seems that U are quite good in sports too ley, why never join YOG ?????? U so good in "jumping" to conclusion.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 can someone send this boy back to his mum womb so he can re-live his life again? it was all wrong from day 1... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Wah TS u in what army vocation? U better dun drive army vehicle like tonner, or rover, i worry for the V comm... Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firefly968 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Not that I'm taking sides, but as another bro mentioned, such mentality is uncalled for. We are in no position to judge others, not to mention that you were not the one injured. Can you touch your conscience and say the same if you switched positions with him? Body aches could be a sign of internal injury, and usually do not surface immediately. He could be lying, but then if you already accepted responsibility for his predicament, why not give him the benefit of the doubt? IMHO doctor would have advised him to go for xray, mri, etc to ensure that he has no internal injuries and these don't come cheap. Immediately after an accident, people will be in a state of shock and cannot think clearly, so you can't actually hold them to their words without black and white. His family/friends, insurance co and/or workshop could have advised and handled the claim on his behalf. All they need is a 'yes' & authorisation from him to take action on his behalf. In this case you didn't see it coming but turning down his 'offer' would have left him with no other choice. Well there is one thing impt which I would like to point out to the rest. TS did not run away and decided to take responsibility for his actions, which I really applaud as I have been the victim of a hit-and-run just last week (no human injuries, but car kena really jialat). TS, I sincerely hope you do not let this incident and criticism take away your sense of righteousness and responsibility. As a word of fairness, if the biker had really ulterior motives, then as you would have learnt by now there is karma and he will pay back in other ways. Not doubting TS creditability, but even if TS wanted to run also difficult mah, stuck in a jam leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 frankly, everyday, just close your eyes and pick an expressway ... wait there 1 minute during peak hours ... within 30 seconds confirm can spot plenty of lane splitting. even TPs do lane splitting ... so i wonder what's the LEGAL POSITION HERE ? Can or cannot? TPs can, normal bikes cannot ? or all bikes cannot ? I am also irritated with these bikes, but the enforcement don't seemed aligned with what is acceptable and what is not leh .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 TS, take it like a man. Drive carefully henceforth and you will soon earn your demerit free points cert. Dun try to weasel out of it. It is a small mistake so you are only paying a small price.............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 1 more thing to add if you are stationary and you check blind spot, it takes another 1 second for you to turn your wheel and move off obviously you did not check your side mirror as if you do you will see the bike coming ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...