Mahjong74 Supercharged August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Thanks :) Actually i have past my P-plate times already and i do not want to put it up ever again ! :( I passed my license last year April and gotten 6 demerits last year end. When it came to this year April i found out i have to wait till year end before i get back my 24 points, so meanwhile i've been driving sort of carefully, but who knew i got into such an unfortunate accident. If i get this 6 points, i will have to drive with 0 points for 1 year ! Although license won't be revoked, but it's extremely dangerous ! Didn't have the experience of putting P-plate before. Passed license in 1994 and never gotten any demerits point before. If you feel that it's extremely dangerous for you to drive with 0 points for 1 year, 1. Don't drive, take public transport until you get back your 24 points. (unless no car to you mean no gal friend and cannot hao lian) 2. Heck care, just continue to gamble and drive. (got car, got gal and can hao lian) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 7K premium might as well use to take taxi. I just don't understand how anyone can suck up that kind of premium, unless you are Lambo/Ferrari family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
marwing 1st Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Hi TS, not trying to throw stone at you. You said you were driving a cheap tiong chia and the insurance is 7k+ ?! does it make sense to drive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leok777 Clutched August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 TP normally quite strict with negligent driving and what's more u are a new driver. I doubt that your appeal will be successful but nothing like trying. However, when u filter without signaling into another lane u are already at fault and by virtue of u settling the case with the rider, u have admitted liability so think its pretty futile. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Thanks :) Actually i have past my P-plate times already and i do not want to put it up ever again ! :( I passed my license last year April and gotten 6 demerits last year end. When it came to this year April i found out i have to wait till year end before i get back my 24 points, so meanwhile i've been driving sort of carefully, but who knew i got into such an unfortunate accident. If i get this 6 points, i will have to drive with 0 points for 1 year ! Although license won't be revoked, but it's extremely dangerous ! Having to drive within the rules is extremely dangerous??? When your appeal gets rejected, consider this one year as an exercise into how to become a better driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftee Clutched August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 You never signal that is yr biggest mistake. Because of yr carelessness someone is injured. Think about it this way what if that motorist skidded and broke his spine. Can you live with the guilt? Just thank God that everyone is ok and pay up the fine. . To err is human. Take it as a lesson learned and never repeat the mistake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 I just changed into another car recently :( and i've been driving very safely, really don't wana drive with 0 points, really kinda scary, gotta drive 60km/h everywhere ! Look out for everything and really dangerous with 0 points :( I also need the 24 points for insurance !! My current car owner put mother, me as named driver, premium per year is 7k+ ! Need the 24 points ! Argh. 0 points can drive meh? shouldnt it get revoke? i hope it does.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Did TS say he drove a tiong chia? Left with 6 points? Just passed for a year+? I would say good luck posting your predicament here as in be prepared to be criticized. Dun signal & dun see blind spot before changing lanes. Well done. Look at it this way, at least you did not cause the motorcyclist his life. Things could have been a lot worse. What would you have said if smth like that happen? More excuses for yourself? Your mum is right. Take it as a lesson and move on. 7k+ for insurance premium? For NSF where got that kinda money? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Yes he did: As i'm just a poor NSF driving a cheap tiong chia, i decided to consult my mother as the car is under her name and she has more driving experiences than me...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Firstly, i will need all the kind MCF forumer's help, hope you guys could really help me. Behold a lengthy post. Few months ago, around march, while driving during peak hour traffic with some drizzle, i got into an accident with a motorcycle. I was on lane 1, the car in front of me jammed brake and i had to jammed brake too. As lane 1 was extremely congested and i was stucked in non-moving traffic, i decided to filter into lane 2. I checked my blind spot and tried to filter into lane 2, this moment i committed a catastrophic mistake here by not signalling, a speeding motorcyclist travelling in between lane 1 and 2 jammed braked and skidded right beside me before i actually even filtered into lane 2. He fell down and i stopped my car and helped him and everything. His bike was okay but his arm was scratched. We exchanged particulars and he said i just had to pay for his medical bills which would not be too expensive(<$100), I agreed because i was partly at fault, even though i never did knocked into him. Fast forward, he tried to extort from me saying he has pain here and there, the paint on his bike need to be resprayed and also need to redo some balancing on his bike, in total he wants 500 bucks. As i'm just a poor NSF driving a cheap tiong chia, i decided to consult my mother as the car is under her name and she has more driving experiences than me, and that the amount of 500 dollars is not a small sum. My mother told me that i do not have to bother because the most important thing is i never knocked into him. Therefore i told him that i'm willing to pay him like 100 dollars, anything more, he has to claim insurance. He told me it's okay and he's going to make me pay more, i didn't bother and thought much about it. Insurance and his lawyer letter came, told me to file an accident report at both my insurance and at the police. I did so. Fast forward again, his claim at the insurance was successful because he probably got some of his abangs in TP/working as lawyers or whatever because even my insurance co did say that it actually isn't really my fault and i don't have to pay, just didn't know why his claim went through. There goes my mother's NCD for second car. I sold the car not long ago too and i was unable to claim back my premium that I've paid like 3 months ago(meaning i paid a year's premium but used only 3 months) because the insurance said i'd been claimed before. That car's insurance was around 4k, the lost is around 3k but my mother just tell me to take it as a lesson learnt. Fast forward till today, I just gotten a summon from TP dept claiming i didn't drove with due care or in an orderly manner and i have to pay a $200 fine and get 6 demerit points. The fine of 200 dollars seem to be like just a small amount compared to the 50% NCD lost and the 3k lost in premium, but i'm really pissed for being faulted and getting demerit points. Is there a channel for me out there to get this summon of 6 demerit points voided? The reason so is because i need my 24 points back and i'm currently only left with 6 points. Can i write in some where or go to the traffic police department and look for someone to talk to.. or yea, really need help here. Sorry for the very lengthy post, hope you guys would help me in all possible way :) Thank you and have a nice day. Young man, better go for refresher driving lessons. The critical/primary mistake is you saw the motorcyclist yet you filtered from Lane 1 into lane 2. The signalling is only secondary mistake (no accident you are not in trouble) It does not matter that your car did not hit the motorcycle. As long as you caused the motorcyclist to had an accident, you are at fault If you now feel pissed, how do you think the motorcyclist felt then (twiced as pissed as you are) Your mum is right: learn this lesson, will you? (attend refresher driving lessons) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardthy 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 usually for party to claim against u how successful they can claim against u? And wats e amount that e motorcylist claimed against u that e premium shot to 4k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangepineapple Clutched August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Did TS say he drove a tiong chia? Left with 6 points? Just passed for a year+? I would say good luck posting your predicament here as in be prepared to be criticized. Dun signal & dun see blind spot before changing lanes. Well done. Look at it this way, at least you did not cause the motorcyclist his life. Things could have been a lot worse. What would you have said if smth like that happen? More excuses for yourself? Your mum is right. Take it as a lesson and move on. 7k+ for insurance premium? For NSF where got that kinda money? think he comes from a wealthy family.. mention already changed car liao and under his mother's name. so 7k premium shouldnt be a problem. NSF get to drive and change car somemore..TS is truly lucky but should work on more careful driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jun86 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 "You checked blind spot and he was not there, he was speeding..."?????? WTF You suppose to check your rear and side mirrors for any potential speeders then signal and check your blind spot right before commit. It means you can't drive and gauge distances for nuts. NSF can't even earn your own upkeep drive car liao...PUIz. Still got cheek to come here and post. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 The fact that u're left with 6 points shows how "good" a driver u are. From your story i think u deserve it. I hate pple who don't signal when changing lane like they own the mother f****** road. Are you a very good driver yourself? You never make mistakes before? Other drivers merely ask for advice and do you need to comdemn him till this way? TS is just unlucky that he was caught during his P plate period and got his points deducted. Bike involve is extremely lucky to be able to claim against him even without contacts with his vehicle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 [b]To TS Ppl like you should be.. 1) charged for dangerous driving 2) and the biker should get a lwayer to sue the pants off of you.. Your $500 farking dollars so much ar? Biker is the low IQ type or else will get lawyer to sue for at least $10000 from your insurance! In this case, you see whether your mum can still pay the car insurnace premium thereafter. God damn mummy's boy, still in NSF go take public transport lah! Once in awhile, we get jokers like this in MCF or other forums. they fark around posting crap and then disappear![/b] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arenz 2nd Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Even very experienced drivers get into accident. In fact, count yourself lucky that no one is killed. And learn from every accident so that you can avoid the very serious ones. Good luck and move on with your life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 I think the biker falls on purpose to avoid collision with TS's car. Becos the motorcyclist's insurance can deny him if he collided with TS's car, riding inbetween lanes is illegal for motorbikes in the eyes of the law. But TS cannot prove anything and biker can make up his own story. Anything can happen. TS is at fault but biker is equally at fault also IMO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zztensor Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 I seriously doubt u'll have any success with appealing to TP. My fren who has >20 yrs driving experience and never ever had a demerit point, he was stuck in a traffic jam at a red light junction in city area, got photographed by red light camera, fined n 6 points demerit. He went down to TP HQ personally n talked to an officer there....end result the same, muz still pay fine, muz still get the demerit points. He didn't cause any personal injury or property damage, and he has such a clean record, but also no luck. So, for u, wat do u think TP will do? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...