Kezg1 5th Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 I'm sorry if i've offended you in any way, i hereby apologise, but if you are not here to help me solve my problems, then at least please don't 落井下石. I got my 6 points(speeding 100 on a 70, just got license that time) when i was still on P plate months ago and i'm getting my 24 points back very soon, if at this time i get this 6 points, i'm going to wait a full year for my 24 points. :( edit, to add, i did check blind spot and he wasn't there, he was speeding ! That explains why he had to jammed brake, and why when he jammed brake he skidded before i even hit him ! My advise is, not to drive for a period till you get your 24 pts back....sure win solution ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 the car that got into accident was 2k(-50%ncd) I shall not mention what car is it, but need alot of skill to drive on normal roads(powerful rwd with no abs and traction control system and have 2way LSD at the rear) Current car is not tiong chia but still coupe, has 7k insurance. You asking for advice and help here, still can brag about dunno what powerful RWD sports car.. IMO you deserve to hang up your driving licence. Let TP do it for you. More honourable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rathcycle Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Author Share August 27, 2010 TS should probably take note that the comments and advice he is getting from here is likely the same things that the Traffic Police case officer considers during your appeal. To summarize: - 20 year old driver - Prior speeding history - Nissan coupe (hint hint), turbocharged, roll-caged, GT-winged, 2-way LSD-ed goes a long way towards forming opinions about the manner the car would be driven - Admission of liability, admission of not signalling And all the TS can say is that the motorbike could have been speeding but there is no way to prove it one way or another. Faced with overwhelming evidence both circumstantial and otherwise I suggest that TS just takes the $200 and 6 points on the chin and really drive carefully till points come back, or not drive at all. Never said it was nissan nor it's turbocharged ^^ Could be conti NA too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Why didn't anyone thought about how a factory worker who is riding a really cheap and old bike managed to sent a lawyer letter to me and got him to fault me? And why can just some scratch on his arm, he can claim to have body aches and need to claim thousands in medical expenses, he still told me he was okay and the bike was okay after the accident ! You know what is internal injuries or not? And bruising and some other injuries don't show immediately after the accident. You are a cheapo, refusing to settle for $500 and now you end up paying more. But what does it matter? It's your mother's money, not yours. Why would you care right? You are only bothered about the points. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 (edited) Are you telling me it isn't? Or just prefer to keep it ambiguous? anyway back to main topic what do i look out for when buying an s15 ? there are like 5 of them in sgcarmart, i know spec r's are TC and spec s are NA, i'm thinking of getting the spec r instead of the spec s. anything i should look out for when buying direct owner/2nd hand dealer ? (accidents/illegal mods) do i need to bring a mechanic to check the car, if yes, who/how to find them. Your declared driving pattern differs from your DIPS history I had like to clarify, although i'm really fairly young(19 years old), am financially stable, but i am not one of those who drives recklessly and speed on singapore roads, i also do not drive to show off nor to impress. i do not want to be hold responsible for someone's life(irregardless whether it's a girlfriend, mother or just an innocent pedestrain) i drive for passion, for the feel. If i do speed, if i do drift, it will be at a track. And you obviously have not learnt your lesson yet: Is 4.5km/l hard driving, 9km/l highway cruising, and around 6.7km/l on average okay for a bone stock 350z? Seems to drink loads of fuel :( 120 bucks of platinum petrol last around 400km [smallcry] Edited August 27, 2010 by Macrosszero Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 the car i was in(with roll-cage and huge ass gt-wing) and the seats(full bucket), was difficult to check blind spot, and i really did checked, i even stopped my car to check because i don't wana hit the car infront. But when i turned my head and look, it's just rows of cars and then when i look at the side mirrors, its also just the row of cars. Therefore the bike is either no.1 speeding, no.2 previously not on that lane, no.3 hiding behind my c pillar. I have a lot of sympathy for you - lane splitters drive me totally crazy (especially when because of speed differential they take a gap I could other wise have used) BUT on the expressway they are easy to see. It is easy (with mirrors adjusted properly) to see a LONG way back between rows of cars, it sounds like your checking was not done properly and / or took you a long time between checking and moving into next lane (like 3-5 seconds) so was probably your fault....sad to say you should have settled for the $500.... IF you vision was so obstructed and you could not see properly you SHOULD NOT have changed lanes. Driving cars with poor visibility I WILL NOT change if I am even 1% unsure of my blind spot. Also, you should keep track of vehicles that are behind you. Check once - see bike 8 cars back\ Check 5 seconds later... - bike gone but hasn't come past me...HMMM WHERE IS HE? Did he change lanes, is he in my blind spot ... where? Dun change lanes until you know where he is!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 You know what is internal injuries or not? And bruising and some other injuries don't show immediately after the accident. You are a cheapo, refusing to settle for $500 and now you end up paying more. But what does it matter? It's your mother's money, not yours. Why would you care right? You are only bothered about the points. I was abt to say MRI not free you know.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powersteer 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 +1 dun ever think that signalling is big f--k! the basic is still to check and double check its safe before you change lane or turn out. TS, count yourself lucky this time that you got away with it with financial pain n demerit points. Imagine you killed him or caused him to be ran over by another vehicle after he fallen down ... learn to drive properly in future, dun give urself excuse and accuse ppl of speeding Your biggest mistake is not about failure to signal. ITs cutting into biker's lane despite knowing the biker is there (I assume you know since you said you check your blind spot, this means side mirrors as well). I thought I saw somewhere about biker speeding.... Then you still want to cut in? You trying to kill him or what? So what if you signal? Signalling does not give you right of way. ITs simply telling others what you are going to do. Even if you did signal and the accident occured, its still your fault. Such cases has happened numerous times. People signal and change lane (w/o juding or looking if there are cars on that lane), then the car on that lane could not brake in time and bang. The person changing lane is at fault for failure to keep a lookout for oncoming vehicles. No arguments..... SIGNAL MUST SEE STILL PEOPLE GOT GIVE WAY OR NOT...... VERY VERY IMPORTANT! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 TS,i think you no need to appeal.Your appeal confirm fail. 1)You don't know how to write your story,I'm not teaching you to lie. 2)I got a friend in TP,use to be SO there.His advise to us is,don't bother appeal,unless genuine case.Your case is you ask for it.so save it 3)You got previous offence,no matter how good story you write,your appeal wouldn't go through. 4)I hit a taxi from behind before,I sucked up my pride and pay whatever he wants.It goes more than your misery $500.And for your info,he jam brake and I couldn't stop in time due to the truck is a rental lao po truck. From this post,I can only conclude you penny wise,pound foolish.Losing end still want to argue and save $400.Paying up is as good as admitting.Imagine I didn't adhere to the taxi driver request,I not only lose $700,but my points and insurance for rental is $3000!Go and think about it,still wanna appeal? My adivse to u is take taxi,you obviously cannot handle a car.I driven for 5 yrs and running,never got a summon before.Not because I don't speed,but I do it smartly.Do go over board by speeding 30km/h over speed limit.This is what I call balls bigger than brain!wake up! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 the car i was in(with roll-cage and huge ass gt-wing) and the seats(full bucket), was difficult to check blind spot, and i really did checked, i even stopped my car to check because i don't wana hit the car infront. But when i turned my head and look, it's just rows of cars and then when i look at the side mirrors, its also just the row of cars. Therefore the bike is either no.1 speeding, no.2 previously not on that lane, no.3 hiding behind my c pillar. obviously, you do not learn your lesson. i believe you cant handle this kind of car. you should not drive this if you know that you have difficulty on it. refresher course may help you. you look like a driver without much experience but you dont even think about this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 I was abt to say MRI not free you know.... Oh ya, how could I forget about MRI and CT scan to check for internal injuries.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Firstly, i will need all the kind MCF forumer's help, hope you guys could really help me. Behold a lengthy post. Few months ago, around march, while driving during peak hour traffic with some drizzle, i got into an accident with a motorcycle. I was on lane 1, the car in front of me jammed brake and i had to jammed brake too. As lane 1 was extremely congested and i was stucked in non-moving traffic, i decided to filter into lane 2. I checked my blind spot and tried to filter into lane 2, this moment i committed a catastrophic mistake here by not signalling, a speeding motorcyclist travelling in between lane 1 and 2 jammed braked and skidded right beside me before i actually even filtered into lane 2. He fell down and i stopped my car and helped him and everything. His bike was okay but his arm was scratched. We exchanged particulars and he said i just had to pay for his medical bills which would not be too expensive(<$100), I agreed because i was partly at fault, even though i never did knocked into him. Fast forward, he tried to extort from me saying he has pain here and there, the paint on his bike need to be resprayed and also need to redo some balancing on his bike, in total he wants 500 bucks. As i'm just a poor NSF driving a cheap tiong chia, i decided to consult my mother as the car is under her name and she has more driving experiences than me, and that the amount of 500 dollars is not a small sum. My mother told me that i do not have to bother because the most important thing is i never knocked into him. Therefore i told him that i'm willing to pay him like 100 dollars, anything more, he has to claim insurance. He told me it's okay and he's going to make me pay more, i didn't bother and thought much about it. Insurance and his lawyer letter came, told me to file an accident report at both my insurance and at the police. I did so. Fast forward again, his claim at the insurance was successful because he probably got some of his abangs in TP/working as lawyers or whatever because even my insurance co did say that it actually isn't really my fault and i don't have to pay, just didn't know why his claim went through. There goes my mother's NCD for second car. I sold the car not long ago too and i was unable to claim back my premium that I've paid like 3 months ago(meaning i paid a year's premium but used only 3 months) because the insurance said i'd been claimed before. That car's insurance was around 4k, the lost is around 3k but my mother just tell me to take it as a lesson learnt. Fast forward till today, I just gotten a summon from TP dept claiming i didn't drove with due care or in an orderly manner and i have to pay a $200 fine and get 6 demerit points. The fine of 200 dollars seem to be like just a small amount compared to the 50% NCD lost and the 3k lost in premium, but i'm really pissed for being faulted and getting demerit points. Is there a channel for me out there to get this summon of 6 demerit points voided? The reason so is because i need my 24 points back and i'm currently only left with 6 points. Can i write in some where or go to the traffic police department and look for someone to talk to.. or yea, really need help here. Sorry for the very lengthy post, hope you guys would help me in all possible way :) Thank you and have a nice day. Since you tried to filter, the biker apparently saw the movement of your car and reacted according to his reflex i.e. jammed his brakes because he could have been too near to you to react otherwise. Skidding is inevitable when emergency brake is applied and likely due to biker's proximity to your vehicle plus 'wet' road. Even if he doesn't speed, don't you think he could have skidded in such a situation? Would be advisable not to attempt exonerating yourself from the cause of the accident because it is unlikely you'll get away with it. BTW, insurance co. is not a traffic authority and therefore, their views are not necessarily accurate. As advised by many sensible members here as well as that of your mum, take it a part of your driving experience and be mindful of other road users when driving. Be a safe and considerate road user. Have a nice day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 it doesnt matter if its real or fake la. I can tell u maybe the biker is no angel, prolly see TS young and rich wanna makan him. But fact is, u were wrong , u should have been smart and just pay the 500 instead of trying to get away with it. Only scratches on arm? u know how inconvinient or painful that can be? I know, because ive had 2 minor bike accidents before and it HURTS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 the car i was in(with roll-cage and huge ass gt-wing) and the seats(full bucket), was difficult to check blind spot, and i really did checked, i even stopped my car to check because i don't wana hit the car infront. But when i turned my head and look, it's just rows of cars and then when i look at the side mirrors, its also just the row of cars. Therefore the bike is either no.1 speeding, no.2 previously not on that lane, no.3 hiding behind my c pillar. Well then you did not check well enough. Only in the first can some blame be allocated to him, however you're still mostly to blame for all three. I highly doubt TP will waive your offence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 ai ya dun feed the animal lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Why didn't anyone thought about how a factory worker who is riding a really cheap and old bike managed to sent a lawyer letter to me and got him to fault me? And why can just some scratch on his arm, he can claim to have body aches and need to claim thousands in medical expenses, he still told me he was okay and the bike was okay after the accident ! Above statement in bold is ludicrous . Dispel such mindset It is advisable for you to drive as safely as possible and try your best to avoid any kind of bad traffic incidents AT ALL COSTS because you have a long long time to drive in your lifetime since you're still young. To lose the privilege of possessing a driving licence can be miserable for one who needs and/or likes to drive. Take care Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Very typical Singaporean responses. Only know how to criticise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Above statement in bold is ludicrous . Dispel such mindset It is advisable for you to drive as safely as possible and try your best to avoid any kind of bad traffic incidents AT ALL COSTS because you have a long long time to drive in your lifetime since you're still young. To lose the privilege of possessing a driving licence can be miserable for one who needs and/or likes to drive. Take care He got the stupid pariah "elite" mentality. Hopeless liao... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...