Hiphiphoray 6th Gear September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 (edited) Is there a safety distance limit stated anywhere for rolling backyards ? I doubt so. I only see safety distance vs speeding(km/hr) moving forward. Cars are basically allow to move backwards only for parallel parking. On any other occasion, the car should either be moving forward or staying stationary. Moving backwards for any other reason than parking is deem to be moving against the flow of traffic. Hence illegal ???? So in this case, i believe the one rolling back should be at fault. He is the one whom didnt control the car sufficiently and made the contact. Im sure the car behind is able to stop in time and probably sound the honk as well. Edited September 29, 2010 by Hiphiphoray ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 Hmm, so next time my rear if already self kena accident (got dents or wad) and if one day a stupid car decides to tailgate me at a slope, I can purposely roll back and claim dat car la? LOL... I think I need to repair my rear leh.. =P EVIL [smash] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 Is there a safety distance limit stated anywhere for rolling backyards ? I doubt so. I only see safety distance vs speeding(km/hr) moving forward. Cars are basically allow to move backwards only for parallel parking. On any other occasion, the car should either be moving forward or staying stationary. Moving backwards for any other reason than parking is deem to be moving against the flow of traffic. Hence illegal ???? So in this case, i believe the one rolling back should be at fault. He is the one whom didnt control the car sufficiently and made the contact. Im sure the car behind is able to stop in time and probably sound the honk as well. Obviously the car behind (TS's fren) followed so closely there was no room for error. How stupid. I always leave a bigger gap to the car in front when we are approaching humps at customs at crawler speeds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 But during our driving test, if you stop at a slope u should apply hand brake and move on without rolling backwards? you will be penalize/immediate failure if your vechicle roll backwards? Can someone comments on this? Thanks. hello friend... whatever u learn in school, applicable in society ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivienshoshanna Clutched September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 Told them to send to my contact body workshop to get it spray lo.. Hope this will send a message to all JB goer to be careful not to follow too closely.. Luckily not very serious damage.. hope so.. thanks for the reminder.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 2 things u should have done.. not follow too closely, and be alert. i too had some near-miss experiences of people roll-back/reverse back. when u see the car in front seem to be rolling back, you got to quickly engage reverse and step on it if necessary.. of course, got to be aware if there's another guy behind u as well. honking the car in front won't help, all the time i noticed.. they either didn't hear or weren't aware the honk is directed at them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 Unlike a Citroen? not any specific brand, its the gearbox logic better ones have sensors inside to sense vehicle on slope and ensure the torque converter can hold on slope mine holds on slopes like amk hub no rollback Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 I think this is subjective. If its a single lane channel, the car behind should be at fault. If multi lane(without solid markers) and at the situation where cars are queneing up at the customs, it got to be the front car at fault. Cos basically every car will keep a very close distance to aviod being lane cut. Obviously the car behind (TS's fren) followed so closely there was no room for error. How stupid. I always leave a bigger gap to the car in front when we are approaching humps at customs at crawler speeds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TRD 2nd Gear September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 its ur friends fault but anyway remember to keep a safe distance when at the custom cheers, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 have a confession to make.. as i'm not a very good half clutch driver.. every time when going back to sg after jb trip. can't help stressing on the slope before the inspection. it's one of the steepest slope i ever come so far.. always afraid in the midst, engine will stalled.. and i roll back.. till date, thanks god.. other than that, i love manual rides. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 I think this is subjective. If its a single lane channel, the car behind should be at fault. If multi lane(without solid markers) and at the situation where cars are queneing up at the customs, it got to be the front car at fault. Cos basically every car will keep a very close distance to aviod being lane cut. Don't go so far leh.. TS case is the front car rolling back due to the stupid hump.. not in general la.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmaomao 6th Gear September 29, 2010 Author Share September 29, 2010 She only release her brake.. allowing the car to slowly inch forward.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 She only release her brake.. allowing the car to slowly inch forward.. Since shes moving forward (i'm assuming she didnt brake), the other moving backwards... both should foot their own bills I guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 Since shes moving forward (i'm assuming she didnt brake), the other moving backwards... both should foot their own bills I guess. Lack of anticipation from both drivers.. that's what caused the accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rk98 Neutral Newbie September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 She dun normally tailgate ppl.. it's just Q ing at custom always have to be near mah.. else it will never be ur turn.. I also tell my fren she's too near liao, so no choice but to pay up... A lesson learn.. one question before you tell her no choice but to pay up... is there any witness? got any people in other car be the witness? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rk98 Neutral Newbie September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 Told them to send to my contact body workshop to get it spray lo.. Hope this will send a message to all JB goer to be careful not to follow too closely.. Luckily not very serious damage.. you should not jump to this conclusion too fast. can fight back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmaomao 6th Gear October 1, 2010 Author Share October 1, 2010 Thanx for all advise.. My fren had get over and done with.. Hope she learn a good lesson NO TO TAILGATE!! hee... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged October 1, 2010 Share October 1, 2010 Thanx for all advise.. My fren had get over and done with.. Hope she learn a good lesson NO TO TAILGATE!! hee... Tailgating can still be done la.. but depending on situation.. your friend did a wrong thing by tailgating the car in front that was negotiating a hump. Must always anticipate that the car will roll back due to the hump. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...