Today crazy coe

Minikong

Haiz....my company car allowance is pathetic and only office carpark is paid for. We're also paid by mileage but the boss scrutinized our claims and even the route we took to the customers' site. [sweatdrop]

The company is also looking into changing it to a fixed allowance but only about 80-90% of our current claim without any carpark paid for..... [smallcry]

That's why many of my colleagues including those in sales don't want to drive......only 2 of us drives....... [shakehead]

It wil b interesting to see most f our sales force riding bicycles to visit clients in future.

Uniquely Sillypore.

He is East Coast GRC ah tao... I think impossible to be voted out coz at the first place no opp will be so silly to challenge his GRC, all elites living there... These riches prosper under this system, they will not vote for opp... Opp can only target poor ppl area.

So u see, ty very smart. Provide him solid protection wh full body armour. Bullets cannot touch him so he got confidence to implement all these blood-sucking policies.

Like that must vote more opposition in so can slowly kick all those puppets n leeches out. [mad]

overpriced, and it is just in manual form, and the seats is racing seats, that look dman ugly and cheapo.

i can get the jcw upgrade kit at $5k also lol, the thing to look out for is the mini roadster coming in 2 or 3 years time, that got more power, and look sibei soilid

Aiyah why waste time.

Just get a 911 n solve all yr problems lah. [rolleyes]:D

it's still worth paying the extra over taking BMW right???

Actually I am seriously thinking of going back BMW. I cannot stomach paying 60K for a piece of paper (which I don't even get to see, I mean, have anyone seen a COE paper, I know I have not) that last 10 years, just to say I can buy a car.

& all these money goes to the fat bonus & paycheck of the senior members at government sectors.

My 2 cents ..

In conclusion .. willing buyers/willing sellers .... The price of COE is high and if someone decide to buy a new car, he/she has to pay higher COE. Existing car owners would agree that the congestion on the road is getting worse and this is caused by the incorrect projections over the years and the release of excessive COEs. The release of COEs should be based on the number of cars scrapped plus a allowable percentage of growth.

I disagree on this point.

What with the declining birth rate of singaporean over the past decade where does the new buyers/new demands come from, base on statistics our road should be as matter of fact be less congested, demand for car should be much lower if our falling birth rate equate to our population growth. Answer lie in the government open door policy on FT/PR. Do a head count on your MSCP or office carparks and i can assure you that at least 30% or more motorists are so called FT/PR.

Of course LHL last election pledge " i want eveyone to be able to afford a car" also add as another contributing factor to our already congested roads. The increase in number of Weekend car, ring a bell?

So like my foreman always like to say . " They s--t and we clean their ass for them."

Edited by Kopites

Why must you say "inconsiderate young drivers"? it's just "inconsiderate drivers" without the "young". I am 22yo and I believe I'm consider young on the road.

>>When u r younger, u r prone to be more hot blooded, less responsible n more passionate. You have >>more room for error due to a faster reflex, psychologically more willing to take risk.

>>

>> That is statistics, n insurance companies are not stupid, they have professional actuarers To calculate risks

Hmmm...pal, someone else have answered your query for me :D

I'm almost double your age. Generally, 20+ to 30 odd is when one feels most gungho and hot-blooded to "prove" him/herself or wanna get high on the road (at the expense of others sometimes). Yes, there are also hot-blooded 40s and 50s, these are at the tail-ends of the bell curves in statistics.

Good that you're a considerate driver. Please keep it that way and spread the "gospel" of responsible driving to your friends... [thumbsup]

dun worry peeps ..... when GE comes , its will come down drastically ..wait and see

I also hoping like you but i don't think it will come down drastically...

coe price increases because the number of coe is cut. the cut is because of lesser cars being scrapped, which adds to the congestion. so to prevent the number of cars on our road from keep increasing , they have to tag the coe supply to the number of cars being scrapped. when coe was very cheap, people lamented that cars are so easily affordable and many people suka suka buy hence add to the congestion. and now when coe is high and people cannot easily afford to buy car, people blamen gahment wants to make money.

see ? many people just choose to see the negative side of things but themselves cannot come up with a viable solution that doesnt have a negative effect. thats why losers only know how to complain, because they cannot achieve success in life, they blame it on the gahment.

Edited by Vextan

Singaporeans freaking rich. Dun mind paying such amt for coe...I can understand for CAT B which typically are made up of mercs, bmw, audi and lexus buyers..but for CAT A? I thought no matter how tight the coe quota supply is, once it reach a certain premium level, people will just stay away from it and there is a limit to how much it can go up..but no, there are people who buys bread and butter cars whom are willing to pay 47k for the coe..I find it incomprehensible...

I don't feel that Singaporeans, in general, are freaking rich. While economy is improving and some people make windfalls from stock market, these are exceptions. I believe the increasing # of premium cars on the road and people's willingness to pay for high COE premium is partially due to:

- High acceptance for 7-10 years car loan with minimal down-payment (ie enjoy today with future money)

- Ppl are so competitive that car ownership is a social status (compare house, car, income, handphone?)

- Appreciation of property prices led ppl to believe that they can afford a premium car

- Younger generation (ie 20s - early 30s) need not support their parents as much as the 40s and 50s, thus, they spend on themselves more. In fact, one newspaper report mentioned that the 20s group has the biggest group of credit card default.

Our society, like many (eg USA), embraces "instant gratification" whereby enjoy life (or quality of life) means having 5Cs or 6Cs. Well, it's perfectly ok to enjoy some Cs but it doesn't have to be the center of our lives.

My 2 cts

I also hoping like you but i don't think it will come down drastically...

Buy those very expensive car lo, these car prices nv change much despite COE price increase so much

I just came back from KL...it will prob be my last drive there for awhile. My car insurance covers only vehicle theft and the replacememt cost for the vehicle itself only. THE INSURANCE DOES NOT COVER COE.

Even if i get a new car i will still need to fork out another $62k to get a COE...and next month it will be worse as price may increase more.

Some of u bros r laughing as u say ur old rides are worth more. But think about the poor sales guy whose 9.9yr old COE on his Corolla will expire next month and he has to pay $62k to renew COE for a 10 yr old jap outdated rust bucket sedan.

Think about what happens when the same thing happens to your current ride.

Its not so funny any more when u see things in that perspective.

The only one laughing all the way to the Bank is the PAP govt......who use this scam to suck money from all of us. Just think and reflect about it.... :(

we have to look at the bigger picture, which is car reduction. like it or not, the more expensive cars become, the less there will be. and with millions more coming into this country, it's a reality we have to face.

coe price increases because the number of coe is cut. the cut is because of lesser cars being scrapped, which adds to the congestion. so to prevent the number of cars on our road from keep increasing , they have to tag the coe supply to the number of cars being scrapped. when coe was very cheap, people lamented that cars are so easily affordable and many people suka suka buy hence add to the congestion. and now when coe is high and people cannot easily afford to buy car, people blamen gahment wants to make money.

see ? many people just choose to see the negative side of things but themselves cannot come up with a viable solution that doesnt have a negative effect. thats why losers only know how to complain, because they cannot achieve success in life, they blame it on the gahment.

this i agree with you. though i must add there really isn't any solution to congestion other than reduction of number of cars. some time ago, some were saying the usage based system will work and more ERPs were constructed. it doesn't take a genius to know Orchard and town areas will still be jammed on weekends. who wouldn't pay just a few bucks to enter a hot zone. OPC? it makes the problem worse by making the roads full of cars after 7pm.

think left, think right, everything boils down to one problem, there are simply too many cars. so the only way to go is to make them more expensive. i don't blame the govt for increasing coe. i blame them for the congestion we're getting today. well, i guess better late than never.

however, if we still want to complain about car ownership being expensive, take a trip to Bangkok and see if you will mind the traffic there. at least for the Thais, they have more than just Bangkok to drive their cars.

I disagree on this point.

What with the declining birth rate of singaporean over the past decade where does the new buyers/new demands come from, base on statistics our road should be as matter of fact be less congested, demand for car should be much lower if our falling birth rate equate to our population growth. Answer lie in the government open door policy on FT/PR. Do a head count on your MSCP or office carparks and i can assure you that at least 30% or more motorists are so called FT/PR.

Yes I see ur point, while I agree that COE is an additional tax to deter people from buying cars, the fact remains that now well paid FTs can afford cars. I walked past a Pinoy vacuuming his 'new' Suuki Swift Sports and he gave me an arrogant smirk as though he is the only one owning a car..wtf do we need such people around..

The feeling of sharing our land with these arrogant folks while we grovel in 'poverty'..is indeed hard to stomach... [shakehead]

When u r younger, u r prone to be more hot blooded, less responsible n more passionate. You have more room for error due to a faster reflex, psychologically more willing to take risk.

That is statistics, n insurance companies are not stupid, they have professional actuarers To calculate risks

This is going to get off topic, but i still wanna say it.. lol.. [smash]

I think you don't get what I'm saying. What you are doing is exactly the same as when people say Subaru drivers are inconsiderate. In simpler terms, Stereotyping. So are you going to blame young drivers?

Well, so far most of the inconsiderate drivers I have met are the older age group. Especially Taxi Drivers. Once at Old Tampines Road, a taxi just brake to about 60km/h then suddenly he did a hard brake. He probably went the wrong way as he turned away after that. He probably didn't even notice me behind him cos I came to a complete stop and waited at least 5 seconds before I decided to horn him. Luckily I was alert enough and stopped just 1 car length away from him when he hard brake. Btw, in case you don't know, it's a one lane road. Another was when I'm on the way home at night, a taxi just came to a sudden stop just because he miss a turn. [hur]

What can I say? Maybe I'm too young to drive? :o Maybe because 90% of the drivers are older then me so I view it as the older people's fault? <_<

Again, in case any of you get offended, this post isn't meant to be offensive in any way. I'm just stating my point of view as a young driver. [:)]

An advice from me, words can be as sharp as knife. Have a good day. [angel]

Why drive for five years?

I am sure...the second hand car market will dry up when every one holds back from selling.

Soon second hand car price will increase greatly, it will reach a point where people will feel it's 'worthwhile' to sell the old car and get a new one.

The theory that when new car COE increases, the second hand cars prices will increase correspondingly, will hold true!!!