Turbonetics 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 I like your argument Sell high buy high. That's true for people who has a car now. This group will not worry about coe up or down, as the old car will worth something when it's time to replace with a new one 5years down the road. The beauty of COE system in Singapore is really a non issue for existing car owners as the replacement cost of the expensive new car, will be equally conceded by the high resale value of old car! Nett nett, will not have much effect. Meaning if New car COE were to up by $30k suddenly, then the second hand car market will also reprice the old cars at a $30k premiums higher. are you sure for the last sentence you made? i guess probably only $10-$15k higher for 2nd hand market. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 You believe that the gahment made "incorrect projections" ah? the staticians are as accurate as you can get. Have you ever seen our economy projections go haywire? Flood the cars on the roads and increase erp. Make people like you accept quota cut is the only way. Coe increase but with lesser cars on the roads, will they reduce erp charges and remove the gantries? Reduce ERP charges? PAP sinkie govt? of coz not. The ERP gantries provide them plenty of DAILY liquid cash. The COE provides long term cash. If COE is cheap, there are many more COEs renewed so they get $$$. If the COE goes up they get fewer COE but at higher prices so they get $$$...whether is 4x8 or 8x4 PAP wins either ways. The only losers r the suckers who elected them year after year. So to sinkiepooreans quit complaininig as this is the govt u elected whether actively or passively..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 Lesser time and fuel spent on transport then can use for family time, making baby, reducing green house gases are surely more impt than transport company profits. You shareholder? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 I don smoke. Can you tell ne whether if a filter is placed in a pipe, will it still be too strong? Thinking of getting it for a friend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 I don smoke. Can you tell ne whether if a filter is placed in a pipe, will it still be too strong? Thinking of getting it for a friend That 1 u must ask yr fren. Smoking is very personal. Just like sex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IMa Neutral Newbie December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Regarding COE. What happens when your COE expires but you still have loan? Im pretty confused about this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 You will have to settle the load before you scrap your car. Otherwise, the bank will try to recover the money via legal route. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IMa Neutral Newbie December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Please explain in terms of figures. Im really blur. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 What kind of figures do you want? If your car is only worth for example $10k after your scrapped it and you own the bank $20k...then you will have to pay the bank $20K to settle the loan, scrap the car and wait for LTA to return the $10k to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IMa Neutral Newbie December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 So I have to clear my loan before my COE Expires right??? wahhh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 So I have to clear my loan before my COE Expires right??? wahhh.... When you buy a car with COE 5y left, the legal Ah long will only gives you 5year loan period or less. They will not give you 6y or 10y. so don't worry. When your coe expires, so as your loan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 The bank that lend you more money for a car than it is worth much less?? That is a Stupid bank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bilsteiner 1st Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 (edited) Just forbid the authorised agents or car sellers from bidding and allow car buyers to bid themselves, I'm sure COE price will plunge southwards. Right now, these are the people determining the COE price. AGREED! Edited December 10, 2010 by Bilsteiner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlau Clutched December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Lesser time and fuel spent on transport then can use for family time, making baby, reducing green house gases are surely more impt than transport company profits. You shareholder? No sir. You should who is the major shareholder of our profit driven public transport operator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lights9 Neutral Newbie December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 sian 0.5 the COE . sucks BIGTIME now . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Dont blame the gov. Blame the lazy and cash rich car buyers like you and me!! Last time gov already implement the ATM and computer bidding system to strictly allow owners to bid for themselves!! But many car buyers interviewed said they prefer to get a packaged deal, less hassle, less time wasted to bid oneself, etc. Eventually gov relented, and allow AD to bid for customer on proxy!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 http://dlapp02.smu.edu.sg/getblob?blobid=1728747707363511 This paper says open bidding will cause the COE to be cheaeper by $2000 (in 2003). Whats a load of crap.....people write a thesis, just for the sake of passing their masters!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 http://www.lta.gov.sg/corp_info/doc/VQS%20Review%201999.pdf After ten years.....where is the promised chang from owner based to usage based? KNN...i am still waiting for the ERP to cost $10per entry for usage base to really control the traffic. I still see the same old ERP gantry...where are the island wide ERP gantries implementation for usage based control???? Empty promises or useless gov staff in enforcing the guidelines. Maybe they will come out with another report on this topic soon!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...