kmttan 4th Gear July 14, 2015 Share July 14, 2015 To all current owner of biante, any carpark that biante cannot enter? I am not owner of Biante but considering it. Hougang Green is 1.8m ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged July 14, 2015 Share July 14, 2015 Bro, I went to test drive the Biante a few weeks back, found that the drive was not too bad, but noticed that when I flicked the signal stick halfway, the signal doesn't flick 3 times, like other cars do. Can confirm? Other than this which I don't quite like, the other is no auto-headlights. No auto-wiper I still can live with it. Then again, at today's price, it's one of the best value MPV, if you can live with the 2 airbag configuration. You must have come from a conti ride to want that signalling feature, haha. But not that difficult to make the adjustment though. Also there is no auto-headlight and auto-wiper as you have realised, also no cruise control function may I add. Other than that, the feature list is quite acceptable including headlights that are super bright, 3rd row aircon, reverse camera, remote control that can activate door, etc, etc. The drive is actually quite adequate for the car, better than Latio and Carens that I owned before. Perhaps being a Mazda, it is tuned for better drive dynamics so no issues even tough it is tall. No worries it will topple going into a curve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 You must have come from a conti ride to want that signalling feature, haha. But not that difficult to make the adjustment though. Also there is no auto-headlight and auto-wiper as you have realised, also no cruise control function may I add. Other than that, the feature list is quite acceptable including headlights that are super bright, 3rd row aircon, reverse camera, remote control that can activate door, etc, etc. The drive is actually quite adequate for the car, better than Latio and Carens that I owned before. Perhaps being a Mazda, it is tuned for better drive dynamics so no issues even tough it is tall. No worries it will topple going into a curve. No leh, I'm driving a humble Lancer EX GT, but it has auto headlights, auto wiper, cruise control (which I seldom use). Of the 3, auto headlights have become a must, for the lazy me. And in the previous Latio that I drove, it also has that flick once signal flicker 3 times feature. Quite useful, that's why I'm expecting it to be standard feature. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 No leh, I'm driving a humble Lancer EX GT, but it has auto headlights, auto wiper, cruise control (which I seldom use). Of the 3, auto headlights have become a must, for the lazy me. And in the previous Latio that I drove, it also has that flick once signal flicker 3 times feature. Quite useful, that's why I'm expecting it to be standard feature. The Latio has that feature? I seriously cannot remember as mine was Latio Sport Premium which lasted about 3 years. But I did not miss the auto-headlight feature as it would turn itself on even though the sky is not that dark, so is turned off by default haha. Anyway, not a deal breaker right? Got to look at the ride in totality. Can't pick and choose haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 The Latio has that feature? I seriously cannot remember as mine was Latio Sport Premium which lasted about 3 years. But I did not miss the auto-headlight feature as it would turn itself on even though the sky is not that dark, so is turned off by default haha. Anyway, not a deal breaker right? Got to look at the ride in totality. Can't pick and choose haha. What to do? Growing family, need more spacious car, from cheap sporty stick shift with many frills (got my car at only $50k at 1.5 years used), now looking at much more expensive MPV that has less frills. Not willing to spend an arm and leg for a fast depreciating liability. I will miss my Lancer when I finally make the switch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trader Clutched July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 (edited) Other than Alphard Vellfire, Biante has the biggest cabin space. I have compared new Alphard/Vellfire (pre 2015), Estima/Previa and Elgrand before getting Biante. At this price point, you are getting the most bang for your bucks. Check out the price differences and you will know you are not only getting value for money, you are also getting a newer engine, newer design and spacious cabin (Biante is taller than Estima and Elgrand.) 7 seater with option for 8 seater when the center seats are combined. Where to find? With a center aisle plus no front center console, you can walk from driver seat to the 3rd row. This is useful for families with young kids. With the tall cabin height, you can walk within the car without bending too much. Great if you need to carry young kids onto their safety car seats, especially third row. If 3rd row is not in use, center row can be pushed all the way back for stretched limo style seating. iStop tech which cut off and on your engine in split second when your car is stationary at traffic light. Engine off means no vibration at traffic light or traffic jam. Fuel efficient Skyactiv engine for such a spacious car. 2 powered sliding doors with safety touch sensor. Ion generator for cabin. Comes with spare tyre. Some MPV don't come with spare tyre. Cold aircon. 2nd row and 3rd row has aircon, 2 vents on each row. I have enjoyed my Biante for more than half a year and still think I made a good choice. Edited July 15, 2015 by Trader Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trader Clutched July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 (edited) It also has HU controls and manual paddle shift on steering wheel. But I seldom use this. Who will want to speed with 5 or 6 family members on board? HU has USB cable. You can stick in thumbdrive to play mp3. The windscreen is huge. Great visibility. One thing was a must in my selection citeriors. The car must have 3 point seat belts for 2nd row and 3rd row center seats, and there must be proper headrest for these two center seats. You will be surprised that many older MPV don't have these. Edited July 15, 2015 by Trader Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 It also has HU controls and manual paddle shift on steering wheel. But I seldom use this. Who will want to speed with 5 or 6 family members on board? HU has USB cable. You can stick in thumbdrive to play mp3. The windscreen is huge. Great visibility. One thing was a must in my selection citeriors. The car must have 3 point seat belts for 2nd row and 3rd row center seats, and there must be proper headrest for these two center seats. You will be surprised that many older MPV don't have these. You are a bigger Biante salesman than me, haha. The triplets and Stepwagn have similar space though only available under PI. Frankly I would not recommend unless really love it so much, as I am always worry about warranty issues and recalls which might be an issue. Biante is definitely not perfect though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kmttan 4th Gear July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 Other than Alphard Vellfire, Biante has the biggest cabin space. I have compared new Alphard/Vellfire (pre 2015), Estima/Previa and Elgrand before getting Biante. At this price point, you are getting the most bang for your bucks. Check out the price differences and you will know you are not only getting value for money, you are also getting a newer engine, newer design and spacious cabin (Biante is taller than Estima and Elgrand.) 7 seater with option for 8 seater when the center seats are combined. Where to find? With a center aisle plus no front center console, you can walk from driver seat to the 3rd row. This is useful for families with young kids. With the tall cabin height, you can walk within the car without bending too much. Great if you need to carry young kids onto their safety car seats, especially third row. If 3rd row is not in use, center row can be pushed all the way back for stretched limo style seating. iStop tech which cut off and on your engine in split second when your car is stationary at traffic light. Engine off means no vibration at traffic light or traffic jam. Fuel efficient Skyactiv engine for such a spacious car. 2 powered sliding doors with safety touch sensor. Ion generator for cabin. Comes with spare tyre. Some MPV don't come with spare tyre. Cold aircon. 2nd row and 3rd row has aircon, 2 vents on each row. I have enjoyed my Biante for more than half a year and still think I made a good choice. Have you encountered carparks with height less than 1.9m? What did you do? I was thinking of how to reverse the car when there are cars behind you. I go to Hougang Green every week, which has a 1.8m height. However, I saw many vans there and I am wondering if I should just take the risk and get Biante. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djcoolmax 2nd Gear July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 No leh, I'm driving a humble Lancer EX GT, but it has auto headlights, auto wiper, cruise control (which I seldom use). Of the 3, auto headlights have become a must, for the lazy me. And in the previous Latio that I drove, it also has that flick once signal flicker 3 times feature. Quite useful, that's why I'm expecting it to be standard feature. Flick-signaling, auto-lights and rain sensors would bump up the cost of the car from JPN and you won't be able to enjoy it as the current price. Maybe when the COE goes down and competition for customer rises, they would bring in a higher spec version.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged July 17, 2015 Share July 17, 2015 Went to view Biante last weekend. Observed that the 3rd Row bench seats are quite low due to the ascending floorboard to create a theatre like view, as a result when seated, the knee bent quite a fair bit, almost like squatting, not too comfortable for long ride. The 2nd row seats are OK though. Any onwers can advise whether the 3rd row seats height can be adjusted ? I have been finding time to take a photo of sitting at last row. I believe all the binate owners would not agree that we are squatting at last row. It is almost same as sitting at first and second row. I am 1.7m and definitely does not look like squatting, am I? This is better than all the mid-size mpv I have checked out in the market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HS_LO Clutched July 18, 2015 Share July 18, 2015 I have been finding time to take a photo of sitting at last row. I believe all the binate owners would not agree that we are squatting at last row. It is almost same as sitting at first and second row. I am 1.7m and definitely does not look like squatting, am I? This is better than all the mid-size mpv I have checked out in the market. Thanks for the Photo. Went back th the showroom and did some measurements. The Biante 2nd row and 3rd row seats about 0.8ft and 0.6ft high above floor, normal car seats height about 1ft ++. Think this lower than normal height seats will make long rides a uncomfortable as the knee is bent at at angle and not supported by the cushion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kmttan 4th Gear July 18, 2015 Share July 18, 2015 Saw 3 Biante at Haig road yesterday. 2 at HDB carpark and 1 at community club. Didn't know it is so common now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 19, 2015 Share July 19, 2015 Thanks for the Photo. Went back th the showroom and did some measurements. The Biante 2nd row and 3rd row seats about 0.8ft and 0.6ft high above floor, normal car seats height about 1ft ++. Think this lower than normal height seats will make long rides a uncomfortable as the knee is bent at at angle and not supported by the cushion. Biante third row is already very comfortable. Try zafira or grand scenic and you will know what is squatting... Maybe only 10 cm above floorboard... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 19, 2015 Share July 19, 2015 I have been finding time to take a photo of sitting at last row. I believe all the binate owners would not agree that we are squatting at last row. It is almost same as sitting at first and second row. I am 1.7m and definitely does not look like squatting, am I? This is better than all the mid-size mpv I have checked out in the market. Cannot compare with mid size mpvs because biante is considered big sized mpv Is this photo taken with the second row pushed towards the rear allowing for max legroom for the second row passengers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged July 19, 2015 Share July 19, 2015 Is this photo taken with the second row pushed towards the rear allowing for max legroom for the second row passengers? No lah, the binate is not that spacious haha. The second row was pushed quite back but still leaving enough space for 3rd row passengers. If pushed all the way, the back of 2nd row would be touching the 3rd row, and 3rd row bench can be folded up to provide more space. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HS_LO Clutched July 19, 2015 Share July 19, 2015 Biante third row is already very comfortable. Try zafira or grand scenic and you will know what is squatting... Maybe only 10 cm above floorboard... Cannot compare Biante with midi MPV like scenic or zafira. Should compare Biante with Noah, Voxy, Stepwagon where the 2nd & 3rd row seats are more comfortable at normal heights of 1ft+ bove floor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trader Clutched July 19, 2015 Share July 19, 2015 Biante is by agent. Those examples you quoted is by PI. Biante is covered with 5 years warranty by agent with full servicing include full parts and labour. PI cover by third party garage, may not cover 5 years and definately not full parts as years increase. With agent car, you have no concern for parts after warranty. With PI cars, plus those models you compare with aren't so common, have to think about parts. Not a difficult choice. There is no perfect car. We have to look at the whole package. Noah and Voxy are smaller than Biante. You get the few cms in third row seat but what you lose out? Stepwagon is also smaller and 1.5. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...