Wrong Can't Sack getting jittery

Parkingidiot

Looks like panic setting in....

PAP

Apr 24, 2011

'Look at what I have done the last 27 years'

By Huang Lijie

kanseng.mugilan-rajasegeran.jpg

Mr Wong, who is leading the People's Action Party team in the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, believes that residents in his constituency will also consider the work that he has done there for the last 27 years. -- ST PHOTO: MUGILAN RAJASEGERAN

DEPUTY Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng on Sunday urged voters to decide if the escape of Mas Selamat Kastari was a 'fatal' enough security lapse that it will affect whether they will elect him.

Mr Wong, who is leading the People's Action Party team in the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, believes that residents in his constituency will ultimately consider his track record and the work he has done there for the last 27 years.

Mr Wong said this after a market visit to Toa Payoh East, with his other team-mates, who included Education Minister Ng Eng Hen on Sunday morning. He was asked by the media whether the escape of Singapore's most wanted fugitive - who was recaptured in Malaysia a year later - would cost him votes.

The former Home Affairs Minister said: 'I told Parliament the day of his escape that a mistake was made, there was a lapse in the security and I apologised for that and I said that we will do everything to find him.

'Eventually it took us a while to locate him after he ran away and we gave the Malaysians information where he was hiding. Now, having done all that, I think people did understand that yes indeed, we have done what we could.

'Of course, the first mistake cannot be obliterated. It was there, I owned up to it, as the minister, I took responsibility for it.

That's the right thing to do.

'And I think people will look at that and see on the whole, based on what I have done here for the last 27 years, is that one lapse by a department fatal to their decision on electing me or not. I think that, they will have to consider.'

Citing the transformation of the Bishan-Toa Payoh area over the last two decades, he said residents in the GRC were generally happy and appreciated the improvements in the area, and no resident had raised the Mas Selamat issue with him.

The Singapore People's Party (SPP), which is facing off the PAP team in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, has cited the Mas Selamat incident as an example of the need for greater public accountability, a key issue of the SPP's manifesto.

http://www.straitstimes.com/GeneralElectio...ory_660601.html

Funny, I don't remember him ever apologising for the fiasco. He did not even stand corrected.

And what's this about taking responsibility for it? What actions did he undertake in the name of taking responsibility?

Of all the ministers, his mistake is the most unforgivable because it involved our national security. And he should be sacked.

Nope I dun remember either ...............

If someone is remorseful, he would ask for forgiveness. We dun even get a sorry.

Its a honest mistake, lets move on........

that was the apology, sort of.

see his face, that sarcastic quote always come to mind.... <_<

I stay in TPY and I can already say my vote won't go to him......

Sat morning I saw chiam and his gang at one TPY market, going ard shaking hands. My full respect goes to him.......

Please give Mr Chiam a chance. He's in politics because of his passion, not so much the greed.

Kick WKS out once and for all, make sure Wong Can't Sing anymore.

I stay in TPY and I can already say my vote won't go to him......

Sat morning I saw chiam and his gang at one TPY market, going ard shaking hands. My full respect goes to him.......

Mr Chiam has a bad hunch now. He looks frail and is not fully recovered from the stroke he suffered in 2008.

He is doing his walkabouts and offering the last years of his life to the residents of Bishan Toa Payoh. This is what I call servants of the people. How I wish I stay there and gets to vote for him.

He has my RESPECT.

[thumbsup]

Look at the arrogant posture, machiam he was very proud of what he did.

If that mistake has resulted in MSK slipping back with vengeance & kills many through terrorist acts, I wonder whether he will still dare to display such arrogance or not.

You have to alert & lucky for 365 days a year.

If the bad guys are lucky for even a day, folks die.

One lapse is one too many in today's insecure climate as far as terrorism is concerned...

Edited by Vulcann

oh please lah

our goverment dont have the sentiments for appreciation

once your usefullness is use up it will be shown the door

for every sports personal who throw away their career just to bring glory to the country

for every NSman who serve the country

what do they get

sure 27 years u did something

but again history is useless

Looks like panic setting in....

PAP

Apr 24, 2011

'Look at what I have done the last 27 years'

By Huang Lijie

Mr Wong, who is leading the People's Action Party team in the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, believes that residents in his constituency will also consider the work that he has done there for the last 27 years. -- ST PHOTO: MUGILAN RAJASEGERAN

DEPUTY Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng on Sunday urged voters to decide if the escape of Mas Selamat Kastari was a 'fatal' enough security lapse that it will affect whether they will elect him.

Mr Wong, who is leading the People's Action Party team in the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, believes that residents in his constituency will ultimately consider his track record and the work he has done there for the last 27 years.

Mr Wong said this after a market visit to Toa Payoh East, with his other team-mates, who included Education Minister Ng Eng Hen on Sunday morning. He was asked by the media whether the escape of Singapore's most wanted fugitive - who was recaptured in Malaysia a year later - would cost him votes.

The former Home Affairs Minister said: 'I told Parliament the day of his escape that a mistake was made, there was a lapse in the security and I apologised for that and I said that we will do everything to find him.

'Eventually it took us a while to locate him after he ran away and we gave the Malaysians information where he was hiding. Now, having done all that, I think people did understand that yes indeed, we have done what we could.

'Of course, the first mistake cannot be obliterated. It was there, I owned up to it, as the minister, I took responsibility for it.

That's the right thing to do.

'And I think people will look at that and see on the whole, based on what I have done here for the last 27 years, is that one lapse by a department fatal to their decision on electing me or not. I think that, they will have to consider.'

Citing the transformation of the Bishan-Toa Payoh area over the last two decades, he said residents in the GRC were generally happy and appreciated the improvements in the area, and no resident had raised the Mas Selamat issue with him.

The Singapore People's Party (SPP), which is facing off the PAP team in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, has cited the Mas Selamat incident as an example of the need for greater public accountability, a key issue of the SPP's manifesto.

http://www.straitstimes.com/GeneralElectio...ory_660601.html

Funny, I don't remember him ever apologising for the fiasco. He did not even stand corrected.

And what's this about taking responsibility for it? What actions did he undertake in the name of taking responsibility?

The last I checked, the yardstick for taking responsibility of something considered so serious is to resign or get sacked... hmmm.....

Lapse is fatal or not? Of course not now that he is caught. I think is the possibility of fatality that counts, and his lapse just created that risk.

See him on Ch5 news saying that he took responsibility, i just can't believe my ears. that's just so... blatant.

1) His face look like joker (I mean the joker in batman series..) [laugh]

2) Wa... I dun expect a 2~3mil salary DPM can do such mistake one leh.

Like that, any well educated people can also take up his job. If any mistake happen, just say sorry by "It's an honest mistake, let's move on" [thumbsdown]

Edited by Ncss