Piyopico Supercharged April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Dun forget it is a terrorist that sliped out of Singapore. Need our neighbours to send him back. Then let the same joker escape again. Another neighbour send him back. Itz not just one lapse ok! And you get the PM to back him up and stare at LTK for three seconds when questioned in parliament whether he should be sacked. So the next time you wanna say no, you can stare for 3 seconds to the other party. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Dun forget it is a terrorist that sliped out of Singapore. Need our neighbours to send him back. Then let the same joker escape again. Another neighbour send him back. Itz not just one lapse ok! And you get the PM to back him up and stare at LTK for three seconds when questioned in parliament whether he should be sacked. So the next time you wanna say no, you can stare for 3 seconds to the other party. Ya remembered that scene. He was dam angry with his posture machiam eyes got fire then. Was thinking then as a PM no matter what must be composed. Especially in parliament & in front of tv. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Actually I was indifferent to WKS capaibilty before. But it was exactly the mat selamat escape and his lack of accountability that I consider him the worst failure of all pap minister. So he dare us to judge him base on selamat's escape. Too bad he's not from my ward, coz I'll vote against him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Yeah right. He took responsibility with nothing, but made his staff take accountability and punished. Superintendent of detention centre sacked over Mas Selamat's escape By Wong Siew Ying, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 26 May 2008 1437 hrs SINGAPORE: The superintendent of the Whitley Road Detention Centre has been sacked over security lapses that led to the escape of Jemaah Islamiyah detainee Mas Selamat Kastari on February 27. His deputy has been demoted, with a corresponding pay cut. The two were the most senior officers in charge of the ground management of the detention centre, and were among six Internal Security Department (ISD) officers charged over the escape. Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng disclosed this when he updated Parliament on the disciplinary action taken after Mas Selamat's escape. Mr Wong said: "These two officers have been held accountable for the lack of supervision over the subordinate officers implicated, which resulted in lapses that enabled Mas Selamat to escape from WRDC. "The superintendent has also been held accountable for failing to take appropriate action on discovering that the ventilation window in the toilet at the Family Visitation Block was unsecured. "He should have instructed the renovation contractor to install grilles on the ventilation window. It was a serious error on his part to saw off the handle of the window instead, in the mistaken belief that this was a sufficient security measure." Two Gurkha officers were also charged and have been demoted after pleading guilty. The Special Duty Operative handling the detainee's family visit when the incident happened has also been sacked. She had not observed due procedures in the accurate registration of clothes belonging to the detainee and those issued by the detention centre. This allowed Mas Selamat to put on more than one layer of clothes during his escape. Letters of warning were served to three others - the Special Duty Operative's supervisor, the Chief Warder as well as the Technical Officer responsible for the CCTV upgrading at the detention centre. Responding to a question by MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC, Dr Lam Pin Min, Mr Wong said all the officers were given the opportunity to explain themselves before the Disciplinary Committee. They also have 30 days to appeal against the punishment meted out. So far, no one has done so. The superintendent and his deputy have also been held accountable for the lack of supervision over the subordinate officers implicated in the escape. Mr Wong said the ISD's command director (or officer-in-charge) whom the superintendent reported to, has also been relieved of his duties on April 24. Although the command director was neither directly nor indirectly linked to the lapses of specific officers down the line - and he was not at fault over the lapses - Mr Wong said: "He has a statutory function to ensure the smooth functioning of the WRDC. So in terms of institutional responsibility, as far as that role is concerned, I decided that I should find another person to do the job." The chapter on Mas Selamat, who is still at large, is far from over. Mr Wong added: "We've received no information from our foreign intelligence partners in the region that Mas Selamat has appeared on their shores. We have no information specifically on where he could be. "But we cannot work on the assumption that he is no longer in Singapore. Therefore, we have to work on the assumption that he is still in Singapore and all the necessary border security measures ought to be in place." So security at all checkpoints will remain tight. Mr Wong said the morale of the ISD has taken a beating over the incident. However, they will learn from this setback and stay focused on safeguarding Singapore. - CNA/ac/vm 'Of course, the first mistake cannot be obliterated. It was there, I owned up to it, as the minister, I took responsibility for it. That's the right thing to do. Funny, I don't remember him ever apologising for the fiasco. He did not even stand corrected. And what's this about taking responsibility for it? What actions did he undertake in the name of taking responsibility? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear April 24, 2011 Author Share April 24, 2011 so by "taking responsibility" he actually means he fired other people left and right to protect his $3million dollar job. Hmm... interesting definition for the word responsibility. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 I too am flabbergasted by the PAP (or perhaps only WKS) definition of taking responsibility. People have been sacked for lesser crimes and he is still there earning millions. Incredible, absolutely incredible. I am convinced that if tomorrow he falls off the face of the Earth, Singapore will go on without missing a beat. NOBODY is indispensible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Wow responsibility takes a whole new meaning here. And apologies too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Looks like panic setting in.... PAP Apr 24, 2011 'Look at what I have done the last 27 years' By Huang Lijie Mr Wong, who is leading the People's Action Party team in the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, believes that residents in his constituency will also consider the work that he has done there for the last 27 years. -- ST PHOTO: MUGILAN RAJASEGERAN DEPUTY Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng on Sunday urged voters to decide if the escape of Mas Selamat Kastari was a 'fatal' enough security lapse that it will affect whether they will elect him. Mr Wong, who is leading the People's Action Party team in the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, believes that residents in his constituency will ultimately consider his track record and the work he has done there for the last 27 years. Mr Wong said this after a market visit to Toa Payoh East, with his other team-mates, who included Education Minister Ng Eng Hen on Sunday morning. He was asked by the media whether the escape of Singapore's most wanted fugitive - who was recaptured in Malaysia a year later - would cost him votes. The former Home Affairs Minister said: 'I told Parliament the day of his escape that a mistake was made, there was a lapse in the security and I apologised for that and I said that we will do everything to find him. 'Eventually it took us a while to locate him after he ran away and we gave the Malaysians information where he was hiding. Now, having done all that, I think people did understand that yes indeed, we have done what we could. 'Of course, the first mistake cannot be obliterated. It was there, I owned up to it, as the minister, I took responsibility for it. That's the right thing to do. 'And I think people will look at that and see on the whole, based on what I have done here for the last 27 years, is that one lapse by a department fatal to their decision on electing me or not. I think that, they will have to consider.' Citing the transformation of the Bishan-Toa Payoh area over the last two decades, he said residents in the GRC were generally happy and appreciated the improvements in the area, and no resident had raised the Mas Selamat issue with him. The Singapore People's Party (SPP), which is facing off the PAP team in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, has cited the Mas Selamat incident as an example of the need for greater public accountability, a key issue of the SPP's manifesto. http://www.straitstimes.com/GeneralElectio...ory_660601.html Funny, I don't remember him ever apologising for the fiasco. He did not even stand corrected. And what's this about taking responsibility for it? What actions did he undertake in the name of taking responsibility? the answer:- wrong? -----> cant sack Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear April 24, 2011 Author Share April 24, 2011 I too am flabbergasted by the PAP (or perhaps only WKS) definition of taking responsibility. People have been sacked for lesser crimes and he is still there earning millions. Incredible, absolutely incredible. I am convinced that if tomorrow he falls off the face of the Earth, Singapore will go on without missing a beat. NOBODY is indispensible. try telling that to that geriatric who, in his 88 year, is still indispensible to the world's most expensive prime minister... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Please give Mr Chiam a chance. He's in politics because of his passion, not so much the greed. Kick WKS out once and for all, make sure Wong Can't Sing anymore. you very the kind to wrongCANTsack liao............ make him prove his remorse: guard duty in front of Istana !!! prata man can walk out to the gate and feed him freshly fried prata once in a while Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Wow responsibility takes a whole new meaning here. And apologies too. cokxford dicksionary is outdated, t's time for PAP dick..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C-K 2nd Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 he looks like the old version of : Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 The last I checked, the yardstick for taking responsibility of something considered so serious is to resign or get sacked... hmmm..... WKS should step down graciously after Mas Selamant was recaptured in Malaysia. No need for explanation, He is the 'CO' of Sp Internal Security, yet someone so dangerous like MS can elope here w/o a trace, hence making a mockery of our security infringement, I cannot think of a better word. If i were him, I will choose to quit and enjoy the retirement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 (edited) WKS shld watch the 2011 playoffs Spurs vs Grizzlies game 3. Spurs lost on a poor last second play & coach popovich took all the blame for not calling time out, & the NBA presenters praised him for keeping it REAL... instead of blaming his players... this is how a truely great leader should respond. A leader is responsible for the actions of his team, because he is the COACH WHO TRAINED THE TEAM... to blame only his players is shallow a freaking NBA coach is more REAL than our own ministar,... WKS has alot to learn about leadership & being a coach... maybe he shld work under Greg popovich for half a season to learn how 2 b REAL... our political leadership has not evolved since the cold war era... its time they do before they get a freak result Edited April 24, 2011 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 PAP Ministers CANNOT BE SACKED...the worst that can happen is that they retire to some cushy well paid job in some GIC, TLC or GLC companies and continue to get fat on their life time tenures... Of all the ministers, his mistake is the most unforgivable because it involved our national security. And he should be sacked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 If mas selamat had successfully bombed SG, would Wong c--t sing still be singing the same tune? Looks like panic setting in.... PAP Apr 24, 2011 'Look at what I have done the last 27 years' By Huang Lijie Mr Wong, who is leading the People's Action Party team in the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, believes that residents in his constituency will also consider the work that he has done there for the last 27 years. -- ST PHOTO: MUGILAN RAJASEGERAN DEPUTY Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng on Sunday urged voters to decide if the escape of Mas Selamat Kastari was a 'fatal' enough security lapse that it will affect whether they will elect him. Mr Wong, who is leading the People's Action Party team in the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, believes that residents in his constituency will ultimately consider his track record and the work he has done there for the last 27 years. Mr Wong said this after a market visit to Toa Payoh East, with his other team-mates, who included Education Minister Ng Eng Hen on Sunday morning. He was asked by the media whether the escape of Singapore's most wanted fugitive - who was recaptured in Malaysia a year later - would cost him votes. The former Home Affairs Minister said: 'I told Parliament the day of his escape that a mistake was made, there was a lapse in the security and I apologised for that and I said that we will do everything to find him. 'Eventually it took us a while to locate him after he ran away and we gave the Malaysians information where he was hiding. Now, having done all that, I think people did understand that yes indeed, we have done what we could. 'Of course, the first mistake cannot be obliterated. It was there, I owned up to it, as the minister, I took responsibility for it. That's the right thing to do. 'And I think people will look at that and see on the whole, based on what I have done here for the last 27 years, is that one lapse by a department fatal to their decision on electing me or not. I think that, they will have to consider.' Citing the transformation of the Bishan-Toa Payoh area over the last two decades, he said residents in the GRC were generally happy and appreciated the improvements in the area, and no resident had raised the Mas Selamat issue with him. The Singapore People's Party (SPP), which is facing off the PAP team in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, has cited the Mas Selamat incident as an example of the need for greater public accountability, a key issue of the SPP's manifesto. http://www.straitstimes.com/GeneralElectio...ory_660601.html Funny, I don't remember him ever apologising for the fiasco. He did not even stand corrected. And what's this about taking responsibility for it? What actions did he undertake in the name of taking responsibility? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Miw no more star players Liao WKS should step down graciously after Mas Selamant was recaptured in Malaysia. No need for explanation, He is the 'CO' of Sp Internal Security, yet someone so dangerous like MS can elope here w/o a trace, hence making a mockery of our security infringement, I cannot think of a better word. If i were him, I will choose to quit and enjoy the retirement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 simply SHAMELESS! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...