Jensonbutton Neutral Newbie January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 I didn't know that. Why they do such a stupid thing, french culture? If I recall correctly (I may be wrong on this though), this is to obtain good (or reasonable) FC for their cars. But the engines are really superb though. It is of no surprise they won numerous engine winning awards. Peugeot got it right with their 6-speed AT gearbox. It is a deadly combination. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 If I recall correctly (I may be wrong on this though), this is to obtain good (or reasonable) FC for their cars. But the engines are really superb though. It is of no surprise they won numerous engine winning awards. Peugeot got it right with their 6-speed AT gearbox. It is a deadly combination. But all other parts of Peugeot are not as good as the engines. Haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jensonbutton Neutral Newbie January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 But all other parts of Peugeot are not as good as the engines. Haha. Not really. They have seriously improved leaps & bounds. I think we are deviating from the TS's topics. You can discuss further in the French cars topic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 But all other parts of Peugeot are not as good as the engines. Haha. maybe that is why they need to detune their engine. if not cannot tahan the power??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jensonbutton Neutral Newbie January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 maybe that is why they need to detune their engine. if not cannot tahan the power??? Tell that to the RCZ, o' wise one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 In term of turbo charged technology, Volvo is superior than VW. However it doesn't mean that it is a better car. For the overall package that is available in our market, VW Passat is definitely better than S60 and S80. Volvo T5 engine (2.0 liter) can squeezed out 240bhp while the equivalentf from VW/Audi/Skoda is only 200bhp. It is the same engine as Ford EcoBoost. As for the question whether 7-DSG is bad, I think it is a step forward in technology. Some teething problem is always there, it more like a "heng-suai" if you happenned to be allocated with a "lemon" car. all i know is, my 7speed DSG is problem free. yes it is jerky at low rpm or speeds, especially during traffic jams. but when i step on it, play with my paddle shifters, hear the boom boom gear changes, i dont mind what little issues it has given me i will not stop buying a vw because of its problematic gearboxes (which i havent experienced). i will stop buying a vw because of its horrendous aftermarket service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 (edited) Bro when you went down harvest to see? Of all the points you stated, only last point correct leh. I just booked one Also Passat has fatique sensor and Superb dun have a. 6 DSG vs 7 DSG (Passat). 7DSG is for the older 1.8T superb, 2.0 is 6 speed DSG, standard for passat 2.0T in germany as 7 speed cannot take the higher torque b. Handbrake vs Parking Brake (Passat). ok confirm my is parking brakes with vertical lock c. Umbrella holder vs none (Passat) - Umbrella holder was the feature in the previous version of Passat. Oh yes still have the passenger door umbrella slot, good to have d. No day light LED vs Day light LED (Passat) Now the new superb is DRL already, LED? e. 3-spoke steering wheel vs 3-spoke steering wheel with insert (Passat) - this one almost equal ya almost same f. Parking sensor only vs Reverse Camera with parking sensor (Passat) you are right on this Not true, you get yesterday year's technology. Skoda is always play 2nd fiddle to VW. So want you get from Skoda is always 1 generation behind VW. Don't believe me? Go and take a look at the latest Superb 2012 at Harvest and then compare it with the Passat 2011 at VW. a. 6 DSG vs 7 DSG (Passat). b. Handbrake vs Parking Brake (Passat). c. Umbrella holder vs none (Passat) - Umbrella holder was the feature in the previous version of Passat. d. No day light LED vs Day light LED (Passat) e. 3-spoke steering wheel vs 3-spoke steering wheel with insert (Passat) - this one almost equal f. Parking sensor only vs Reverse Camera with parking sensor (Passat) Edited January 3, 2012 by Krieger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 Not really. They have seriously improved leaps & bounds. I think we are deviating from the TS's topics. You can discuss further in the French cars topic. I actually meant for Peugeot's design. The new 208 is quite a disappointing looker. Haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 (edited) maybe that is why they need to detune their engine. if not cannot tahan the power??? No. I believe it's got something to do with that they're second priority to BMW and MINI. RCZ has 1.6T 200bhp, but only 6MT. Same for the Citroen DS3R Haha. Edited January 3, 2012 by Proton_neutron Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 But I find french cars very comfortable Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 But I find french cars very comfortable Cos their roads very terok. Haha. It's not bad lah, but compared to the Germans =( I do like the 308 SW =) Decently spacious, rather good looking [except for the rear]. But they've facelifted it, and as a result, it's uglier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jensonbutton Neutral Newbie January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 No. I believe it's got something to do with that they're second priority to BMW and MINI. RCZ has 1.6T 200bhp, but only 6MT. Same for the Citroen DS3R Haha. But the engine is being JOINTLY developed between two manufacturers BMW (MINI) & PSA Peugeot Citroen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 Tell that to the RCZ, o' wise one RCZ are not sold as their B&B model right??? unlike those family car which is much cheaper i presume. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 No. I believe it's got something to do with that they're second priority to BMW and MINI. RCZ has 1.6T 200bhp, but only 6MT. Same for the Citroen DS3R Haha. maybe an agreement between them such that they get a tune down version but have other benefit?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 So far my 7DSG still all right, just now went head to head with M6(not mazda) also can match....lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 (edited) Bro when you went down harvest to see? Of all the points you stated, only last point correct leh. I just booked one Also Passat has fatique sensor and Superb dun have a. 6 DSG vs 7 DSG (Passat). 7DSG is for the older 1.8T superb, 2.0 is 6 speed DSG, standard for passat 2.0T in germany as 7 speed cannot take the higher torque b. Handbrake vs Parking Brake (Passat). ok confirm my is parking brakes with vertical lock c. Umbrella holder vs none (Passat) - Umbrella holder was the feature in the previous version of Passat. Oh yes still have the passenger door umbrella slot, good to have d. No day light LED vs Day light LED (Passat) Now the new superb is DRL already, LED? e. 3-spoke steering wheel vs 3-spoke steering wheel with insert (Passat) - this one almost equal ya almost same f. Parking sensor only vs Reverse Camera with parking sensor (Passat) you are right on this Bro, you booked a Superb, kena conned by the SE, rite? >> True, dry 7-DSG cannot take the torque of 2 liter engine, but the VW also have wet 7-DSG which can take higher torque. It is found in Tiguan. So 6-DSG is old school liao. >> Handbrake is bloody stick (like a sore thumb), how can you cmpare it the "button/lever" parking brake of Passat which will auto dis-engage when the accelerator is pressed? It is a world a part. >> Where do you find the daytime running lights in Superb? I browsed the brochure several times and still can't find it. And I did see it when I was in the showroom. >> Passat's 3-spoke steering wheel has metal insert, while the Superb is plain plastic (looks cheap). The only saving grace for Superb is Bi-Xeon headlights while Passat 1.8 is Halogen. Edited January 3, 2012 by Wizzercool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 How about comparing the XC60 with the Land Rover Evoque?? Different league lah, Evoque should compare with Toureg, and win. XC60 can only stand aside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 But I find french cars very comfortable I tested drove the 508 and I don't find it very comfortable. Handling and suspension is so-so only. Volvo S80 T4 and Ford Mondeo is very comfortable. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...