How problematic is VW's 7 speed DSG?

Kar_lover

For free?

You can also buy extended warranty from outside "insurance"/workshops.

Good to know they extended the warranty to you. My E90 320i was a lemon, and they refused to extend warranty. Eventually I sold the ride. The extended warranty is no different than a outside "insurance". If you get extended coverage for 4th and 5th year, there are limitation clauses to the special extended warranty... and is also covered by PML not BMW Asia. Take a look at it.

There's no car brand that reveal such intricate details of their QA processes. If you can find another brand that provides such info, do share... maybe if you are buying a Rolls Royce, or a Lamborghini.. but for a regular car I have personally not seen. At least not by walking into showrooms.

For some it is free when they bought the car, for me I have an option to extend which I need to pay for.

But you specifically asked if BMW (or PML) does offer 5 years and the answers is yes.

PML is BMW representative in singapore they are legally obliged to meet out the conditions of the warranty they offer which covers gearbox and engine within the 4th and 5th year.

Edited by Mercury1

For some it is free when they bought the car, for me I have an option to extend which I need to pay for.

But you specifically asked if BMW (or PML) does offer 5 years and the answers is yes.

PML is BMW representative in singapore they are legally obliged to meet out the conditions of the warranty they offer which covers gearbox and engine within the 4th and 5th year.

So does "outside warranty" provided by workshops cover "engine and transmission".

Have you read about the case of the 5 series in workshop for 10 months?

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/driver-sues-performance-motors-over-alleged-defects-in-bmw-5-series

Edited by Detach8

So does "outside warranty" provided by workshops cover "engine and transmission".

Have you read about the case of the 5 series in workshop for 10 months?

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/driver-sues-performance-motors-over-alleged-defects-in-bmw-5-series

You're kidding right this was the plainest case of an idiot who bought a wrong car he knew nothing about and try to get out of it. The judge test drove the car himself and came to a verdict that he was a whiner.

http://m.todayonline.com/singapore/judge-dismisses-buyers-claim-lawsuit-against-performance-motors

For free?

Good to know they extended the warranty to you. My E90 320i was a lemon, and they refused to extend warranty. Eventually I sold the ride. The extended warranty is no different than a outside "insurance". If you get extended coverage for 4th and 5th year, there are limitation clauses to the special extended warranty... and is also covered by PML not BMW Asia. Take a look at it.

âAnyway my daily driver is still a BMW, but it is P.I. I am not keen on warranty, because... after going through a few episodes, I know the warranty is only as good as the shop that fixes it. (Same goes for any other brand.)

There's no car brand that reveal such intricate details of their QA processes. If you can find another brand that provides such info, do share... maybe if you are buying a Rolls Royce, or a Lamborghini.. but for a regular car I have personally not seen. At least not by walking into showrooms.

My dear friend. Christmas is already over and you still don't get it huh? Anyway, happy new year 2017!

For free?

âAnyway my daily driver is still a BMW, but it is P.I. I am not keen on warranty, because... after going through a few episodes, I know the warranty is only as good as the shop that fixes it. (Same goes for any other brand.)

The 4.5 year old E90 I bought from ppsl came with 1 warranty. Within the 1 year, I had no problem claiming valvetronic, gasket leakage, broken aircon vents of dashboard etc. No need to bang table. No questions asked. I don't even care if it is from pml or BMW asia. This episode gives me the confidence to go in for a F30 with 5 years warranty. And yes, warranty covers engine and gearbox. These are just all that I asked for in a warranty.

I am not from the Technical side but have worked long enough with the experts to learn things like Planned obsolescene for some of the industries. It was an eye opener for me. Maybe bro Fels can educate me if this happens in present car industry. ; )

I have much to learn too.

Once you stay in the technical side long enough and you will start learning more. You should get rid of your current car and get a Mercedes Benz.

You work for or a supplier to Daimler ah?

I think BMW rep in Singapore is BMW Asia, which is the importer of BMW, RR & Mini.

You're kidding right this was the plainest case of an idiot who bought a wrong car he knew nothing about and try to get out of it. The judge test drove the car himself and came to a verdict that he was a whiner.

http://m.todayonline.com/singapore/judge-dismisses-buyers-claim-lawsuit-against-performance-motors

That said, I read the judgment and it seems that BMW cars have a lot of problems, and I'm not talking about the ones he was whining about. There were quite a few actual problems that were fixed too, and they were happening within the first year of ownership.

http://www.singaporelaw.sg/sglaw/laws-of-singapore/case-law/free-law/high-court-judgments/15920-chan-chee-kien-v-performance-motors-ltd-2015-sghc-54

Eg: faulty air intake system, cooling system leak, alignment

That said, I read the judgment and it seems that BMW cars have a lot of problems, and I'm not talking about the ones he was whining about. There were quite a few actual problems that were fixed too, and they were happening within the first year of ownership.

http://www.singaporelaw.sg/sglaw/laws-of-singapore/case-law/free-law/high-court-judgments/15920-chan-chee-kien-v-performance-motors-ltd-2015-sghc-54

Valvetronic BMW engines prone to mis-timed top-dead-centre of affected piston(s), hydraulic/steering fluid leaks, aircond refrigerant leaks and for the F30/10 models onward - wind noise Edited by merc280v6

It's normal.. my e92m3 has been in Munich auto for 8 months this year. I haven't even factor in the time spent for previous years. No doubt everything was claimed under my 5 year warranty. But I learned how BMW asia functions and they r the final approver for warranty claims.. conclusion: with such a system, I would never touch another normal BMW or M Series. They r the reason why my car has been in workshop for so long this year.

Eh? That's how the world works for all RMA. Every single car brand does the same thing. Maybe some distributors have slightly better leeway with cheaper parts.

Maybe I didn't elaborate and it's difficult to elaborate too.: I have owned Audi merc and BMW: and even their own staff admits; BMW asia is the worst company ever:: it's the most troublesome in terms of warranty claims. Customers usually don't get to see what happens.. unless in my scenario.. car spends lengthy period inside workshop. Part of it is diagnostics and troublesome, the other portion is things get delayed because dealership tabling up claims but there is dispute on what's claimable or not.:

Reading thru as well to be frank none of them seem like major issues

- Air intake faulty - faulty or hissing? maybe it was defective.

- Cooling system leak - replaced the lid, sounds more like it wasn't caped well

- Alignment - Hard to say he could have hit a curb.

BMW's are not perfect but my reply to @detach8 is just to correct him that BMW does come with 5 year warranty (he was mentioned it to challenge a post where another user said VW would not give 5 year warranty's).

Not sure how it then came to be all this about BMW trustworthiness of honoring the warranty and this laughable case.

Personally I will not have a VW with this DSG gearbox mentioned in this thread, and so far I have not seen anyone able to refute @Fels post at a technical level to convince me otherwise. 

Other than VW & BorgWarner, is there any other dry clutch DSG?

Why only VW & BorgWarner is the only one using it?

No need to answer me.  2 points to ponder.

Other than VW & BorgWarner, is there any other dry clutch DSG?

Why only VW & BorgWarner is the only one using it?

No need to answer me.  2 points to ponder.

Alfa Romeo also uses the dry clutch TCT in its 1.4t Giulietta.

iirc the dry clutch is for lower torque applications, is lighter and thus can give better FC. 

Alfa Romeo also uses the dry clutch TCT in its 1.4t Giulietta.

iirc the dry clutch is for lower torque applications, is lighter and thus can give better FC.

Bro, he said mai reply liao.. I believe it's commercial interest since having spent so much in r&d n manufacturing..

That said, Mitsubishi Honda Hyundai Kia Renault Mercedes oso use dct for all or some of their cars..