ALL consolidated SMRT/NEL/KT.. simisai BREAKDOWNS here!

New_Atlantis

You must understand...

No mistake has been made here, the people involved are actually being modest and don't want all the praise.

They were super vigilant to have spotted these very minor defects that don't affect safety or reliability, and then it is down to their negotiating skills that the China company is willing to repair the items totally free - even including all of the logistics and shipping costs which will be reimbursed to LTA.

The person that is managing this is likely in line to receive congratulations and recognition from Parliament because of their outstanding skill and dedication

1-1 exchange if the product is faulty and can cause death, I have heard of.

1-1 exchange when the defect is supposedly minor, doesn't affect safety or performance, that's a first.

yalor no wonder lt8 keep buying from them despite all the "minor defects" HAHAHA

Edited by Duckduck

HK MTR not going to experience the same shit we are facing.  HK media will blow any of this shit out of proportion.  HK MTR will shrink ball..

Haha...IMO too late. They have already placed order.

Must be they dont want to buy China trains, thats why dig out all the problems

I think they are like smrt have been buying from the same train maker from the start.

Haha...IMO too late. They have already placed order.

I think they are like smrt have been buying from the same train maker from the start.

1-1 exchange for minor issues who dun want! :D

See, without the whistle blower, everything will be calm and dandy.

LTA won't need to cum clean.

Now, you make them work.

Must be they dont want to buy China trains, thats why dig out all the problems

So SMRT is collateral damage, in HKer's domestic agenda ,to point out the proven to b of dodgy quality trains ,produced by the manufacturer?

i can. buy the most expensive! Must be best!

meanwhile....

lui-tuck-yew-actions-01.gif

See see look look...oh many many defect

p1hwr.gif

Faster zao... *arm chio*

I now think that this fella.. same as Saw.

May have committed Hara kiri to protect others.

Or should I say. . You cover me I cover you.

Everyone get medals.. tax payers get the shaft.

Retire laughing to the bank.

As a layman, LTA reply provide more puzzle than answer. First of all, how can be that hairlines cracks on the bolster is not a safety issue, since the whole train is sitting on it? If the bolster give way when it is in operation, the whole train can be derailed?!

rsalg4.png

And if it is that straight forward, why can't we have the defective bolster replaced in Singapore say at Bishan or other depot that perform regular servicing, maintenance and repair? These depot will sure have the necessary lifting equipment to hoist up the train, and the new bolster can be installed in the similar manner as replacement of the steel wheels, why need to spend extra time and $$$ to have the train sent back to China??

And this is the most puzzling part:

Due to the nature of the defect, the most effective way of addressing it is to replace the entire car-body shell. As the trains were under warranty, we required the contractor to replace the entire car body shell. Hence, since July 2014, the affected trains have been progressively sent back to the factory for rectification works. The costs of the shipping are borne by the contractor.

i) Why need to replace the entire car-body shell instead of just the bolster?

ii) Why no annoucement of the repair / replacement work (since 2014) till 2 days ago when it was made public by some external parties?

iii) Shipping cost borned by the contractor? What about the downtime, labour cost, and not to mention the additonal monthly inspection and 3rd party assessment??

Edited by Carbon82

first time i ever heard of a PRC coy which will do a 1-1 exchange for a product sold.

if only all coys were like this. :D

My online purchases from China can 1-1 exchange or 100% refund.

Did LTA/SMRT buy from Taobao also?

See, without the whistle blower, everything will be calm and dandy.

LTA won't need to cum clean.

Now, you make them work.

Yeah Lor... Why expose not by our opposition... They also sleeping..

Our oppo cannot. As pointed out earlier, the exposure was after an illegal operation was conducted.

Despite multiple breakdowns and investigations and the problems starting FOUR YEARS ago has there been any announcements of this locally at all?

When new trains come is announced big big.

I'd say there is definitive proof that there has been a "cover up"

Three questions need to be asked before jumping  the gun:

a) Are you lumping last 4 years of "multiple breakdowns" under the hair-line found in the C151A model?

b) If there is indeed a cover-up based on this HK report alone, what benefit will it bring to major stakeholders of MRT system ?

c) Are you suggesting that here is extensive collusion between supplies and official in LTA/SMRT and related gov boards?

BTW, the hairline crack was discovered in 2013, that is less than 4 years ago based on your source and definitely not discovered since it began operating in 2011.

Edited by Wishcumstrue

HDB minor issues can exchance arnot? Gahmen teach one

HDB is superficial defect not structural defect so you go to the corner and sit down and suck thumb. 

SOOoo... MRT train defect is superficial or structural? [laugh]

Edited by Mason016

"Rise in train defects but MRT gets more reliable". [thumbsup][laugh]

Til now we still do not know whether the defective trains are the cause of the major and minor breakdowns.