IPhone 5

Fcw75

Ya, from a commercial perspective, it is better for apple to have their own map app. Not just to avoid paying money to google (apple would have to incur additional cost themselves to create and maintain their own map) but also so that they can make it in their own style - having their own interpretation of how map and to avoid dependency on others (especially potential competitiors) who may one day hold them to ransom.

please lah, they renew license mean they have to pay.

if they are really out to ditch youtube, then they will not even allow the youtube apps inside their appstore.

its all commercial decision.

Removing youtube app from app store will create an end user revolt, I don't think they dare to do it.

You are obviously not a business person. Apple is battling their competitors at all fronts, they also know they can't stop google they can only go for containment.

Sue Samsung was the first step to slow down the sales of Android devices (aiming at google). Next remove youtube and maps from iOS is the 2nd step. Next one is to replace google search.

Lastly, Steve Jobs in his own words...

Jobs declares what is essentially a manifesto of war against Google and Android. His dying words to Apple

Edited by Alim

Apple is battling their competitors at all fronts, they also know they can't stop google they can only go for containment.

Is battling their competitors at all front a wrong thing?

Who wouldn't if they are a business?

Removing youtube app from app store will create an end user revolt, I don't think they dare to do it.

You are obviously not a business person. Apple is battling their competitors at all fronts, they also know they can't stop google they can only go for containment.

Sue Samsung was the first step to slow down the sales of Android devices (aiming at google). Next remove youtube and maps from iOS is the 2nd step. Next one is to replace google search.

Jobs declares what is essentially a manifesto of war against Google and Android. His dying words to Apple

so you think they should pay youtube for the license now that they are competitor?

look like you arent much a business person either. [:p]

FYI...Google pay US$1 billion to Apple to be the top spot search engine in Apple products. So Google must be stupid?

Anyway, analyst are predicting that removing youtube and maps will be a blessing in disguise for google.

They can insert ads in these apps hence generating revenue and probably top itune as the most downloaded apps in the apps store.

Edited by Alim

Is battling their competitors at all front a wrong thing?

Who wouldn't if they are a business?

Erm, i don't see any other business waging this type of war. Normal businesses compete on price, quality, innovation, design, etc. Apple has a great product but they are scoring own goals all the time. One if by being inflexible. I am not just refering to their exclusive iOS but also their one-model line up. There are no other models to reach different market segments. Conversely some of the android makers have too many models. The other problem is, what i mentioned before, their (deliberately?) slow product development (eg. small-ish screen, no widgets, etc).

I prefer:

1)Fast in surfing net;

2)Best camera & video phone;

3)Long battery life/Standby time.

Which group does the above criteria belong to?

We can argue iphone5 or S3 is better until cow come home but 1 fact which nobody can deny is iphone have better resale value than all phones.

I will be getting an iphone5 tomorrow. Play with it for a mth or 2, and then sell it/trade in to get a Lumia 920 if I doesn't get use to it. Whose know, still can earn some cash out from it [laugh]

sekali when you gonna sell off in 2 / 3 months time, iphone5S come out!!! Then your iphone5 buay tak lui liao..... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Erm, i don't see any other business waging this type of war. Normal businesses compete on price, quality, innovation, design, etc. Apple has a great product but they are scoring own goals all the time. One if by being inflexible. I am not just refering to their exclusive iOS but also their one-model line up. There are no other models to reach different market segments. Conversely some of the android makers have too many models. The other problem is, what i mentioned before, their (deliberately?) slow product development (eg. small-ish screen, no widgets, etc).

Every business has their own strategy and philosophy. And that is derive from their own goals after considering their own SWOT analysis. There are challenges that as consumer, we will never know.

But who are we to say they are not doing the right thing when their P&L numbers have been growing strong every quarter? Obviously whatever their strategy is, it is clear that those strategy is working for them. While they can't make every consumer happy, and I don't think they aim for that anyway, they are certainly making every shareholder very happy.

Every business has their own strategy and philosophy. And that is derive from their own goals after considering their own SWOT analysis. There are challenges that as consumer, we will never know.

But who are we to say they are not doing the right thing when their P&L numbers have been growing strong every quarter? Obviously whatever their strategy is, it is clear that those strategy is working for them. While they can't make every consumer happy, and I don't think they aim for that anyway, they are certainly making every shareholder very happy.

Erm. Spend every penny of Apple

Its true that they are doing well. No doubt without iphone, we would not have the other Ones, galaxies, xperias and what not. But it is also undeniable that they are also losing ground to the andriods. And i believe it is at least partly due to those things some of us have mentioned. Its quite a shame when they could be so much more - but choose not to.

Ya I tink so too which is why I didn't buy the Note though it was quite well received. Anyway I will wait for Note 2 to come out and see how. They changed the aspect ratio to be a bit narrower and a bit longer. Might make it a bit easier to hold.

what i observe so far is most of the people will use two hands, two thumbs to do the sms not matter how small the screen is. for one hand, it is more on the T9 keyboard layout.

Apple is slowly losing the plot, dishing out crappy map, remove youtube and proprietary lighting cable connector (why can't they use micro usb?).

In short, it is like telling Apple users,"Do it my way (Apple way) or get out (Out of Google) of my way." :angry:

I see it as pure arrogance. For now, bye bye iphone 5. Welcome $$$ in my pocket. [:p]

ok what. the apple fans boy will follow no matter what. and if too many fans boys blindly follow, it becomes trend. now it is the time for Apple to do it, once it started to lose to others in this martket, their influence will reduce and they cannot anyhow change the way they want. thats why nowadays Apple have to sue whatever that threaten their position. of course, they are prepared for any backfire, like China companies, samsung, motorola, even swiss company also got "inspired" by them and started to find way to sue Apple in order to get some milk. Cause Apple is a golden goose now.

Ya, from a commercial perspective, it is better for apple to have their own map app. Not just to avoid paying money to google (apple would have to incur additional cost themselves to create and maintain their own map) but also so that they can make it in their own style - having their own interpretation of how map and to avoid dependency on others (especially potential competitiors) who may one day hold them to ransom.

actually, almost all the things Apple has is other's properties. Once they went for the patent war, they will have a lot of ppl going to hold them on the patent things and so they have to play very safe to get things right. even their map you think they develop one? i think now with so many problems they are seriously thinking to develop something for themselves. which i am not in detail to read out all the report (no time).

I am basically a iPhone 3G then to iPhone 4 now considering Samsung Note 2 that is out next month.. Went Singtel to test the iPhone 5 touch & feel it.. So far personal feel that is really light and thin.. Design wise no wow factor.. Of course is faster..

I have nv use android phone before hopefully after switching to it I will get use to it.. I still think iPhone is easier to use compare to android haha.. Now still got time thinking iPhone 5 or Note 2.. Because I be re-contract 3 phones at 1 go.. So now still got time to think..

I was iphone user, holding a Iphone 4 (free from my co) but decided to buy a android (galaxy note) so I can watch my programs clearly.. bigger mah.

Kinda regret, bear in mind, the transition from Iphone to Galaxy is not smooth.

The migration of numbers, is a little troublesome, use google.. but I manage to fix this but not after going through some help at Android forums.

Also, a few paid for apps on my android, did not work, despite many complains, my note also always jams up suddenly.

Quite fustrating. But I still like the big Note screen for surfing, and watching TV programs.

Iphone works faster, loading apps and generally no issue with the apps, does not force shut down on me like Note. So think carefully before transit to Android. You need to be prepared with a lot of teething problems in the 1st mth or so..

Also want to add, I can use 1 palm/hand to operate my iphone. Sms, call, use app.. using just 1 palm.

For Galaxy note, SIII, I cannot. Not only becos of size, but also bcos the functions are configured. more steps to get to end result.

Example, a number on a website. On iphone, i just 1 click, I can call the number.

On the note, the 1 click does not work, and you may have to copy and paste, which sucks as the copy paste function is not sensitive, it may not pick up the full number. So end up you need to use 2 hands to operate..

This is also one of the reasons I feel Android need some help catching up. Not so user frenly.. or user intuitive.

also hor.. Iphone batt life beats Note batt hands down. I mean even in idle mode.

Note battery seldom last a full day.

Iphone batt can last me over 3 to 4 days, both sets at idle mode.

what i observe so far is most of the people will use two hands, two thumbs to do the sms not matter how small the screen is. for one hand, it is more on the T9 keyboard layout.

Ya, i still prefer using T9 keypad until now.