Usage of disabled/handicapped parking space/lot

Bloodymiko

I never realized there are 2 types of handicapped lots. If only i'd paid attention to this thread previously.

For years I'd been bringing my grandma to see the doctor, and sometimes just bringing her out. I remembered first time was not long after i got my license, prob ~26 yr ago, driving my uncle's car. Since I had my own car(s) ~17 yr ago, that routine had increased - also as she aged. On many occasions I had to park at the carpark, go up to the flat, bring her (she's been on a wheelchair prob for the last ~15 yr) and her maid down to the car and repeat the routine when bringing her back.

Always had to park at normal lots, as I didn't want to park at handicapped lot. On prob 2 occasions I parked at a 'no parking' lot as it was late at night.

It was always difficult trying to manourvere the wheelchair in betw my car and the next one, to get her as near the door as possible so that she didn't have to walk too many steps (with assistance).

While I have many uncles/aunties and cousins, I dare say i should have been deserving of one of the 3 'class 2' labels mentioned here. 

Too bad...

think this will be effective also [laugh]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TNtkzRQUTKM

Possible...but ?illegal.

Perhaps a driver who deserved the lot should just park very near to the handicap lot and at the same time try to position his/her car so that the culprit car unable to move out.

- A good lesson for these inconsiderate drivers.

Tempted to do similar too for those non hybrid cars who park at hybrid lots...hehe.

Very unfortunately the handicap lot is begin 'miss-used' badly. I have seen people with handicap logo but really he isn't any handicap at all but does walk with a limp. There were also occasions where the whole car park is full and people with emergency couldn't park while there are plenty of empty handicap lots around.

Like in TS case, his parent could be handicap but they are not the driver. Does that mean they are not entitled because they don't owned the car?

There should be more social awareness and people must have more empathy for others. If you are an able bodied person, why would you want to fight over a car park lot with someone that needs it more? This is the same situation with our priority seats in public transport. Sitting down for an hour ride seem to be so important to many able bodied person. Sometimes, I can see people rushing for the seat and he leave about 2 stations! 

Very unfortunately the handicap lot is begin 'miss-used' badly. I have seen people with handicap logo but really he isn't any handicap at all but does walk with a limp. There were also occasions where the whole car park is full and people with emergency couldn't park while there are plenty of empty handicap lots around.

Like in TS case, his parent could be handicap but they are not the driver. Does that mean they are not entitled because they don't owned the car?

There should be more social awareness and people must have more empathy for others. If you are an able bodied person, why would you want to fight over a car park lot with someone that needs it more? This is the same situation with our priority seats in public transport. Sitting down for an hour ride seem to be so important to many able bodied person. Sometimes, I can see people rushing for the seat and he leave about 2 stations! 

On Friday the 13th. of Nov. at 1:30pm, I caught this idiot at Woodlands Drive 50, Blk 888A multi storey carpark and given him a memorable lesson for his selfish attitude parking in between 2 Handicap Carpark lots.

post-62943-0-82142500-1448442149_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-58384300-1448442166_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-38894000-1448442180_thumb.jpg

wow this car park block number very huat sia

u like to bring your car there before heading to buy 4D?

Edited by Wyfitms

wow this car park block number very huat sia

u like to bring your car there before heading to buy 4D?

You are a good fortune teller in disguise, I strike first price at that 888 Plaza Sg.pool outlet and few times in special, die die must drive there to bet   [:)]

haha, i can always sense if someone is a lucky man

The special lot is meant (in a gracious society) to reduce inconveniences during boarding and disembarking of special persons.

It is meant to be used in good sense.

This concept is foreign to some of us as they assessed that since no one is using it at the moment, why not them? As well as those of us so cultured to be rule obeying that we believe that it is a absolute no no to use it.

We adapted this disabled lot from other societies who happen to be matured in their thinking, their culture is not our culture, unfortunately this good bit of culture still needs time to transplant in.

Arguing or to be upset about it is silly. Just be glad that effort was made to create this disabled lot, we cannot expect or demand good sense from everyone.

Just now, a volunteer group drop off a wheelchair elderly and his elderly wife at a car park entrance from a Main road.

1. Raining heavily, shelter just over head.

2. Cars lining up behind, the volunteer vehicle (from a reputable organization) took a while to let the couple off.

3. Here is the kicker, there are other locations available to let them off under shelter not too far away. Really like 20 meters maybe.

I thought it was silly of the volunteer group van driver to drop the elderly couple off there, especially transfer from van to wheelchair took some time and no stopping within fifteen meters of a junction ya?

What to do? If the van driver was able to think, he might not take up the job with the volunteer group.

Seeing the sorry state of the elderly couple, sigh, at least got a van driver to ferry them around.

So with disabled lots, some of us are disabled in the head, so no angry lah.

911 turbo or otherwise.

Heh heh heh.

My mil now needs to use a wheel chair instead of walking for any distance over 100m.

Can I just use the blue disabled parking space without showing a disabled disc or something.

How do people know if I use the disabled parking space legally or illegally?

It's illegal to park there without either a blue or orange label, you can be fined if someone reports you

You can apply the label, there is a form that needs to be filled and certify by doctor. It's difficult to get the label if not disabled and label needs to reapply after 2 years, processing time is quite long around 3 weeks.

Type 1 is for disabled driver (blue label) and type 2 is for driver (orange label) who needs to ferry the disabled around and can only park in the lot for one hour

To be honest, i get really irritated with people who illegally parked in these lots, it is a total disregard for others who needs to use it because these lots are so limited

These lots are meant for folks who really needs it, they need the space to move the wheelchair around

For your case, please apply for the label since there is a genuine need to avoid any misunderstanding from other users

All the best

Cab leaves no room for wheelchair user
After three futile attempts to contact the cabby, the taxi was wheel-clamped. The driver appeared at 5pm to pay a $100 fine.PHOTO: COURTESY OF CAI ZHENQUAN
PUBLISHED
3 HOURS AGO
Taxi parked in space reserved for the disabled blocks man from getting into car

A taxi driver broke the rules and parked his taxi between two parking spaces for the disabled at a mall over the weekend in an incident that has left a wheelchair user fuming and highlighted the abuse of such parking spaces here.

Mr Cai Zhenquan, who has Becker's muscular dystrophy, had just had lunch and finished shopping with his parents at the IMM shopping mall on Saturday afternoon when they found a taxi parked next to their car in the mall's carpark.

The ComfortDelGro cab driver had squeezed his car between their car and another car in two parking spaces reserved for people with disabilities, leaving no space for Mr Cai, 32, who uses a wheelchair, to get into the front seat of their car.

Mr Cai, a software engineer, said in a complaint letter to ComfortDelGro that this caused "quite a bit of delay", and he was in a rush to get home to use a cough assist machine. He needs to use this as he finds it hard to cough out phlegm due to his medical condition. He added that he needs to sit in an inclined position in the front passenger seat because of his condition.

PUBLIC APOLOGY CALLED FOR

The monetary value is insignificant compared with the driver's disrespect for persons with disabilities... The driver should acknowledge that he knows the purpose of handicap lots and apologise in the papers in his personal capacity.''

MR CAI ZHENQUAN, who suffers from Becker's muscular dystrophy, on the $100 fine the cabby paid to release his vehicle from the wheel clamp

Mr Cai said they were unable to find IMM security officers to help them, and his father had to drive the car out of the parking space and pull over somewhere for him to get on board in the "middle of traffic".

ComfortDelGro's group corporate communications officer, Ms Tammy Tan, said: "Our cabbies are fully aware that they are not allowed to park in handicap lots.

"Our cabby has been severely warned for doing so. We have also apologised to Mr Cai for the inconvenience caused," she said.

ComfortDelGro did not identify the cabby involved.

Yesterday, Mr Cai wrote back to ComfortDelGro saying he was "definitely not satisfied with this 'official apology'".

"I hope you do understand that there is a deeper issue of your cabby infringing the rights of persons with disabilities," he added.

IMM Building's general manager, Mr Chew Hock Chye, said a shopper alerted staff to the incident at about 3.40pm that afternoon, and they tried to page for the driver.

After three unsuccessful attempts, they wheel-clamped the cab. The driver appeared at around 5pm to pay a $100 fine.

Mr Chew said: "We empathise with Mr Cai's encounter... Our security guards patrol our carpark regularly and we will not hesitate to clamp illegally-parked vehicles."

Mr Cai told The Straits Times over e-mail: "The monetary value (of the fine) is insignificant compared with the driver's disrespect for persons with disabilities. The cabby should acknowledge that he knows the purpose of handicap lots and apologise in the papers in his personal capacity," he added.

Disabled People's Association president Nicholas Aw said incidents of motorists abusing parking spaces for people with disabilities are "very prevalent", especially in crowded places such as malls and hotels. "There should be legislation in place to provide for stricter enforcement action to deter people. Fines don't really help. Perhaps demerit points will," he said.

Taxi lao  deserves it.

But the handicapped person is making a big hoo haa too.....

yes, and you can see the 'entitlement mentality' that he reeks of.  Too much if you ask me

Like this, ppl will say he deserved it with such a QL attitude

And Comfort Delgo did nothing but just a warning to the Driver .... WTF.

Where is the social responsibilities and the respect/compassion for the less fortunate ?

IMM also CMI, they should have call for Tow Truck and the taxi away. The management probably would say ,,,, they already done their job to wheel clamped.

It may not be within the building mgmt bylaws to tow away illegally parked vehicles. In any case, asking for public apology in newspapers is just making a mountain out of a mole hill...

And Comfort Delgo did nothing but just a warning to the Driver .... WTF.

Where is the social responsibilities and the respect/compassion for the less fortunate ?

IMM also CMI, they should have call for Tow Truck and the taxi away. The management probably would say ,,,, they already done their job to wheel clamped.

lots of news abt teksie these few days hor @spring

you better drive carefully :grin:  :grin:

lots of news abt teksie these few days hor spring

you better drive carefully :grin:  :grin:

I premium Taxi don't anyhow park one, have image to uphold [laugh]  [:p]

• Praise 11