Soya Supersonic January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 7:53 AM, RadX said: Why am I not surprised. All are stubborn old boomers … and with bad attitudes to add on to https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/private-hire-drivers-ev-electric-vehicle-cars-grab-gojek-5883846?cid=FBcna&fbclid=IwZnRzaAPk3aFleHRuA2FlbQIxMQBzcnRjBmFwcF9pZAo2NjI4NTY4Mzc5AAEepwM8c6KNqcXpEsx088su50YVPZbIPqQWLz9jfbda-vwOs8WBtWWuRe3rNCY_aem_PLrjs2lQrknQhMCn-KOTVQ Better they keep it that way la otherwise tens of thousand of teksi unkers will be hogging public EV chargers everywhere ↡ Advertisement 2 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 7:53 AM, RadX said: Why am I not surprised. All are stubborn old boomers … and with bad attitudes to add on to https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/private-hire-drivers-ev-electric-vehicle-cars-grab-gojek-5883846?cid=FBcna&fbclid=IwZnRzaAPk3aFleHRuA2FlbQIxMQBzcnRjBmFwcF9pZAo2NjI4NTY4Mzc5AAEepwM8c6KNqcXpEsx088su50YVPZbIPqQWLz9jfbda-vwOs8WBtWWuRe3rNCY_aem_PLrjs2lQrknQhMCn-KOTVQ No, I can fully understand their concern. The savings from EV are not that significant when you compare to a hybrid like a Sienta which can do up to 25km a litre. When you are driving a PHV, your car needs to be accessible at any time for a long drive. Its not impossible for an EV but definitely not as convenient and assured as a petrol. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 10:06 AM, Soya said: Better they keep it that way la otherwise tens of thousand of teksi unkers will be hogging public EV chargers everywhere Stride taxi usually do that during lunch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 27 Share January 27 Alternatively since they spend so much time driving, they shld drive something quieter and more pleasant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 7:53 AM, RadX said: Why am I not surprised. All are stubborn old boomers … and with bad attitudes to add on to https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/private-hire-drivers-ev-electric-vehicle-cars-grab-gojek-5883846?cid=FBcna&fbclid=IwZnRzaAPk3aFleHRuA2FlbQIxMQBzcnRjBmFwcF9pZAo2NjI4NTY4Mzc5AAEepwM8c6KNqcXpEsx088su50YVPZbIPqQWLz9jfbda-vwOs8WBtWWuRe3rNCY_aem_PLrjs2lQrknQhMCn-KOTVQ I hope it stays that way, otherwise EV owners going to have a hard time fighting for chargers with them. 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 27 Share January 27 (edited) On 1/27/2026 at 10:36 AM, inlinesix said: Stride taxi usually do that during lunch. Yah, but most taxi/PHV drivers don't have lunch at the same place everyday, and not every eating place has chargers. Even have, if 4 taxi/PHV goes to the same place with 2 chargers for lunch at the same time, who can wait? Sometimes on paper it is simple, and looking from one side is also easy, but putting it into practice is more complex than you think it is. Edited January 27 by Tianmo 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged January 27 Share January 27 (edited) On 1/27/2026 at 10:47 AM, Tianmo said: Yah, but most taxi/PHV drivers don't have lunch at the same place everyday, and not every eating place has chargers. Even have, if 4 taxi/PHV goes to the same place with 2 chargers for lunch at the same time, who can wait? Sometimes on paper it is simple, and looking from one side is also easy, but putting it into practice is more complex than you think it is. Yes, pls no PHV EVs, they do 10x more mileage than average car, means 10k PHV EV needs the charging time of 100k private cars. Pls no no no. At least not until I get my landed property then I no need bother myself with the plight of hoi polloi EV drivers. Somemore hor, you mate the average Riverdance PHV accelerator-man with EV instant torque/OPD, many people will puke. Edited January 27 by Ake109 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 11:11 AM, Ake109 said: Yes, pls no PHV EVs, they do 10x more mileage than average car, means 10k PHV EV needs the charging time of 100k private cars. Pls no no no. At least not until I get my landed property then I no need bother myself with the plight of hoi polloi EV drivers. Somemore hor, you mate the average Riverdance PHV accelerator-man with EV instant torque/OPD, many people will puke. LOL Riverdance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 27 Share January 27 Sat in a Prius teksi recently. Teksi unker doing their famous stupiak pedal on-pedal off driving. Felt blardy queasy after the ride Can't imagine if they switch over to EV one-pedal drive. Comfort teksi will famously smell of puke....lol 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 10:37 AM, Soya said: Alternatively since they spend so much time driving, they shld drive something quieter and more pleasant They prefer the Toyota Crown taxi 🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 1:09 PM, Tohto said: They prefer the Toyota Crown taxi 🤣 So that when they break wind, ppl cannot hear 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 8:26 AM, RadX said: And we ask why got more extreme kind of accidents in sg Make SGH Blk 9 busier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 1:09 PM, Tohto said: They prefer the Toyota Crown taxi 🤣 Dun say ah. Toyota Clown teksi sibei spacious w huge boot that can swallow 3 large 28' luggages + cabin bags. Blardy prius put 1 big luggage and 1 cabin full liao. Somemore some teksi unker put smlj pail la, box la, hang towels la, lagi cannot fit 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 10:06 AM, Soya said: Better they keep it that way la otherwise tens of thousand of teksi unkers will be hogging public EV chargers everywhere Ya, those teksi lao better stick to their ICE car, if not EV chargers sure hog by them daily. My MSCP here got one EV teksi, everyday see it charging. Lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 2:02 PM, 13177 said: Ya, those teksi lao better stick to their ICE car, if not EV chargers sure hog by them daily. My MSCP here got one EV teksi, everyday see it charging. Lol. Eh why your post no question one? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
parkson 1st Gear January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 12:36 PM, Soya said: Sat in a Prius teksi recently. Teksi unker doing their famous stupiak pedal on-pedal off driving. Felt blardy queasy after the ride Can't imagine if they switch over to EV one-pedal drive. Comfort teksi will famously smell of puke....lol Lol good point, imagine sitting in an EV where the uncle keeps accelerating and braking. Sure puke till no end 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 10:16 AM, Ake109 said: No, I can fully understand their concern. The savings from EV are not that significant when you compare to a hybrid like a Sienta which can do up to 25km a litre. When you are driving a PHV, your car needs to be accessible at any time for a long drive. Its not impossible for an EV but definitely not as convenient and assured as a petrol. agreed, taxi lao and PHV drivers are penny pinches. if can save 10cents they will. Hence the economics are not worth it for them to switch. Most pay rental, hence the rental for EVs must not be decent enough to reap benefits. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged January 27 Share January 27 On 1/27/2026 at 2:54 PM, Mkl22 said: agreed, taxi lao and PHV drivers are penny pinches. if can save 10cents they will. Hence the economics are not worth it for them to switch. Most pay rental, hence the rental for EVs must not be decent enough to reap benefits. EV cannot drive to Malaysia and hump car. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...