Pulau Ubin

Seaweed

On 9/6/2025 at 10:02 PM, Atonchia said:

When I was 30yr old, change NRIC, I took out my Hanyu Pinyin name....

Or else look quite cluttered on the card.

My FIL is nantah graduate. From birth, they are all named by hanyu pinyin. 

On 9/6/2025 at 11:35 PM, Ysc3 said:

@13177 i only changed once when i was 23 ... from the laminated one to the plastic card. now waiting for 55.

If you have changed your IC near to 30, then at 30 no need to change liao. If you never change your IC at all since first time got your IC, then 30 need to change.

Edited by 13177

On 9/7/2025 at 9:23 AM, mersaylee said:

How young is he? 🤔

he's 76 this year. realised my post might be confusing, I meant my wife and siblings had hanyu pinyin names. 

I think those born in the 80s, some of them might have already fully transited to hanyu pinyin names. Some parents more progressive already back then and understood that dialect names were confusing in english. 

On 9/6/2025 at 5:23 PM, Tohto said:

I thought this is quite standard practice. If it did not meet min occupancy,  others need to top up the balance. Not something new. 

That's why don't wait till last mins than want to leave the island.

Back... wayyyy back... when I was a student,  used to go fishing there with friends. Even back then,  it was the same,  if you are in a hurry or too late in the day, you pay whole boat if you want boatman to fetchh you immediately. 

On 9/7/2025 at 9:49 AM, Lala81 said:

he's 76 this year. realised my post might be confusing, I meant my wife and siblings had hanyu pinyin names. 

I think those born in the 80s, some of them might have already fully transited to hanyu pinyin names. Some parents more progressive already back then and understood that dialect names were confusing in english. 

Iirc Schools started insisting on hanyu pinying names in the early 80s, even if you born much earlier. Something I found stupid, my parents gave me my name so WTF is anyone to punish me for using it???

Why must ditch my real name for some stupid phonetic aid.

I remember it later got complained why even school certificates being given in hanyu pinying names when its not in children's birth cert. how to even prove its your school cert then???

Anyway, I chose not to give my kids hanyu pinying names.

On 9/7/2025 at 10:00 AM, Playtime said:

Iirc Schools started insisting on hanyu pinying names in the early 80s, even if you born much earlier. Something I found stupid, my parents gave me my name so WTF is anyone to punish me for using it???

I remember it later got complained why even school certificates being given in hanyu pinying names when its not in children's birth cert. how to even prove its your school cert then???

my kids are hanyu pinyin. 

Anyway we don't have a strong dialect heritage in my family. 

Same....

My class register during Pr and Sec school always at the back of the list becos of Hanyu Pinyin name...

But will be in front if uses dialect name. 

So my kids are always in front of class register.... so they always get called to do stuff 1st then when done.. rest of the time just chill a bit. 

In the past I have always got the anxiety of waiting....like how come so long still not my turn.... Then when my turn done, almost whole class done.

One instance, Still can recall sitting at the back seeing all the classmate getting their injections, the grimace on their face 😅 repeated 30 times before getting mine🤣

Edited by Atonchia

On 9/6/2025 at 8:22 PM, Sosaria said:

Well, how much can the boatman earn ? It's only 1 or 2 dollars extra per passenger. Not like the boatman will be filthy rich by charging that much extra [laugh]

Your local coffeeshop operator humtum you more in terms of anyhow raising price.

A bit scummy behaviour because whether the boat is full or not he would still have to make the trip.

Fortunately airlines and bus services are not like that - empty or full they still have to make their scheduled services (usually).

I have heard of cases whether airline passengers get rebooked onto other flights of other timings but seems to be rare.

On 9/7/2025 at 11:42 AM, Atonchia said:

Same....

My class register during Pr and Sec school always at the back of the list becos of Hanyu Pinyin name...

But will be in front if uses dialect name. 

So my kids are always in front of class register.... so they always get called to do stuff 1st then when done.. rest of the time just chill a bit. 

In the past I have always got the anxiety of waiting....like how come so long still not my turn.... Then when my turn done, almost whole class done.

One instance, Still can recall sitting at the back seeing all the classmate getting their injections, the grimace on their face 😅 repeated 30 times before getting mine🤣

If your name appear in the front and back of the class register, high chance always get called by teacher. 😂

On 9/7/2025 at 12:18 PM, Ysc3 said:

Suddenly....pulau ubin become nric talk.....😝

Because the report shown Hanyu Pinyin Surname of the 52 year old guy didn't want to pay the $2 more .... Most people going Ubin would have known the full capacity fare practice from these boatmen....

So I thought he's possibly is a recent resident.  Then realised NRIC already has Hanyu Pinyin and Dialect name for a long long time.😅

Edited by Atonchia

On 9/7/2025 at 12:18 PM, Ysc3 said:

Suddenly....pulau ubin become nric talk.....😝

Pulau ubin nothing much to say liao, and nric seems like more things to talk. Lol.

On 9/7/2025 at 5:24 PM, 13177 said:

Pulau ubin nothing much to say liao, and nric seems like more things to talk. Lol.

Not everyone likes pulau ubin...closer to heart...everyone has an ic...until it's surrendered...😁

It was the WTF time when every damn shit had to be in hanyu pinyin. Road names, buildings all the shit. In the people kpkb and majority were reversed. Still got yishun, but lucky tekka was reversed from zhu jiao. 

On 9/7/2025 at 7:41 PM, Mkl22 said:

It was the WTF time when every damn shit had to be in hanyu pinyin. Road names, buildings all the shit. In the people kpkb and majority were reversed. Still got yishun, but lucky tekka was reversed from zhu jiao. 

If you can remember those... U likely also can take cpf liao😂

On 9/7/2025 at 7:29 PM, mersaylee said:

Not everyone likes pulau ubin...closer to heart...everyone has an ic...until it's surrendered...😁

Ya, how many people go to pulau ubin often siah?! Lol. Think the last time i went there was at least more than 15 years ago.