BanCoe Hypersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 preambree Tree question ……. Anybody knows the Origins of Tam-Pines or Tam-Penis which “sounds” more corright ?? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 9:22 AM, Playtime said: Even for mandrine, I read, speak and hear no problems at all. But if i tried to actually write it now, wah lau eh.... even very simple one also second guess myself correct or not.😬 yup same here. before smart phone, WA, email, etc., i used to send CNY cards to classmates and friends and take the opportunity to write some chinese greeting words, just to have an opportunity to practise writing... In the last ~25 yr or so, this has stopped so now not much chance to write also... only when typing chinese on phone, then i try to use writing as input option... but often forgot liao so will fall back to pinyin... 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 9:58 AM, inlinesix said: I used to watch TVB drama online to catchup with the latest phrases. Stop since 2 years as the topic stale when i was choosing canto dramas to let my parents watch, in most of the modern dramas, the phrases that the cast speaks, i also dun understand 😅, so no hope to let my folks watch... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 10:08 AM, Atrecord said: when i was choosing canto dramas to let my parents watch, in most of the modern dramas, the phrases that the cast speaks, i also dun understand 😅, so no hope to let my folks watch... Bro, my HK fren grandma is using the latest catch phrases le🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 10:02 AM, BanCoe said: preambree Tree question ……. Anybody knows the Origins of Tam-Pines or Tam-Penis which “sounds” more corright ?? I read or watch somewhere that it should be Tempinis. It originated from Tempinis tree surrounding that area. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 10:15 AM, inlinesix said: I read or watch somewhere that it should be Tempinis. It originated from Tempinis tree surrounding that area. Must have been a PreambreeTree .......it sure was stiff ...... the batang 🌲 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 10:02 AM, BanCoe said: preambree Tree question ……. Anybody knows the Origins of Tam-Pines or Tam-Penis which “sounds” more corright ?? i dunno the answer, but got reminded of what an ex-colleague (from South Africa, who took up a job here in SG) landed in SG, and took a cab to the pre-arranged rented accommodation in Tampines. She (born to Chinese parents in South Africa) spoke with a unique accent, and told the cab driver Tam-Pine(s) many times, but the driver was lost... then she had to bring out the letter/email of the address, and the driver told her how it's pronounced our SG way 😅 and she was initially shocked... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 10:13 AM, inlinesix said: Bro, my HK fren grandma is using the latest catch phrases le🤣 ha ha... your HK fren grandma has my respect. i guess given the environment that they are in - using canto prob 90% of their daily lives - they will likely catch on well/fast for everything new, which comes in incremental bits. whereas for us here in SG, already not much use of it even in normal life, so for some catch phrases that HK has been using for past maybe 30 yr, we already might not be familiar, then with more new ones in the now fast-moving digital era, is going to be lagi overwhelming. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 8:21 AM, 13177 said: Any language if you don't speak often, surely will lose it. But nowadays not many people speaks dialect lo, esp the young gen. They cannot even speak proper Chinese leh.🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 8:21 AM, 13177 said: Any language if you don't speak often, surely will lose it. But nowadays not many people speaks dialect lo, esp the young gen. They cannot even speak proper Chinese leh.🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged September 12, 2025 Share September 12, 2025 On 9/10/2025 at 6:09 PM, macrosszero said: You cannot differentiate by the given names but you still can by surname. Ng hasn’t become Wu Lim hasn’t become Lin Tan hasn’t become Chen Nor has Chan become Chen However Lee and Li are so similar it is more a quirk of the pronunciation than “changing over”. quite many young people, true blue Singaporeans, already have their full names (including surnames) in hanyu pinyin liao quite sad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged September 12, 2025 Share September 12, 2025 (edited) On 9/11/2025 at 10:02 AM, BanCoe said: preambree Tree question ……. Anybody knows the Origins of Tam-Pines or Tam-Penis which “sounds” more corright ?? the original spelling was Tampenis 😅 Edited September 12, 2025 by Scion 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic September 12, 2025 Share September 12, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 10:02 AM, BanCoe said: preambree Tree question ……. Anybody knows the Origins of Tam-Pines or Tam-Penis which “sounds” more corright ?? It's a type of trees right? Cannot name them woodland or else got duplicate, so they shall be called Tampon... no Tam pee knees. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 15, 2025 Share September 15, 2025 On 9/12/2025 at 9:19 AM, Scion said: the original spelling was Tampenis 😅 Lemme korreck U ….. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 15, 2025 Share September 15, 2025 On 9/10/2025 at 8:09 PM, macrosszero said: You cannot differentiate by the given names but you still can by surname. Ng hasn’t become Wu Lim hasn’t become Lin Tan hasn’t become Chen Nor has Chan become Chen However Lee and Li are so similar it is more a quirk of the pronunciation than “changing over”. In Hong Kong, after the failed pro-independence protests of 2019, there is a silent protest in the form of a movement to retain the language of Cantonese in the face of the wave of mainland Chinese. On one hand Hong Kongers need to learn Putonghua to do business but on the other, are trying to hold on to our heritage. Here in Singapore? Sigh. Most people younger than 30 cannot fluently speak their dialect anymore… Isn’t Knn enough to get by? 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 15, 2025 Share September 15, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 12:03 PM, Atrecord said: yup same here. before smart phone, WA, email, etc., i used to send CNY cards to classmates and friends and take the opportunity to write some chinese greeting words, just to have an opportunity to practise writing... In the last ~25 yr or so, this has stopped so now not much chance to write also... only when typing chinese on phone, then i try to use writing as input option... but often forgot liao so will fall back to pinyin... 😅 Heck even the younger mainland Chinese 笔画can also get wrong. Hardly write these days. All use pinyin and short form. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged September 15, 2025 Share September 15, 2025 On 9/15/2025 at 8:02 PM, Mkl22 said: Isn’t Knn enough to get by? 🤣 For sure, KNN and CNM is the litmus test of local or import 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged September 16, 2025 Share September 16, 2025 On 9/15/2025 at 6:55 PM, BanCoe said: Lemme korreck U ….. correct me simi huh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...