Beanoyip Turbocharged September 9, 2025 Share September 9, 2025 Penny wise pound foolish.. They rather pay $48 than $1. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 On 9/7/2025 at 11:57 AM, macrosszero said: A bit scummy behaviour because whether the boat is full or not he would still have to make the trip. Fortunately airlines and bus services are not like that - empty or full they still have to make their scheduled services (usually). I have heard of cases whether airline passengers get rebooked onto other flights of other timings but seems to be rare. It's a matter of who needs who more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 On 9/7/2025 at 10:00 AM, Playtime said: Iirc Schools started insisting on hanyu pinying names in the early 80s, even if you born much earlier. Something I found stupid, my parents gave me my name so WTF is anyone to punish me for using it??? Why must ditch my real name for some stupid phonetic aid. I remember it later got complained why even school certificates being given in hanyu pinying names when its not in children's birth cert. how to even prove its your school cert then??? Anyway, I chose not to give my kids hanyu pinying names. because in the eighties, the gahmen promoted the Speak Chinese campaign aggressively and wanted to reduce the influence of dialects they also wanted to align with China, hence the simplified Chinese characters Tekka was renamed Zhujiao, Nee Soon became Yishun, Pek San became Bishan... little did we know, 40/50 years later, we can't differentiate, by their names, between local Chinese and tiongs now 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 On 9/7/2025 at 7:41 PM, Mkl22 said: It was the WTF time when every damn shit had to be in hanyu pinyin. Road names, buildings all the shit. In the people kpkb and majority were reversed. Still got yishun, but lucky tekka was reversed from zhu jiao. 猪脚? no wonder lah.... Somethimes they also anyhow suka suka change like Chua Chu Kang becomes Choa Chu Kang. And worse only partially changed. Chua Chu Kang GRC/CC but Choa Chu Kang Road/Safra. Probably some low level clerk mis-spelled. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 (edited) On 9/10/2025 at 2:49 PM, Volvobrick said: 猪脚? no wonder lah.... Somethimes they also anyhow suka suka change like Chua Chu Kang becomes Choa Chu Kang. And worse only partially changed. Chua Chu Kang GRC/CC but Choa Chu Kang Road/Safra. Probably some low level clerk mis-spelled. Until now I also blur between when use chua or choa 😅 can bluff the younger ones tekka was named after famous ter kah stall 😂 Edited September 10, 2025 by Playtime 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 On 9/10/2025 at 3:06 PM, Playtime said: Until now I also blur between when use chua or choa 😅 can bluff the younger ones tekka was named after famous ter kah stall 😂 both also can.. apparently due to legacy last time when both spelling of names were accepted same for Punggol and Ponggol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 On 9/10/2025 at 3:06 PM, Playtime said: Until now I also blur between when use chua or choa 😅 can bluff the younger ones tekka was named after famous ter kah stall 😂 Chua is commonly used in living person. Choa is commonly used in street name. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 On 9/10/2025 at 3:37 PM, Scion said: both also can.. apparently due to legacy last time when both spelling of names were accepted same for Punggol and Ponggol hahahaha.... so many times i google to confirm pong or pung😒 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 On 9/10/2025 at 1:30 PM, Scion said: because in the eighties, the gahmen promoted the Speak Chinese campaign aggressively and wanted to reduce the influence of dialects they also wanted to align with China, hence the simplified Chinese characters Tekka was renamed Zhujiao, Nee Soon became Yishun, Pek San became Bishan... little did we know, 40/50 years later, we can't differentiate, by their names, between local Chinese and tiongs now imagine whole generations of iliterate non mandrine speaking ah gong and ah ma literally cut off from communicating with the young grand children who all gave up speaking dialects. Thats a terribly high price. perhaps thats the price of "progress", many in my generation still are effectively biligual plus 2 or more dialects. Many youngsters today are effectively mono ligual english.... and not very good english too😰 Speaking dialect NEVER effected my CL2 or english, in fact it helped in CL2 IMO. well... whats done is done. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 On 9/6/2025 at 11:39 PM, Atonchia said: Huh? You under 30? Haven't change NRIC yet? Used to be 12/30/55 Now NRIC issue at 15, change at 30 then 55. My parents changed theirs i think 4-5 yr ago, maybe 25 yr after collecting the plastic ICs, when they were in their 50s/60s... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 On 9/10/2025 at 1:30 PM, Scion said: because in the eighties, the gahmen promoted the Speak Chinese campaign aggressively and wanted to reduce the influence of dialects they also wanted to align with China, hence the simplified Chinese characters Tekka was renamed Zhujiao, Nee Soon became Yishun, Pek San became Bishan... little did we know, 40/50 years later, we can't differentiate, by their names, between local Chinese and tiongs now my sec sch chinese teacher told the class that hanyu pinyin will not work. i was in a boy school. the teacher was an old boy of the school (= him). he wrote on the black board, 我们 followed by the hanyu pinyin 'women'... and the class laughed... 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 (edited) On 9/10/2025 at 1:30 PM, Scion said: because in the eighties, the gahmen promoted the Speak Chinese campaign aggressively and wanted to reduce the influence of dialects they also wanted to align with China, hence the simplified Chinese characters Tekka was renamed Zhujiao, Nee Soon became Yishun, Pek San became Bishan... little did we know, 40/50 years later, we can't differentiate, by their names, between local Chinese and tiongs now You cannot differentiate by the given names but you still can by surname. Ng hasn’t become Wu Lim hasn’t become Lin Tan hasn’t become Chen Nor has Chan become Chen However Lee and Li are so similar it is more a quirk of the pronunciation than “changing over”. In Hong Kong, after the failed pro-independence protests of 2019, there is a silent protest in the form of a movement to retain the language of Cantonese in the face of the wave of mainland Chinese. On one hand Hong Kongers need to learn Putonghua to do business but on the other, are trying to hold on to our heritage. Here in Singapore? Sigh. Most people younger than 30 cannot fluently speak their dialect anymore… Edited September 10, 2025 by macrosszero 3 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 10, 2025 Share September 10, 2025 On 9/10/2025 at 6:09 PM, macrosszero said: Here in Singapore? Sigh. Most people younger than 30 cannot fluently speak their dialect anymore… Not only the younger ones, even my cousin who is 70, said that his cantonese has deteriorated so bad now cos he hasn't had much practice since my auntie (his mother) passed away 6 yr ago. Now he only gets to use it when he speaks to my parents, now and then. even i also don't get to use it much... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/10/2025 at 11:00 PM, Atrecord said: Not only the younger ones, even my cousin who is 70, said that his cantonese has deteriorated so bad now cos he hasn't had much practice since my auntie (his mother) passed away 6 yr ago. Now he only gets to use it when he speaks to my parents, now and then. even i also don't get to use it much... Any language if you don't speak often, surely will lose it. But nowadays not many people speaks dialect lo, esp the young gen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 8:21 AM, 13177 said: Any language if you don't speak often, surely will lose it. But nowadays not many people speaks dialect lo, esp the young gen. Even for mandrine, I read, speak and hear no problems at all. But if i tried to actually write it now, wah lau eh.... even very simple one also second guess myself correct or not.😬 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 9:22 AM, Playtime said: Even for mandrine, I read, speak and hear no problems at all. But if i tried to actually write it now, wah lau eh.... even very simple one also second guess myself correct or not.😬 That's why i don't use pinyin on the phone or computer (as much as possible). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 8:21 AM, 13177 said: Any language if you don't speak often, surely will lose it. But nowadays not many people speaks dialect lo, esp the young gen. agree. it's actually quite a pity to lose our dialect, in the next gen. i still fondly remember the days when every night also got canto drama shown on Ch 8. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 11, 2025 Share September 11, 2025 On 9/11/2025 at 9:56 AM, Atrecord said: agree. it's actually quite a pity to lose our dialect, in the next gen. i still fondly remember the days when every night also got canto drama shown on Ch 8. I used to watch TVB drama online to catchup with the latest phrases. Stop since 2 years as the topic stale ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...