Scoot

I-LOVE-CARS

Scoot passenger upset at no refund for Bali flights

He was supposed to fly with a colleague to Bali on Wednesday on budget airline Scoot, but the work trip was cancelled when they found out a volcano on the Indonesian island was threatening to erupt.

While colleagues who had booked flights to Bali from other airlines managed to get refunds, Mr Lester Kwok and Mr Jason Chong could not get a refund from Scoot.

Scoot had posted on its website on Sept 24 to alert affected passengers that they had the "option to change to a later date".

Other airlines such as Garuda Airlines offered affected passengers the option to book other dates or get a refund.

Mr Kwok took to Scoot's Facebook page to complain.

The New Paper contacted Scoot but it did not reply by press time.

On Sept 22, the Indonesian authorities raised the alert level for Mount Agung to the highest level, Stage 4, which means an eruption is imminent.

Singapore's Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Sept 23 advised Singaporeans to "defer non-essential travel" to the affected areas during this time, and for those already in Bali to avoid Mount Agung and its area.

Since then, various airlines have been offering affected passengers options to find alternative solutions.

Singapore Airlines on Sept 23 said in a statement it was monitoring the situation in Bali, and customers travelling there from Sept 23 to Oct 9 can contact the SIA ticket office to rebook their flight or ask for a refund.

Mr Julian Lee, Great Eastern financial advisory director, said: "Most general insurance covers the passenger if they are involved in a natural disaster.

"However, if they miss a flight by choice, they will not be able to get any compensations on their flights."

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/scoot-passenger-upset-no-refund-bali-flights

I just kepo here a bit. He cancels his flight because his work trip is cancelled or the airline or Bali cancel the flight? A bit confusing leh.

It will be clearly to state whether did the plane fly to Bali he suppose to take with the rest? If he is the only one not taking that flight, then the answer is simple right? Unless he buys insurance to cover if he suddenly don't want to fly. [confused]

I just kepo here a bit. He cancels his flight because his work trip is cancelled or the airline or Bali cancel the flight? A bit confusing leh.

It will be clearly to state whether did the plane fly to Bali he suppose to take with the rest? If he is the only one not taking that flight, then the answer is simple right? Unless he buys insurance to cover if he suddenly don't want to fly. [confused]

Nothing confusing actually. Should analyse from the airline policy side.

Other airlines allow for refund but scoot/tiger don't allow - sucks but acceptable because they are budget airline. I says sucks because correct me if I am wrong, scoot has always tried to position themselves as slightly more premium than a typical budget airline. Turns out that absorbing tiger air means they charge premium fares and give tigerair service (see all the delays).

If tomorrow other budget airlines are found to be giving refunds then scoot/tiger is considered worse than budget airlines and this will give a negative impression of SIA as well.

Edited by Kusje

Nothing confusing actually. Should analyse from the airline policy side.

Other airlines allow for refund but scoot/tiger don't allow - sucks but acceptable because they are budget airline.

If tomorrow other budget airlines are found to be giving refunds then scoot/tiger is considered worse than budget airlines and this will give a negative impression of SIA as well.

1. So did the plane fly or not?
  2. other airline allow refund if your company decides to cancel the trip?

The above answers will make me clearer [thumbsup]

I read liao also blur. I see it as Scoot offered to let them change to a l as ter sate but no refund of $$$. Which imo is ok for a budget airline.

I had to cancel my Scoot or jetstar to bkk once because of the riots, they let me change my dates and let me pay a small nominal sum to change destination too.

1. So did the plane fly or not?
  2. other airline allow refund if your company decides to cancel the trip?

The above answers will make me clearer [thumbsup]

1. Doesn't say but presumably yes.

2. Yes, the article cites such examples

a) Other airlines such as Garuda Airlines offered affected passengers the option to book other dates or get a refund.

b) Singapore Airlines on Sept 23 said in a statement it was monitoring the situation in Bali, and customers travelling there from Sept 23 to Oct 9 can contact the SIA ticket office to rebook their flight or ask for a refund.

3. Should also take into account MFA's statement instead of just considering if the "company decides to cancel the trip": Singapore's Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Sept 23 advised Singaporeans to "defer non-essential travel" to the affected areas during this time, and for those already in Bali to avoid Mount Agung and its area.

Edited by Kusje

I read liao also blur. I see it as Scoot offered to let them change to a l as ter sate but no refund of $$$. Which imo is ok for a budget airline.

I had to cancel my Scoot or jetstar to bkk once because of the riots, they let me change my dates and let me pay a small nominal sum to change destination too.

Yup. Nothing wrong for budget airlines. 

But scoot needs to stop trying to portray themselves as being more premium than a typical budget airline since they are no different.

Scoot passenger upset at no refund for Bali flights

He was supposed to fly with a colleague to Bali on Wednesday on budget airline Scoot, but the work trip was cancelled when they found out a volcano on the Indonesian island was threatening to erupt.

While colleagues who had booked flights to Bali from other airlines managed to get refunds, Mr Lester Kwok and Mr Jason Chong could not get a refund from Scoot.

Scoot had posted on its website on Sept 24 to alert affected passengers that they had the "option to change to a later date".

Other airlines such as Garuda Airlines offered affected passengers the option to book other dates or get a refund.

Mr Kwok took to Scoot's Facebook page to complain.

The New Paper contacted Scoot but it did not reply by press time.

On Sept 22, the Indonesian authorities raised the alert level for Mount Agung to the highest level, Stage 4, which means an eruption is imminent.

Singapore's Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Sept 23 advised Singaporeans to "defer non-essential travel" to the affected areas during this time, and for those already in Bali to avoid Mount Agung and its area.

Since then, various airlines have been offering affected passengers options to find alternative solutions.

Singapore Airlines on Sept 23 said in a statement it was monitoring the situation in Bali, and customers travelling there from Sept 23 to Oct 9 can contact the SIA ticket office to rebook their flight or ask for a refund.

Mr Julian Lee, Great Eastern financial advisory director, said: "Most general insurance covers the passenger if they are involved in a natural disaster.

"However, if they miss a flight by choice, they will not be able to get any compensations on their flights."

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/scoot-passenger-upset-no-refund-bali-flights

His own fault.

He should fly Garuda since he thinks it's

so good. I hope he never fly Scoot again

and leave more seats for me.

Not all Airlines practise the same rules.

Especially for budget airlines.

As long they are operating the same flight on that day (without cancelling), they will not allow u to refund ticket.

It is pax kiasi, don't dare to fly (since on business trip, company pay. Why grumble)

His own fault.

He should fly Garuda since he thinks it's

so good. I hope he never fly Scoot again

and leave more seats for me.

Yup. Nothing wrong for budget airlines. 

But scoot needs to stop trying to portray themselves as being more premium than a typical budget airline since they are no different.

bad travel  experience with scoot last friday. when checking in to return flight from TPE to SIN, the horrendous and not-very-intelligent software allocated our 6 seats booked together with 26HJK and 27ABC. these seats are far apart when it comes to actual sitting but because computer algorithm runs them consecutively, the computer assumes all 6 of us are seated together. When pointed out to this anomaly, the staff at TPE just hide behind the computer and says it is allocated by computer and he can't change for us without additional charges. His supervisor came and told us they need to seek permission from Scoot (I am assuming they are contractors of FlyScoot and dare not take up responsibility of manually assigning seats for us). The so-called process to contact FlyScoot took about 30min and the junior frontline staff keep telling us got system issue. When quizzed upon why need to use the system, he say need to calculate the additional charges for assigning seats to us. We are very flustered that instead of contacting scoot for approval to change seats, they are merely wasting our time to wait for busy/unreliable system just to calculate additional charges when we didn't acquiesce to it in the first place. FlyScoot software is unintelligent and the frontline staff don't understand customer requests at all. No one wants to take responsibility and have to hide behind a computer for whatever wrongs committed. I do understand that we cannot expect to be assigned seats taking budget airline.  But we are merely asking to be seated physically together, not algorithmically together.

not to mention the unpleasant experience of having the food cart smashed onto my knee cap by a steward when i was asleep. i have never encountered this before in my many years of traveling onboard flights. FlyScoot have to do a better job training their staff.

like you correctly pointed out, scoot is still not providing services better than any budget airline.

Actually why does scoot need to assign them seats together? Sadly, even some full priced airlines want to charge you for assigned seats now!

Edited by Kusje

Actually why does scoot need to assign them seats together?

1 booking for all passengers which by industry practice is seated together.  take note some of the passengers are kids and makes more sense to be seated with their parents. furthermore, it is not a heavily booked flight, there are many empty seats.

this is not a request to assign seats.  this is a request to use some human logic in allocating seats for various passengers under 1 booking.  if flying on budget means family have to have their kids run risk of seated by themselves, no one will want to fly the particular budget airline.

Edited by Acemundo

1 booking for all passengers which by industry practice is seated together.  take note some of the passengers are kids and makes more sense to be seated with their parents. furthermore, it is not a heavily booked flight, there are many empty seats.

this is not a request to assign seats.  this is a request to use some human logic in allocating seats for various passengers under 1 booking.  if flying on budget means family have to have their kids run risk of seated by themselves, no one will want to fly the particular budget airline.

where you learnt this from? Even SQ flights may not guarantee this.  

Even carrier like Malaysian Airlines, Emirates and Garuda "onboard" seats are chargeable if you book those lowest category seats.

I guess, SQ will start this trend very soon. 

Edited by Mcf777

bad travel  experience with scoot last friday. when checking in to return flight from TPE to SIN, the horrendous and not-very-intelligent software allocated our 6 seats booked together with 26HJK and 27ABC. these seats are far apart when it comes to actual sitting but because computer algorithm runs them consecutively, the computer assumes all 6 of us are seated together. When pointed out to this anomaly, the staff at TPE just hide behind the computer and says it is allocated by computer and he can't change for us without additional charges. His supervisor came and told us they need to seek permission from Scoot (I am assuming they are contractors of FlyScoot and dare not take up responsibility of manually assigning seats for us). The so-called process to contact FlyScoot took about 30min and the junior frontline staff keep telling us got system issue. When quizzed upon why need to use the system, he say need to calculate the additional charges for assigning seats to us. We are very flustered that instead of contacting scoot for approval to change seats, they are merely wasting our time to wait for busy/unreliable system just to calculate additional charges when we didn't acquiesce to it in the first place. FlyScoot software is unintelligent and the frontline staff don't understand customer requests at all. No one wants to take responsibility and have to hide behind a computer for whatever wrongs committed. I do understand that we cannot expect to be assigned seats taking budget airline.  But we are merely asking to be seated physically together, not algorithmically together.

not to mention the unpleasant experience of having the food cart smashed onto my knee cap by a steward when i was asleep. i have never encountered this before in my many years of traveling onboard flights. FlyScoot have to do a better job training their staff.

Bloodie cheapo.

If want assigned seat just pay for it.

I do about $6 each way.

If not happy to pay don't take Scoot.

Maybe programmer from India with MBA from Hawaii don't know what

uni the one declared by a lady who managed to keep her job.

It is stupid logic hope even less people fly with them so I can

sit next to more empty seats.

I came back from Korea once and all the seats were taken except

for 4 all empty so when no one was looking I spread out on all 4

and slept all the way back to Singapore.

Edited by Jamesc

where you learnt this from? Even SQ flights may not guarantee this.

Even carrier like Malaysian Airlines, Emirates and Garuda "onboard" seats are chargeable if you book those lowest category seats.

I guess, SQ will start this trend very soon.

Well i fly sq and many other airlines frequently and got this done. I dont know where you derive the basis of your initial comment from

Maybe programmer from India with MBA from Hawaii don't know what

uni the one declared by a lady who managed to keep her job.

It is stupid logic hope even less people fly with them so I can

sit next to more empty seats.

I came back from Korea once and all the seats were taken except

for 4 all empty so when no one was looking I spread out on all 4

and slept all the way back to Singapore.

Haha your second comment is so much more sensible than your first