Wt_know Supersonic March 20, 2015 Share March 20, 2015 (edited) if buy hdb ... take hdb loan is the best protection and less "problem" when shit hits the fan Edited March 20, 2015 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nautilus 2nd Gear March 20, 2015 Share March 20, 2015 HDB do charge early redemption fee That's not true. You can make incremental lump sum payments by cash or CPF through the HDB website and the branch office anytime with no charges. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged March 20, 2015 Share March 20, 2015 My home loan with ANZ also provides for 100% prepayment leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged March 20, 2015 Share March 20, 2015 My home loan with ANZ also provides for 100% prepayment leh. ANZ allow you to default for years before taking your flat away? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueblueman 4th Gear March 20, 2015 Share March 20, 2015 That's not true. You can make incremental lump sum payments by cash or CPF through the HDB website and the branch office anytime with no charges. I did that before at branch office. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged March 20, 2015 Share March 20, 2015 (edited) ANZ allow you to default for years before taking your flat away? I only mention abt prepayment Don't twist and turn ok? Edited March 20, 2015 by Sabian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KiaCeratoHB 2nd Gear March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 Sorry I'm not into loan, I just wish to have the space with my loved ones. loan also pay by cpf... if cpf dont use to pay mortgage then keep inside also useless. n i rather give private developer then giving it to them via hdb. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blurxiu 1st Gear July 24, 2015 Share July 24, 2015 if you can't service the bank loan, how soon they come and repo the flat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 (edited) Hi folks, I have question regarding housing loan from bank. I am currently staying in flat A which has almost been fully paid by mostly CPF (and some cash). My CPF account is almost empty at this point of time, as almost all my CPF monies are in Flat A. I intend to buy a flat B (of a smaller value), and intend to pay for Flat B using CPF. However, I need to sell Flat A in order to free up the CPF first. If I were to pay full cash now for Flat B, I will be CPF-rich but cash-poor by the time Flat A has been sold. For my case, Flat A can only be sold (within 6 months) after Flat B has been purchased. I am thinking of creating a buffer by taking a short term loan (e.g. 6 months, $200k) from bank. So that by the time my CPF becomes available (after selling Flat A), I can immediately pay the bank with one lump sum CPF, without incurring too much interest. Would this arrangement work? Is there any minimum loan period and would there be any penalty if one redeems the loan too early? I know car loan has. Many thanks. Edited June 6, 2016 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 Hi folks, I have question regarding housing loan from bank. I am currently staying in flat A which has almost been fully paid by mostly CPF (and some cash). My CPF account is almost empty at this point of time, as almost all my CPF monies are in Flat A. I intend to buy a flat B (of a smaller value), and intend to pay for Flat B using CPF. However, I need to sell Flat A in order to free up the CPF first. If I were to pay full cash now for Flat B, I will be CPF-rich but cash-poor by the time Flat A has been sold. For my case, Flat A can only be sold (within 6 months) after Flat B has been purchased. I am thinking of creating a buffer by taking a short term loan (e.g. 6 months, $200k) from bank. So that by the time my CPF becomes available (after selling Flat A), I can immediately pay the bank with one lump sum CPF, without incurring too much interest. Would this arrangement work? Is there any minimum loan period and would there be any penalty if one redeems the loan too early? I know car loan has. Many thanks. Check out bridging loan. Many banks have it. I do not have experience with it though. https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/loans/home-loans/bridging-loan 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 (edited) most banks do provide bridging loan. should not be a problem. https://www.sc.com/sg/borrow/mortgages-hdb-bridging-loan.html Hi folks, I have question regarding housing loan from bank. I am currently staying in flat A which has almost been fully paid by mostly CPF (and some cash). My CPF account is almost empty at this point of time, as almost all my CPF monies are in Flat A. I intend to buy a flat B (of a smaller value), and intend to pay for Flat B using CPF. However, I need to sell Flat A in order to free up the CPF first. If I were to pay full cash now for Flat B, I will be CPF-rich but cash-poor by the time Flat A has been sold. For my case, Flat A can only be sold (within 6 months) after Flat B has been purchased. I am thinking of creating a buffer by taking a short term loan (e.g. 6 months, $200k) from bank. So that by the time my CPF becomes available (after selling Flat A), I can immediately pay the bank with one lump sum CPF, without incurring too much interest. Would this arrangement work? Is there any minimum loan period and would there be any penalty if one redeems the loan too early? I know car loan has. Many thanks. Edited June 6, 2016 by Little_prince 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 Hi folks, I have question regarding housing loan from bank. I am currently staying in flat A which has almost been fully paid by mostly CPF (and some cash). My CPF account is almost empty at this point of time, as almost all my CPF monies are in Flat A. I intend to buy a flat B (of a smaller value), and intend to pay for Flat B using CPF. However, I need to sell Flat A in order to free up the CPF first. If I were to pay full cash now for Flat B, I will be CPF-rich but cash-poor by the time Flat A has been sold. For my case, Flat A can only be sold (within 6 months) after Flat B has been purchased. I am thinking of creating a buffer by taking a short term loan (e.g. 6 months, $200k) from bank. So that by the time my CPF becomes available (after selling Flat A), I can immediately pay the bank with one lump sum CPF, without incurring too much interest. Would this arrangement work? Is there any minimum loan period and would there be any penalty if one redeems the loan too early? I know car loan has. Many thanks. either try bridging loan or get the agent to coordinate the timing of the contra sales (or extend the stay in flat A with the new owner). 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged August 25, 2016 Author Share August 25, 2016 Hi, been thinking if I should consider switching to a bank to pay off my housing loan? Current income for my wife and I, are pretty healthy and regular. Paying around $1100 monthly to HDB whereby half of the payment goes to the interest. Been doing this for the last 3 years. Whats your view? Switch or remain? My goal is to stay debt free, the earlier I can pay off the loan, I could probably invest in a condo? or shift out from Singapore and sell beancurd in Ipoh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 Hi, been thinking if I should consider switching to a bank to pay off my housing loan? Current income for my wife and I, are pretty healthy and regular. Paying around $1100 monthly to HDB whereby half of the payment goes to the interest. Been doing this for the last 3 years. Whats your view? Switch or remain? My goal is to stay debt free, the earlier I can pay off the loan, I could probably invest in a condo? or shift out from Singapore and sell beancurd in Ipoh? For HDB loan, you can always do partial redemption as & when u like. I pay off HDB loan within 10 yrs with biannual partial redemption using CPF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged August 25, 2016 Author Share August 25, 2016 For HDB loan, you can always do partial redemption as & when u like. I pay off HDB loan within 10 yrs with biannual partial redemption using CPF. what do you mean by partial redemption? early payment? for example, excess in O.A, use it and pay off the loan? in my scenario, I don't earn much.. hence my O.A probably got less than 5 digit.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 what do you mean by partial redemption? early payment? for example, excess in O.A, use it and pay off the loan? in my scenario, I don't earn much.. hence my O.A probably got less than 5 digit.. Every 2 years, we will have excess in OA. We will use almost entire OA (have to leave 1 mth installment in OA) to pay down the loan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 Makes negligible difference. Was advised by HDB opicer to let the loan drag on. Anyway, I still redeem my loan with my CPF "surplus" 'cos I can't see the naggy monthly transactions. what do you mean by partial redemption? early payment? for example, excess in O.A, use it and pay off the loan? in my scenario, I don't earn much.. hence my O.A probably got less than 5 digit.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 Wasn't there a dbs loan where they promise that their interest will ALWAYS be lower than HDB for 10 years? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...