More COE Next Year (2014) .....

Maxus-MIFA9

a bit of summary from wat i see in newspaper

Citroen, demo sale from 99K onwards guarantee coe

Elantra @ 103k no say guarantee or not...

K3 @ 106k

K5 @ 134K

Jetta @ 119k

Volvo starting from 130k guarantee.

Mazda 3 no price stated... but Mazda 6 134k mazda 2 103k mazda 6 137k

yaris @ 113k

Ford starting from 109k with price match condition...

A4 starting from 160k

A3 starting from 150K

A1 starting from 130k

And the Indon-made Toyota Avenza still stubbornly at $130,888 ... clap clap!

We are promise that every household should be able to afford a car in this country... Remember this sentence sounds familiar?... Election is coming.. If promised is broken.. Many hearts are broken.. Many votes will sway..

So buy now or wait???

Obvious right??? ... Still monitor coe for what.. Mai waste your time..

Will come? .. It will come... If not?... Opposition comes!.. Hurray all..

The promise has already been fulfilled in the last decade, with COE glut and all-time low premia.

Hundreds of thousands of citizens already got their 'cheap' cars and are happy.

Roads and car parks all became congested and many areas have illegally-parked cars on road sides on Fridays.

What more can be given, without creating a grid lock on our roads?

You say oppo will allow you to own cars? You tan ku ku lor :-O

It tells on your maturity of thought ... you're either a student, or sandwiched class?

Such shallow thinking - buahahaha!!!

Edited by Astrid

you are right ... you can't have it both ways

cheap coe ... no traffic congested

high coe ... cheap car

the best way is to manage population

the million dollar question is what is the "optimum level" of population for spore vs infrastructure (road, bus, mrt, hdb, private housing, etc)

if increase population, must also increase infrastructure

our current problem is population increased but infrastructure is catching up

when more estates are build ... more roads are build (several major expressway are underway expansion)

can increase coe quota ... but population increase need to slowdown for infrastructure to catch up

The promise has already been fulfilled in the last decade, with COE glut and all-time low premia.
Hundreds of thousands of citizens already got their 'cheap' cars and are happy.
Roads and car parks all became congested and many areas have illegally-parked cars on road sides on Fridays.
What more can be given, without creating a grid lock on our roads?

You say oppo will allow you to own cars? You tan ku ku lor :-O
It tells on your maturity of thought ... you're either a student, or sandwiched class?
Such shallow thinking - buahahaha!!!

The coming years will see those owners scrapping their car (2005-2008) before the COE going sky high. Perhaps the number of COE will increase?

more people scrap car = more coe = more people has no car = more people want to buy car

the question is how many who scrap car do not buy car

even they buy used car ... still buying

used car inventory dried up ... used AD need used car (no inventory no sale can jiak sai liao)

AD will provide good trade in value for used car

then more people will trade in car to buy new car (coe demand up)

buy new or used car ... the inventory is fixed ... every single car got coe

so ... whether buy new or used ... coe is required

if coe dropped to $40k-$50k ... used AD holding on $80k-$90k coe car may also scrapped car

the more people scrap car the more it generate the fluctuation of demand and supply causes coe up/down

The coming years will see those owners scrapping their car (2005-2008) before the COE going sky high. Perhaps the number of COE will increase?

Yup, even rental cars still need COEs.

The thousands of FT expats who come here to work each year, and getting long-term lease cars as part of their expat perks, still require COEs.

When COE premia dips, these rental car companies will all chiong in to grow their fleet of cars, or replace old ones beyond economic repair.

So the common car buyer will face this kinda of commercial competition, on top of the very cash-rich new-comer (sin khek) families settling here either as PRs, or new citizens.

They will ALL out-bid you.

My forecast for COE Cat. A & B next bidding to drop by minimum 5k. Guess only lah.

when coe is low/moderate, even AD also bid and keep as management car

AD also sibei smart one ... can refresh management car ... also parts of marketing strategy to show new model ... can resell management car to make profit too

management car is also a float inventory as part of their strategy when they want to sell management car

most conti AD got their sister company selling used car ... where do you think they got so many almost new 1-2 years car with low milleage bla bla bla

seriously, if any of us is a car dealer be it AD, used car, car rental company, etc ... everyone would do the same

coe = business opportunity ... as simple as that

business = $$$

Yup, even rental cars still need COEs.
The thousands of FT expats who come here to work each year, and getting long-term lease cars as part of their expat perks, still require COEs.

When COE premia dips, these rental car companies will all chiong in to grow their fleet of cars, or replace old ones beyond economic repair.
So the common car buyer will face this kinda of commercial competition, on top of the very cash-rich new-comer (sin khek) families settling here either as PRs, or new citizens.

They will ALL out-bid you.

This car everything look like is made in the 80s, don't know who will buy it.

The only way supply increase without corresponding demand increase will be people scrapping their cars are priced out of the market. So the 50% down payment must stay ...else people just loan and loan. Even current status, you see that a lot can come up with that 50k easily....... No sweat.

Those who cannot down 50% will most probably buy used which they can afford. So you have less used car to scrap and less COE for new cars. I do not think the 50% down is forcing many out of the car market as COE did not come down after it was implemented.

$50k definitely no sweat. Singaporeans are very rich, remember?

i do feel $50k is no sweat for many

the question is the person dispose

$50k of his total $50k cash (die die must buy) or

$50k of his total $100k $200k $500k cash

Basing on what I have seen @ the various showrooms over this weekend before COE bidding, my gut feel is that COE for Cat B will drop marginally to mid/high $60k.

That is my guess only and based on the crowd size at the 3 showrooms I visited - Kah, VW and PML.

Good luck to all bidding this coming round and also to those patiently waiting!

My forecast for COE Cat. A & B next bidding to drop by minimum 5k. Guess only lah.

Those who cannot down 50% will most probably buy used which they can afford. So you have less used car to scrap and less COE for new cars. I do not think the 50% down is forcing many out of the car market as COE did not come down after it was implemented.

Used car also need to down 40% downpayment lo.

more people scrap car = more coe = more people has no car = more people want to buy car

used car inventory dried up ... used AD need used car (no inventory no sale can jiak sai liao)

AD will provide good trade in value for used car

then more people will trade in car to buy new car (coe demand up)

buy new or used car ... the inventory is fixed ... every single car got coe

so ... whether buy new or used ... coe is required

if coe dropped to $40k-$50k ... used AD holding on $80k-$90k coe car may also scrapped car

the more people scrap car the more it generate the fluctuation of demand and supply causes coe up/down

Bro, you are spot on for the "Spiral effect". More and more of the high COEs will scrap prematurely to reclaim their high costs.

Hope to see this avalanche of COEs starting by end of this year!

Cannot down so much for new car then go for used car with less 40% down payment.

Think for those who really need a car but cannot afford the 50% on new ones, the 2nd hand car will be more of those that are 4 or more years old such that the 40% downpayment will be relatively more affordable?

Eg.

Brand new Jetta is ~ 120k; 50% down is 60k

2010 Jetta ~ 78k (sgcarmart); 40% down is ~ 30k