Voodooman Supersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 Foods that make you comfortable. If i want to buy prima deli chilli crab sauce mixture in Denver. I don't expect to pay anything less than 15 usd also what. But living in the mid west is definitely cheaper than living in Cali or NYC. Actually Cali is also not very expensive compared to Singapore but the mid west is really cheap, they have big hinterland, so can always move out of expensive cities like SF to lower cost if you can't pay. Some Americans are really big into healthy food, guess they are one of them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 Where is the couple from?.... Oh, Denver. Not from New York or DC? Surely Denver cannot represent the whole of US when it comes to cost of living? Must be the AMTK mentality that the couple have. They never expect a SE Asian country to be more TK dan they are. They must be feeling very small here. But it's weird they move out of Denver to get better paid jobs and say such things. Adventurous? Really? Feels like they live in a world of their own. It is interesting ST published this story, so not applicable for most of us peasants, save for some MCFDK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 Actually Cali is also not very expensive compared to Singapore but the mid west is really cheap, they have big hinterland, so can always move out of expensive cities like SF to lower cost if you can't pay. Some Americans are really big into healthy food, guess they are one of them. If u want free range/welfare meat here in SG, then u gotta pay bah. If u are talking about organic veggies or cereals etc, they aren't hugely expensive (cos u can only consume so much). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 why he took the job without checking the report? already say singapore has the highest living cost in asia liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 why he took the job without checking the report? already say singapore has the highest living cost in asia liao. US currency strengthening recently so he kpkb lor. If u want free range/welfare meat here in SG, then u gotta pay bah. If u are talking about organic veggies or cereals etc, they aren't hugely expensive (cos u can only consume so much). Agreed. I was in cold storage and they had some special eggs (think it was free range) and it was more than a dollar per egg! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 (edited) US currency strengthening recently so he kpkb lor. Agreed. I was in cold storage and they had some special eggs (think it was free range) and it was more than a dollar per egg! Most asians aren't hung up about animal welfare (at least for animals bred to be food). While i do believe in some form of animal welfare, the truth is that the price of food is more important to most people. Nothing i eat is organic anyway. Can't compare with angmoh countries where everything is in bulk.Chips comes in mega packs only. Chicken wings come in 24 wing packs etc. U can only buy beers/ciders in 4-6 packs. No such thing as one bottle to try yourself. U can only try single bottled beers at pubs. not even in liquor stalls, can u buy a single bottle of beer. Edited March 28, 2016 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 (edited) Most asians aren't hung up about animal welfare (at least for animals bred to be food). While i do believe in some form of animal welfare, the truth is that the price of food is more important to most people. Nothing i eat is organic anyway. Can't compare with angmoh countries where everything is in bulk.Chips comes in mega packs only. Chicken wings come in 24 wing packs etc. U can only buy beers/ciders in 4-6 packs. No such thing as one bottle to try yourself. U can only try single bottled beers at pubs. not even in liquor stalls, can u buy a single bottle of beer. Thats typical of their so called hypermarts like Cosco ; They don't even give you plastic bags and you just trolley out whatever you buy (after paying lah!) which are in original carton boxes ...... some do allow you to take some cartons from their trash side (on request basis) but all this is possible when their car parks are so huge (like over 2-3 foot ball fields) and you can just cart your trolley to the car) and you need a big car as the weekly they just buy one shot the groceries including breads/cakes/eggs whatever n some veggies too ..... then again you need huge fridges in USA too and large garages ....... ahhhhh the American dream Edited March 28, 2016 by BanCoe 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 Thats typical of their so called hypermarts like Cosco ; They don't even give you plastic bags and you just trolley out whatever you buy (after paying lah!) which are in original carton boxes ...... some do allow you to take some cartons from their trash side (on request basis) but all this is possible when their car parks are so huge (like over 2-3 foot ball fields) and you can just cart your trolley to the car) and you need a big car as the weekly they just buy one shot the groceries including breads/cakes/eggs whatever n some veggies too ..... then again you need huge fridges in USA too and large garages ....... ahhhhh the American dream Yeah definitely a separate freezer if u are feeding a family in suburban USA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 Thats typical of their so called hypermarts like Cosco ; They don't even give you plastic bags and you just trolley out whatever you buy (after paying lah!) which are in original carton boxes ...... some do allow you to take some cartons from their trash side (on request basis) but all this is possible when their car parks are so huge (like over 2-3 foot ball fields) and you can just cart your trolley to the car) and you need a big car as the weekly they just buy one shot the groceries including breads/cakes/eggs whatever n some veggies too ..... then again you need huge fridges in USA too and large garages ....... ahhhhh the American dream was watching 1 episode of the Extreme couponing and my jaw really drop seeing how much they save!! the woman went out shopping whole day only spend $20+ for total purchase value of $600+. But their house store room is like a mini mart, everything stocked up for like 6 months Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 Yeah definitely a separate freezer if u are feeding a family in suburban USA. Everything is upsize in USofA; except in NY or SF cities area where rents are a killer of course Even we have to tell extra topping of cheese; theirs is standard; Drinks are ever free flowing That's the Country of freedom and free spirits live; but their Immigration/ Airports are really screwed up 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 was watching 1 episode of the Extreme couponing and my jaw really drop seeing how much they save!! the woman went out shopping whole day only spend $20+ for total purchase value of $600+. But their house store room is like a mini mart, everything stocked up for like 6 months Downside is that sometimes u buy stuff that isn't really so required. Have to balance with what u need. Only things in my house i store like that are milo refill packs, crysanthemum tea PET bottles and formula milk tins. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 (edited) Actually Cali is also not very expensive compared to Singapore but the mid west is really cheap, they have big hinterland, so can always move out of expensive cities like SF to lower cost if you can't pay. Some Americans are really big into healthy food, guess they are one of them. I've been to Texas. I think it's much cheaper over there. Even their VAT is low, maybe about 5%. VAT does not tax groceries, essential food stuffs; only value-added items, unlike our GST which tax everything. I remember going to a Vietnamese supermart, bought a whole big fish for US$5. They deep fried for me and I took a whole week to finish it alone. Here you try to buy 2 small piece of fresh fish from ntuc and it's almost $10. Edited March 28, 2016 by Kb27 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaronlkl Supersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 I tot its the most expensive city to live in the world? why he took the job without checking the report? already say singapore has the highest living cost in asia liao. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 I tot its the most expensive city to live in the world?Maybe he never surf MCF 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 Maybe he never surf MCF 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 (edited) In USA eat out is very expensive. Singapore is mainly car price is highest that's what contribute to high cost of living. Actually if take into account the income level then it is not really so bad. In many countries things and cost of living is very low but many people has no jobs, like Indonesia and Philippines . Here yo can choose to eat crab or economical rice. Edited March 28, 2016 by Ingenius 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic March 29, 2016 Share March 29, 2016 In USA eat out is very expensive. Singapore is mainly car price is highest that's what contribute to high cost of living. Actually if take into account the income level then it is not really so bad. In many countries things and cost of living is very low but many people has no jobs, like Indonesia and Philippines . Here yo can choose to eat crab or economical rice.Actually it's not really that expensive if you compare like our fast food prices to theirs and local food chains and like pizza's and burritos/ nacho's stuff but definetely cannot find hawker food court concept there but they do have similar too nowadays and their portions are much bigger than ours but our car cost and property rentals are a killer and most of their workers in this joints are like on hourly basis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 29, 2016 Share March 29, 2016 I got read news one ok. Screenshot_20160328-223400.png how come no boleh land. from what i see, boleh land lagi ex to eat out for locals. One bowl of noodle soup no 5 ringgit no eat. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...