Joseph22 Turbocharged July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 Finally, someone bother to put it into words. one thing i dont agree on is german having best worker. work with a few of them. they are mostly just proud, they are fortunate that they have some great engineer which let them have a lead in technology where people need to get from them. in general, not all germans are great worker. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 Can see it in another light. Most sgians seems to be giving up on the rat race. Back in the 70s and 80s we are the pride of SEA where we are number 1 in the region and things were looking up. Hard work will be automatically means u will get somewhere in life owns a car...a house/apartment and can look forward to retiring. Now everything so expensive and those up there wants high productivity but getting same pay as a decade ago. There is no point of thinking of retirement as most of the money in cpf will be locked down. The new fts are working hard as the money made here is big comparing to the pittance given back home. They also know that in a decade or 2 they can sell-off everything and return home. Singaporean cant do that...stucked with big loans...and nowhere to return to. Human nature....human nature to slowly give up when there is nothing to look forward......better buy toto n get the hell outta here! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 then those who vote against ruling party just because of low wages is also missing the point liao. the problem is themself. wah piang you on leave whole of june ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 *facepalm* Here the story is about the contrast between real world median income of the middle class vs GDP per capita figures for the last 10years. What ppl can afford be it flat or car in the last 5 years. Not who voting for who siol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 one thing i dont agree on is german having best worker. work with a few of them. they are mostly just proud, they are fortunate that they have some great engineer which let them have a lead in technology where people need to get from them. in general, not all germans are great worker. Hahaha..i agree on your conclusion. Work with them before, some are good and some are just aas normal as us. Funny thing though....they can suka2 declare their own coffe break Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 I agree with the part where it says middle class dreams has become a team effort. Many parents are helping their children to have a head start in life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 (edited) I agree with the part where it says middle class dreams has become a team effort. Many parents are helping their children to have a head start in life. But what about the latter part which was not mentioned. When the children become parents, the inflation and whatever set in they could have drop from middle income to low income....actually what they are trying to say is hard to catch up. Throughout the show they say many times that the average median income did not rise much in the 10 years. Edited July 1, 2013 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BennyEd Neutral Newbie July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 Can see it in another light. Most sgians seems to be giving up on the rat race. Back in the 70s and 80s we are the pride of SEA where we are number 1 in the region and things were looking up. Hard work will be automatically means u will get somewhere in life owns a car...a house/apartment and can look forward to retiring. Now everything so expensive and those up there wants high productivity but getting same pay as a decade ago. There is no point of thinking of retirement as most of the money in cpf will be locked down. The new fts are working hard as the money made here is big comparing to the pittance given back home. They also know that in a decade or 2 they can sell-off everything and return home. Singaporean cant do that...stucked with big loans...and nowhere to return to. Human nature....human nature to slowly give up when there is nothing to look forward......better buy toto n get the hell outta here! Nowadays the boss expects you to do double the work at half the pay...plus now SG people job security is at an all time low. Even though you work like a dog, in the end tio retrenched and replaced by FT because the FT will do the sh*t you do for half the pay, and somemore 'tripod' the boss like no tomorrow. So how now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 Take a walk to condo showroom and you will not feel the middle class blues. Buyers are snapping up units like no tomorrow. Any you hear reports that many are first time home buyers. Next, take a walk into car showrooms of the famous 3 conti brands, again ppl are buying new cars despite the record COE and loan restriction. So tell me, where got middle class blue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 wah piang you on leave whole of june ah i want to reach middle class mah. if whole day at MCF how to achieve that anyway, now a day more busy so less productive in mcf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BennyEd Neutral Newbie July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 (edited) one thing i dont agree on is german having best worker. work with a few of them. they are mostly just proud, they are fortunate that they have some great engineer which let them have a lead in technology where people need to get from them. in general, not all germans are great worker. Every nationality got some great workers, got some average ones, and got laoya ones... Except for Jipun. All the Japs I work with so far are damn bleddy hardworking. Edited July 1, 2013 by BennyEd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 Take a walk to condo showroom and you will not feel the middle class blues. Buyers are snapping up units like no tomorrow. Any you hear reports that many are first time home buyers. Next, take a walk into car showrooms of the famous 3 conti brands, again ppl are buying new cars despite the record COE and loan restriction. So tell me, where got middle class blue? those middle class you mentioned are table wiper standard middle class and not the middle class being referred to in the show Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 I agree with the part where it says middle class dreams has become a team effort. Many parents are helping their children to have a head start in life. like this? A $2 million EC: What's the deal? Posted on Jan 2, 2013 8:16 PM Updated: Jan 9, 2013 1:54 AMByAaron Low By Aaron Low More Sharing ServicesShare on printShare on emailShare on twitterShare on facebook As 2012 drew to a close, one hot topic got tongues wagging Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 every launch also full house no matter how much they increase the psf, likewise for car, all upgrading to middle class [bounce2] Take a walk to condo showroom and you will not feel the middle class blues. Buyers are snapping up units like no tomorrow. Any you hear reports that many are first time home buyers. Next, take a walk into car showrooms of the famous 3 conti brands, again ppl are buying new cars despite the record COE and loan restriction. So tell me, where got middle class blue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 I think the real concern is what figures do the gahment use. If they use the GDP per capita figure as a gauge to price the flats and cars, the middle class are screwed coz their median income is far from it. Which I think is pretty much now's the case since they keep saying these things are affordable when it's obviously not. Worse of all is that they cannot gos-tan or reverse the prices. Only way now as we have seen is they intro "cooling measures" to stagnant the prices and let salary catch up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 like this? A $2 million EC: What's the deal? Posted on Jan 2, 2013 8:16 PM Updated: Jan 9, 2013 1:54 AMByAaron Low By Aaron Low More Sharing ServicesShare on printShare on emailShare on twitterShare on facebook As 2012 drew to a close, one hot topic got tongues wagging Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 every launch also full house no matter how much they increase the psf, likewise for car, all upgrading to middle class [bounce2] Look at the way they pack the showroom and buy condo like no tomorrow, I thought they all have upgraded to upper class liao. But suddenly, I saw another news that household debt is now at record high too. So the middle class is chasing their dreams like upper class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 Every nationality got some great workers, got some average ones, and got laoya ones... Except for Jipun. All the Japs I work with so far are damn bleddy hardworking. you have to work in their company to know if they have any lao ya one. from my experience working in jippun company. they also have. only the ratio is very little compare to other country. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...