Lala81 Hypersonic July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 Agree with you on that. Esp some type will bring in their own village and the entire dept all same passport...but how do you guard against this? Cannot answer. cos i don't earn a million dollars. I think restricting nationality types is too restrictive on the company. Especially in smaller companies like say only a small F&B chain. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 (edited) Great discussion! MNC while being able to pay more, corporate culture different. Though the ladder to climb is higher and longer, so probably more advancement opportunities. no leh. from exp. mnc pay is over rated. maybe just for the top top few performers pay is fantastic. for the rest it's so so nia. if you are average. join the civil service for above average pay and job security. Edited July 4, 2013 by Little_prince Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 I'm working with a local agency now and they take good care of all the staff. Most of us are locals, but we have a few FTs who truly are talents. Integrate well with us and work well with us. That's the kind of FTs we like and need. Problem is, now we got all these mudder fudder jokers coming in here with sloppy work performance and see us no up. Like that tiong family who actually wanted their Indian neighbour to stop cooking curry. Shocking part is that the gahmen actually agreed with the tiongs. Anyways, came here to say that most local SMEs are very good when it comes to giving priority to locals in terms of hiring and keeping employees happy. MNCs, not so much. You are lucky to work in such company. My company full of foreigners, one office in one dept alone 10 over people, only 3-4 locals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 Yah lah you old man lah hor. Just because I newb don't mean I come here for pap bashing. If i really wan pap bashing I go hwz lagi best. it is okay if you want to bash PAP. not my boss mah. but if you want to bash then respect other for their view too. no point start classifying ppl just because they are different view. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 no leh. from exp. mnc pay is over rated. maybe just for the top top few performers pay is fantastic. for the rest it's so so nia. if you are average. join the civil service for above average pay and job security. no leh. Civil service is only good on starting pay nia. after that pay increment are really bad.. unless you on fast track. and also must be in correct ministry. if not you become a under paid over work staff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 no leh. Civil service is only good on starting pay nia. after that pay increment are really bad.. unless you on fast track. and also must be in correct ministry. if not you become a under paid over work staff. True. I guess the job stability compensates for the lower pay raise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 no leh. Civil service is only good on starting pay nia. after that pay increment are really bad.. unless you on fast track. and also must be in correct ministry. if not you become a under paid over work staff. isit. maybe because i see my friends inside all doing well. degree holder. average hons. 32 yr old. 6k. above or below market rate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 True. I guess the job stability compensates for the lower pay raise. what i heard from my friend in Civil servant is that some will quit and then join back after a few years of experience to get higher position and pay. and guess what.. most will have more pay then those who faithfully stay in their job. i guess this is happening island wide for all company. Singapore dont practise reward the loyal worker well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 (edited) isit. maybe because i see my friends inside all doing well. degree holder. average hons. 32 yr old. 6k. above or below market rate. what their post and which ministry? cause i got friend working for Civil servant, yearly increment less than 100 dollar nia. btw what is considered average hons???? Edited July 4, 2013 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 what their post and which ministry? cause i got friend working for Civil servant, yearly increment less than 100 dollar nia. btw what is considered average hons???? If the pay is also about $5-6k, doesnt matter if the increment is less than $100. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 isit. maybe because i see my friends inside all doing well. degree holder. average hons. 32 yr old. 6k. above or below market rate. Drawing $6K? What position? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VolksBarSG Clutched July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 it is okay if you want to bash PAP. not my boss mah. but if you want to bash then respect other for their view too. no point start classifying ppl just because they are different view. Can bash idea...just dun bash ppl...end of day we are all here to chill poondey... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 Can bash idea...just dun bash ppl...end of day we are all here to chill poondey... like! looks like some ppl here need yellow reminders constantly.... good the hols over so i can re focue <_< Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 (edited) Drawing $6K? What position? asst or deputy director i think . old friend . info should be quite accurate. quite ok for a 3rd class hons me thinks Edited July 4, 2013 by Little_prince Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 Can bash idea...just dun bash ppl...end of day we are all here to chill poondey... yap we are all here to chill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 like! looks like some ppl here need yellow reminders constantly.... good the hols over so i can re focue <_< eh. feel better liaoz? can come out patrol liaoz ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 asst or deputy director i think . old friend . info should be quite accurate. quite ok for a 3rd class hons me thinks that is avg salary...if u look at civil svc salary, is overall age thta they look into consideration at end of day. Some computation they have Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 4, 2013 Share July 4, 2013 asst or deputy director i think . old friend . number should be quite accurate. he Asst/Deputy Director mah.. maybe average hons but good working attitude leh... or best.. all the good candidates leave liao end up he is the only one to promote i got a friend in JTC, around 29, he already Asst/D Director and drawing around that figure. First class Hons. but his colleague who are older are getting lesser and not promoted as fast. btw, he wasnt on fast track just that his department have lots of oppounity for him to how his worth. a smart fellow from humble family background. very smart too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...