Middle class blues

Mockngbrd

what their post and which ministry? cause i got friend working for Civil servant, yearly increment less than 100 dollar nia.

btw what is considered average hons????

in hdb. hons is 3rd class.

100 increment is low. but they always got market adjustment. i'm in mnc for so many yrs also no adjust before <_<

yes...the mkt adjustment makes up more for any increment given annually....a rough gauge is that the overall addition can be abt 4-5k annually...and depending on the overall structure and timing, got payback to the time summore

that is avg salary...if u look at civil svc salary, is overall age thta they look into consideration at end of day. Some computation they have

hmm. i'm pretty sure a engineer in mnc at 32 dont draw 6k.

if that is average for civil service, i think it's a pretty good deal

I'm working with a local agency now and they take good care of all the staff. Most of us are locals, but we have a few FTs who truly are talents. Integrate well with us and work well with us. That's the kind of FTs we like and need. Problem is, now we got all these mudder fudder jokers coming in here with sloppy work performance and see us no up. Like that tiong family who actually wanted their Indian neighbour to stop cooking curry. Shocking part is that the gahmen actually agreed with the tiongs.

Anyways, came here to say that most local SMEs are very good when it comes to giving priority to locals in terms of hiring and keeping employees happy. MNCs, not so much.

Ya, I remembered that incident too. Really [mad] at the PRC family. If they want to relocate to another country, they should be prepared for cultural difference. If they just want to transplant their lifestyle from China to Singapore, might as well go back to China or wherever they were from.

no leh. from exp. mnc pay is over rated. maybe just for the top top few performers pay is fantastic. for the rest it's so so nia.

if you are average. join the civil service for above average pay and job security. [laugh]

Guess it's the overrated ones that people remember lor, haha [laugh]

he Asst/Deputy Director mah.. maybe average hons but good working attitude leh...

or best.. all the good candidates leave liao end up he is the only one to promote [:p]

i got a friend in JTC, around 29, he already Asst/D Director and drawing around that figure. First class Hons. but his colleague who are older are getting lesser and not promoted as fast.

btw, he wasnt on fast track just that his department have lots of oppounity for him to how his worth. a smart fellow from humble family background. very smart too.

yeah. i guess so. good things about civil service is that opp open up , they prefer to promote from within than to hire from outside.

in mnc if my manager quit, they usually hire from outside rather than promote.

at least that my observation.

correct....ppl have to look at the big picture and not look and nitpick over the smalle petty things like increments

aiyah how much u give, ppl also not happy...money is temporary, a good work life balance is priceless and that that $$$ cannot be bought

if ppl only look at the $$$, true to my word, they are not worth any salt

The garbage man is highly trained in what we would last time call the Vocational Institute. He knows how to operate complex machinery and is highly efficient at his job thanks to the specialised training.

yea, im surprised ppl can call the west a complete mess. I doubt they even visited those places.

Ya, I remembered that incident too. Really [mad] at the PRC family. If they want to relocate to another country, they should be prepared for cultural difference. If they just want to transplant their lifestyle from China to Singapore, might as well go back to China or wherever they were from.

Guess it's the overrated ones that people remember lor, haha [laugh]

not to mention a little incident where a chinaman calls us dogs and our elected member of parliment tells us to reflect. [laugh]

correct....ppl have to look at the big picture and not look and nitpick over the smalle petty things like increments

aiyah how much u give, ppl also not happy...money is temporary, a good work life balance is priceless and that that $$$ cannot be bought

true true.

anyway glad i left the mnc culture. the politicking and backstabbing as well as the inherent instability of the job is too much for me to take.

Singapore's unemployment rate is a low 1.9% , this shows that whether FT or not, locals still have jobs what. It is not as if they take away our jobs and we are left jobless. As for suppressing wage, there are many people out there who earns good salary, and those who earn low salary shoud take a look at themselves before blaming the FTs for suppressing their wage. We are in a meritocracy society, and if a FT can replace your job, it only shows how inadequate you are (read how little market value you have).

Bro, well said... I feel the same as you. Don't blame the FT for suppressing the wage. I have been telling my friends and colleagues if you find that your job can be replaced by a FT, then 2 things will happen

1. You pay will be capped

2. You job will be in danger.

Hence, you have to do everything possible to ensure that your value to the company cannot be replaced by the FT. And with regards to what needs to be done so that a person's value to the company cannot be replaced by FT, the best person to answer this is the person himself... It is your own career and you have to manage it yourself.

100 increment is low. but they always got market adjustment. i'm in mnc for so many yrs also no adjust before

dont want to create double post so reply you all in this post.

you have a point there. Market adjustment is always the best like RadX say. this will keep then inline with those fresh grad. something MNC or SME dont do.

Over look on this.

speaking of engineer dont draw 6K. a lot of engineer working in GLC dont think so. leh, they always think engineer in commerical world get 5K in 5 years.

[nod] yeah agree with all limps up

true true.

anyway glad i left the mnc culture. the politicking and backstabbing as well as the inherent instability of the job is too much for me to take.

where you go to liao?? GLC or Ministry [:p]

I have my best buddy, working in mnc, hd of BD, work hours abt 12 hrs a day, wknds as well......he is burnt out. we both earn the same in the 6 fig bracket, but i work half his hours, and i have good worklife.

He wants out as his work is taking a toll on his life, family and even marriage....and i told him, that such things $$$ cannot buy. Thus, he is looking and at any opportunity, he will leave.

I have my best buddy, working in mnc, hd of BD, work hours abt 12 hrs a day, wknds as well......he is burnt out. we both earn the same in the 6 fig bracket, but i work half his hours, and i have good worklife.

He wants out as his work is taking a toll on his life, family and even marriage....and i told him, that such things $$ cannot buy. Thus, he is looking and at any opportunity, he will leave.

wah sei.....u get paid 6 figures a month killing trolls in mcf ah? [:p][laugh]