Mustank Hypersonic February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 Pump full liao Boh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 (edited) Whether it's the carrot, or stick, its up to the SG garmen to decide (with new policies in place). But going by what the various EU sovereign countries had done, it is mainly using the stick ... including driving bans for diesel passenger cars on certain days of the week, taxation tweaks, etc. The SG garmen may take those into consideration, going toward! ðð¼ Who here is disputing that it isn't up to the govt? That's why people here are criticizing them isn't it? Yet you seem to be defending this policy change without any other justification other than "diesel bad". By the way, most of us here are not upset about this affecting us monetarily because we don't drive diesel cars (except maybe Mustank and a few others). We've just unhappy because it is unjust. Pump full liao Boh? You going to pump MDO right. Won't affect you anyway. Edited February 19, 2017 by Kusje 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 Who here is disputing that it isn't up to the govt? That's why people here are criticizing them isn't it? Yet you seem to be defending this policy change without any other justification other than "diesel bad". By the way, most of us here are not upset about this affecting us monetarily because we don't drive diesel cars (except maybe Mustank and a few others). We've just unhappy because it is unjust. You going to pump MDO right. Won't affect you anyway. He will only be scared if govt implements tax on 2 or more cars. But then we know that that won't likely to happen. All policies are geared towards revenue generation. I see a possibility to up road tax for old cars especially for the 11-15 years. To make it not incremental but 150% one shot. This is to reduce the number of 5year coes. They obviously want everyone to buy new so that ARF, GST custom duties can be collected like someone posted. I think they finally realized the folly of their screwed up system where the PARF is so low such due to cevs that many will renew. Long long time ago where parf was 11.2k and 29k hardly anyone kept cars beyond 10years unless it was a merc. A tsunami of coe renews might come in 10years given this cevs folly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 Who here is disputing that it isn't up to the govt? That's why people here are criticizing them isn't it? Yet you seem to be defending this policy change without any other justification other than "diesel bad". By the way, most of us here are not upset about this affecting us monetarily because we don't drive diesel cars (except maybe Mustank and a few others). We've just unhappy because it is unjust. You going to pump MDO right. Won't affect you anyway. Criticise all you want 70% majority voted ... toe the line! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 (edited) Full Fool... can't squeeze anymore; need to hump the car. Then, don't drive... Wait until Monday announcement, then jin song after hearing the news... Still fool tank at the cheaperer price inside tank. Scarli, Monday they drop premium petrol duty by 10 cents/litre. All pump fool, squeeze balls and die unnatural death. Pump full liao Boh? Edited February 19, 2017 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 Pump full liao Boh? you need jellycan? I have 1 standby, can T-loan to you first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blublak 3rd Gear February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 after all the debates..., still implement. of course. nothing new. no need to be surprised. wait for tsunami only. one party system leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yysiong 3rd Gear February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 Think short term wise,hybrid is the way to go. Maybe in the longer govt may invest in some start up that does electric vehicle charging. Folks like exxon shell will nv advocate EV though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 Think short term wise,hybrid is the way to go. Maybe in the longer govt may invest in some start up that does electric vehicle charging. Folks like exxon shell will nv advocate EV though. Supporting Hybrid is opposite to revenue generation. Find it hard to believe they will do this. More hybrids means less consumption of petrol means less tax revenue earned. Something has to go up to plug it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yysiong 3rd Gear February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 Supporting Hybrid is opposite to revenue generation. Find it hard to believe they will do this. More hybrids means less consumption of petrol means less tax revenue earned. Something has to go up to plug it.Dun forget govt has balance emission quota and revenue due to many green group advocating reduce emission Having more hybrid on the road will help them reduce the overall emission in SG. How to generate more revenue for them, maybe remove diesel CEVS, or introduce pump tax for diesel, or higher road tax for vehicle with higher emission. To me, there is only a few way to reduce emission, but many ways to charge more for car driver. If im the gahment, i will bait the hybrid buyer, and milk the existing non hybrid and diesel owner. This way, i gradually reduce emssion and increase my revenue significantly. Dun forget hybrid is less than 1% of total car population. So revenue impact minimal. And dun forget, we got more chiongster than tree loving dude in SG, and hybrid model is limited, so i doubt hybrid will become mainstream soon. 10 yr later when hybrid take the lead, then introduce new scheme. Prob 10 year later, new bait is EV and tax on petrol is sky high. then another 10 yr later, they charge u exorbitant price for turbo charging your EV cos SG need nuclear powerplant to support all the charging station Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 Who here is disputing that it isn't up to the govt? That's why people here are criticizing them isn't it? Yet you seem to be defending this policy change without any other justification other than "diesel bad". By the way, most of us here are not upset about this affecting us monetarily because we don't drive diesel cars (except maybe Mustank and a few others). We've just unhappy because it is unjust. You going to pump MDO right. Won't affect you anyway. Hehehe you need jellycan? I have 1 standby, can T-loan to you first. Need skidtanker :( Full Fool... can't squeeze anymore; need to hump the car. Then, don't drive... Wait until Monday announcement, then jin song after hearing the news... Still fool tank at the cheaperer price inside tank. Scarli, Monday they drop premium petrol duty by 10 cents/litre. All pump fool, squeeze balls and die unnatural death. They reduce?!?!??!Heheheheheheh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 You know, all this talk about the sins of diesel.. wouldn't it be funny if some time down the road, what if they find that disposing those batteries used in hybrid cars is even more toxic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 You know, all this talk about the sins of diesel.. wouldn't it be funny if some time down the road, what if they find that disposing those batteries used in hybrid cars is even more toxic? Probably coming up after another 5 years. Over here ah gong is always correct. This is 70% hor, if govt say diesel is bad, everyone who own diesel will tio jialat jialat. Simi give chance to current owners? 70% hor...... We can only try to stay on the "correct" side of the law... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 You know, all this talk about the sins of diesel.. wouldn't it be funny if some time down the road, what if they find that disposing those batteries used in hybrid cars is even more toxic? Another reason to charge for disposal lor. Haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 Probably coming up after another 5 years. Over here ah gong is always correct. This is 70% hor, if govt say diesel is bad, everyone who own diesel will tio jialat jialat. # of private diesel pales in comparison to commercial diesel vehicles, would be super ridiculous to punish private diesel owners and ignore the commercial ones in the name of reducing pollution, but Gahment won't kill companies... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 # of private diesel pales in comparison to commercial diesel vehicles, would be super ridiculous to punish private diesel owners and ignore the commercial ones in the name of reducing pollution, but Gahment won't kill companies... if this is an area they wish to address, higher tax is on the card. however, with the weak economy, they can always provide other forms of aid for companies. so i feel cost for operating diesel private car will goes up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 # of private diesel pales in comparison to commercial diesel vehicles, would be super ridiculous to punish private diesel owners and ignore the commercial ones in the name of reducing pollution, but Gahment won't kill companies... You are not the first to point out the ridiculousness of the situation. But I doubt the true intention is to reduce pollution. It's like the culling of chickens at sin ming. First say it's not the endangered red junglefowl, next day say because of noise complaints by residents, next day say to stop spread of bird flu because bird flu season coming. Limpeh say it is all jiao wei! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 Pumped full tank of diesel for both vans liao and bracing for tomorrow budget. Actually it seems to went up already. Now it's $1.35 per L...Knn. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...