TVT Supercharged April 25, 2014 Share April 25, 2014 As the next weekend may also be treated by some as a long weekend (thursday being public holiday 1 May), you think by Sat checkpoints should be cleared going north since the same principle you cited can also apply? i am planning to go north on sat morning Hard to say but I believed not, cos Friday is still a working day. Anyway if you need go to in, just go lah....jam or no jam should not be a consideration at all. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear April 25, 2014 Share April 25, 2014 Yesterday 11am was caught in the jam towards jb for one hour coming back around two pm Was one n half hour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear April 25, 2014 Share April 25, 2014 got stuck in stupid jam on way back from jb at wodlands ciq. stupid because it seems unnecessary. i took the leftest most lane into woodlands, which saw the cars being diverted to the ancient checkpoint area just beside the marsiling hdb blocks, and emerge near marsiling central. After boot check and passport check, all the cars exiting that point were forced to merge into a single lane, and then merge into heavy traffic of marsiling central. Only when the heavy traffic stops for a pedestrian traffic crossing, will a few cars manage to exit. To make it worse, there is a single large truck-size gantry at that exit point, which a cisco guard mans manually, and seems instructed to close whenever the queue of cars stop moving, so it will add precious seconds to the exit time, which means only about 6 cars can exit every few minutes. Time stuck there AFTER passport and boot check: 30 minutes summary: avoid leftmost lanes into woodlands ciq bro, not necessary the leftmost lane being diverted to old checkpoint exit. That time i at the middle lane also kena diverted....the lan jiao road there damn farking bumpy sia..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maskedrider 4th Gear April 25, 2014 Share April 25, 2014 Jam time table for today's call 2 hours - standard 1-1/2 hours - normal 1 hour - adnormal 1/2 hour - crazy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jajoba123 3rd Gear April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 tis is to remind all drivers to be cautious: not to break traffic light n wear seat belt at all time time : early morning location : the last traffic light before entering the JB custom. those frequent JB alot should know wat i meant. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azhiwen 3rd Gear April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Yesterday was crazy! Bad bad jam even in the middle of the night on a normal Sunday. Malaysia side was a breeze and was stuck just after coming out onto the causeway. Took me slightly more than an hour to clear the SIngapore side, from 2.24am to 3.36am. The 4 extreme right lanes were closed. So all cars had to take the 4 left lanes into the customs. Realised that the problem was created by the secondary checking area. Even though they had all lanes open, but it wasn't being cleared fast enough as compared to when all the lanes were opened? Wonder if this is a new trial being undertaken by the ICA, where they close off most of the lanes and concentrate their manpower on the remaining 1 or 2 lanes. Last Saturday when I went in at around 4am, it was similar, all lanes were closed, except left 1 lane open for the cars to use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Yesterday was crazy! Bad bad jam even in the middle of the night on a normal Sunday. Malaysia side was a breeze and was stuck just after coming out onto the causeway. Took me slightly more than an hour to clear the SIngapore side, from 2.24am to 3.36am. The 4 extreme right lanes were closed. So all cars had to take the 4 left lanes into the customs. Realised that the problem was created by the secondary checking area. Even though they had all lanes open, but it wasn't being cleared fast enough as compared to when all the lanes were opened? Wonder if this is a new trial being undertaken by the ICA, where they close off most of the lanes and concentrate their manpower on the remaining 1 or 2 lanes. Last Saturday when I went in at around 4am, it was similar, all lanes were closed, except left 1 lane open for the cars to use. But yesterday about 8-9pm I look at the LTA cam and it was all clear on the Causeway, both ways.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azhiwen 3rd Gear April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Yes, yesterday was clear all the way until around 12 midnight, then the jam starting building up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 (edited) But yesterday about 8-9pm I look at the LTA cam and it was all clear on the Causeway, both ways.... The jam in JB before the CIQ was really bad last night, I was stuck for more than 1 hour. After CIQ, it was a breeze. The camera don't tell much these days. Looks like I won't be going JB in the near future unless absolutely necessary. Is the jam these days a sign of more and more Singaporeans going in to pump petrol to save that few dollars? If it is, I think hard time coming liow.... Edited April 28, 2014 by Voodooman 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azhiwen 3rd Gear April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Exchange rate also not helping. Changed some RM yesterday at J8 at 259.12. I know more and more of my friends are going JB to shop and pump petrol, therefore adding to the jams at the checkpoints. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limpeh23 2nd Gear April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Exchange rate also not helping. Changed some RM yesterday at J8 at 259.12. I know more and more of my friends are going JB to shop and pump petrol, therefore adding to the jams at the checkpoints. Good for you, I changed mine at 2.58 yesterday in JB. From the look of things, the jams aren't going to get better anytime soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yhn 4th Gear April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Crossed over to JB to do some errant this morning with a short Q both sides. Coming back, joined the Q at 9.50 just before the last traffic light of CIQ. It was slow moving all the way to SG side sticking to the extreme left lane. Past the mid point of the causeway, noticed that many cars filtering left to that motorcycle, and ya this was the moving lane with marshals directing cars in batches between main complex and 'new" check point clearance area. The right lanes were like packed with trucks, bus and vans, inching very slowly. This appear to be the new arrangement. Onto the BKE at 1045am, a total of 50 mins end to end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged May 3, 2014 Share May 3, 2014 As the next weekend may also be treated by some as a long weekend (thursday being public holiday 1 May), you think by Sat checkpoints should be cleared going north since the same principle you cited can also apply? i am planning to go north on sat morning So how was the jam this morning, bro S7 ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged May 3, 2014 Share May 3, 2014 went in this morning 9+ via causeway sg side clear. MY side slow moving but moves... 20 mins return 11+ MY/SG side smooth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic May 3, 2014 Share May 3, 2014 tis is to remind all drivers to be cautious: not to break traffic light n wear seat belt at all time time : early morning location : the last traffic light before entering the JB custom. those frequent JB alot should know wat i meant. These 2 idiots is always standing before and after JB Custom Check Point, they're finding drivers for crossed red light and crossed into bus lane 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 3, 2014 Share May 3, 2014 So how was the jam this morning, bro S7 ? I also went in abt 11am(sat) via cway very slight/no jam n smooth. Came back abt 4pm but cway jammed so I return via 2nd link. Very clear n smooth n no jam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 So how was the jam this morning, bro S7 ? 6am went in no jam, but saw 1 officer manning 2 MY immigration stations!!! 9pm came back 2nd link short queue, but one idiot SGP hatchback still cut lane like his grand father's ICA complex Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 6am went in no jam, but saw 1 officer manning 2 MY immigration stations!!! 9pm came back 2nd link short queue, but one idiot SGP hatchback still cut lane like his grand father's ICA complex Don't bother about the cut lane hatchback. Someday, some other cars will cut his lane as well. Anyway.... Wow! Looks like its a smooth journey for you yesterday. So...Next Sat same routine again? Same destination again? Same type of booking, again? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...