Marina Coastal Expressway (MCE)

Porker

If the design is good, it does not need to require the drivers to take a long time to design. If its a f**k up design..well it will be.

Some pointers;

1) If it is not ready, PLEASE DO NOT ESTABLISH IT OR OPEN IT. You are just making a bigger fool of yourself (In fact, the LTA is big joke as of now)

2) Run parallel trial. Common sense will tell you. My god...who are the people the government paying too? Solely ball carriers and "yes-man"?

3) Mainly signage not up and proper. Back to point 1

4) GIVE THE REAL REASON WHY MCE IS BUILT. STATE IT IN SHIT TIMES. (most of the 60.1% read it) If it is to elevate traffic issues, aren't we able to built double or triple decker expressways instead dig here dig there?

Since traffic jam gona be so bad.....how about setting up a beverage stall ($2 for kopi guo) and portable toilet stall ($1 per entry) along the MCE to earn some $$$?

i suggest they have people walking around sell "mah piew pou" as well... [grin]

Anyway get ready for tmr when school reopens. I'm anticipating ill informed drivers herding to the central blvd exit in both directions. I only use the KPE-MCE-AYE stretch in the evening to get home. Touch wood. Hopefully no accident that will cause jam.

May have atb walking between cars to driver/passenger's window offering feel n touch service to ease the frustrations sitting in a big jam!!!

I was driving in MCE today... 4-5pm.

Coming from KPE. Very easy to know which lane to use.

The lane is wider than others. The high speed corner is nice!

Best part is coming out from MCE to AYE. Saw the huge container ship next to us.

So, I shall call MCE... Most Cantik Expressway.... [grin]

Coming back from AYE, in the MCE... all lanes are full of cars way before the split to KPE and ECP. Ave speed of 60km. It was 5pm on public holiday... Good luck to those who use it tomorrow.

I was driving in MCE today... 4-5pm.

Coming from KPE. Very easy to know which lane to use.

The lane is wider than others. The high speed corner is nice!

Best part is coming out from MCE to AYE. Saw the huge container ship next to us.

So, I shall call MCE... Most Cantik Expressway.... [grin]

Coming back from AYE, in the MCE... all lanes are full of cars way before the split to KPE and ECP. Ave speed of 60km. It was 5pm on public holiday... Good luck to those who use it tomorrow.

I doubt luck will help tomorrow, I drove there 3-4 time in past few days, still cannot figure out where about at the marina coast/central boulevard area, honestly you can't tell north east south west when you are there! Edited by Jman888

If you are driving from AYE direction eastward toward KPE/ECP, once you start the long straight in the tunnel (about 2.3km in length), the "undersea" portion is about 2/3 mark on this straight.

But why want to know where the sea is? you will still see concrete walls/ceiling around you, no water. [grin]

That's the problem!!

MCE's selling point is underwater tunnel, that is why cost so kuch..... but when travelling on car, don even know when is inside underwayer, then inside liao also cannot see anything except concrete wall......anothar SMLJ?!!

Once you have driven the route a few times you shouldn't need signs, it will then be a case of sign overload if they put more in. And if drivers pre-empted what lanes they should be in suitably ahead of time then a lot of issues of jams and congestions could be minimised.

Left and right lane switching at the same time onto the same lane. 3/5 wah lau. People come in have to get out of first tow lanes while people lining up for ECP Changi have to come left. Stress la deh

Ho say if you have to filter today like me, prime mover, bus in the way, with moto bringing up the rear.

Taxi driver slowing atrociously to see said container ship or entry, ERP, go check IU.

Blood pressure went up.

Sell Mah Piew Boh indeed.

Edited by Datsun366

a whopping $4.3 billions dollars MCE

it better deliver "tangible" benefits and measurable kpi to justify why spent billions dollars building it where the current ECP is doing the job "fantastically"

I doubt luck will help tomorrow, I drove there 3-4 in past few days, still cannot figure out where about at the marina coast/central boulevard area, honestly you can't tell north east south west when you are there!

Very easy to get to Central boulevard from let say Suntec area.

First is to drive over the bridge to MBS and you will hit Central boulevard. OK... got ERP.

Or, Ophir road, still can keep right to go up Shears bridge. When coming down the bridge, keep left most. You will get to the Marina boulevard. Turn left and you will be heading to MCE. Middle and right lane... into the CBD.

That's the problem!!

MCE's selling point is underwater tunnel, that is why cost so kuch..... but when travelling on car, don even know when is inside underwayer, then inside liao also cannot see anything except concrete wall......anothar SMLJ?!!

you expect this meh?

1518286_769622639719393_621516322_n.jpg

Maybe some aunties pushing carts shouting: siew mai...har kaw...char siew bao...!!

you expect this meh?

1518286_769622639719393_621516322_n.jpg

Nice. If accident and hit the glass wall the tunnel sure power ponding....

If I'm not wrong above the MCE tunnel is the mrt tunnel.

That's the problem!!

Exactly!!

Why build expensive underwater/underground tunnel when a above ground viaduct will be just as good moving traffic at the same time giving the users a good views of our skyline!!!

The open space below the viaduct can be public green spaces!!!

Might as well rename MCE to SMLJ Tunnel!!

Edited by Maseratigood