Jman888 Moderator February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 (edited) $780 and counting as kids bag fat hongbao Darren Tang | MyPaper | Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 SINGAPORE - Your children may be raking in big bucks this Chinese New Year, with OCBC Bank predicting that the average hongbao haul will hit $780. It is basing this forecast on previous deposits made in children's accounts during the Chinese New Year period, over the past five years. This year's figure is expected to be the highest in the past seven years. OCBC found that between 2009 and last year, the average amount of hongbao money collected by a child would go up by 12 per cent every year - which means hongbao givers are increasing their amounts far more than the yearly rate of inflation. OCBC also analysed data from last year's deposits, and found that a fifth of hongbao recipients got more than $1,000 during Chinese New Year. Another quarter got between $501 and $1,000, while the majority of 42 per cent received between $100 and $500. The report noted that those living in central and southern Singapore received an average of $622 and $630 respectively, while those living in eastern and western Singapore received an average of $591 and $571 respectively. Those living in the north received the lowest, at an average of $480. Mr Donald MacDonald, head of customer analytics and decisioning at OCBC, noted that with the average amount of money received from red packets increasing, "we believe that parents should take this opportunity to teach their children good saving habits as they receive their hongbao". [email protected] err.... survey conduct by one bank base on amount deposit can be conclusive meh? how much are you getting (if you are still a kid) or your kids are getting in this CNY? Edited February 4, 2014 by Jman888 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 looks like my relatives and friends are all well below average LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 My kids got $400/- each already arm-chio leow ... How they get that figures ..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 4, 2014 Author Share February 4, 2014 My kids got $400/- each already arm-chio leow ... How they get that figures ..... you stay north huh? i think they might get closer feel if conducted by POSB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 Most likely the figures are bolstered by foreigners lah - PRCs and Indonesians. Locals don't think they get this much unless filthy rich kind. Some filthy rich also don't give big ang pao. Don't be surprised it contains less than $10. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 Most likely the figures are bolstered by foreigners lah - PRCs and Indonesians. Locals don't think they get this much unless filthy rich kind. Some filthy rich also don't give big ang pao. Don't be surprised it contains less than $10. I get on average, less than 200... RINGGIT.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 $780? Sup sup water lah.... ...combined takings among my herd, that is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 singapore is really a boring place hor?.. like that also must do survey and write news?.. what's next?? average how many slice of bak kua we eat? how many mandarin orange we eat?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 (edited) My kids got $400/- each already arm-chio leow ... How they get that figures ..... Where else? When you see that the OCBC bank made these estimates. No need to guess. Baby bonus account lor. LoL... KNN, so much for privacy. Edited February 4, 2014 by Watwheels 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 4, 2014 Author Share February 4, 2014 (edited) singapore is really a boring place hor?.. like that also must do survey and write news?.. what's next?? average how many slice of bak kua we eat? how many mandarin orange we eat?... anything to do with financial or economy indicator must publish total sales of bak kua is also a good indicator Edited February 4, 2014 by Jman888 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 Where else? When you see that the OCBC bank made these estimates. No need to guess. Baby bonus account lor. LoL... KNN, so much for privacy. Govt give $ for $ match for baby bonus account up till 12k i think last tiume i also top up 6k to get free 6k from Govt then used it all up for kids education fees i think cannot use baby bonus account as proxy for ang bao marnie bey zhun one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 Govt give $ for $ match for baby bonus account up till 12k i think last tiume i also top up 6k to get free 6k from Govt then used it all up for kids education fees i think cannot use baby bonus account as proxy for ang bao marnie bey zhun one They just want to paint some rosy pigture. All these gahment-run banks....Who cares zhun or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 They just want to paint some rosy pigture. All these gahment-run banks....Who cares zhun or not? sti stomach pain so have to talk up ang bao index 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 (edited) $780 per kid? walao, as reported in yahoo no wonder many sporeans fled singapore during CNY ... wahahaha $2 hongbao ... you happy or not happy - cny music video by owl coffee ... hehe Edited February 4, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 what a horribly skewed article. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 4, 2014 Author Share February 4, 2014 what a horribly skewed article. you received more than $2K? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 Wonder what your max you put inside the angpow ... My max was $24/- and lowest $2/- ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged February 4, 2014 Share February 4, 2014 Wonder what your max you put inside the angpow ... My max was $24/- and lowest $2/- ... mine std all these years....My kids $100... $20 for niece/nephew , $8 for close contact and $4 for the rest. . .. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...