Handed a CASE letter to VW today! Blog updates.

Keithchue

The fastest way to kill your engine and GB is to under-rev it.

Most cars have a max redline zone of 6,000 rpm and peak power at this point. You can safely constantly rev up to 3/4 of it. Constantly driving at 3-4K won't kill it, but constantly driving below 2K is sure way to kill it.

driving < 2K rpm? This is really abusing the engine and probably GB.

less than 2k, personally, I don't wot the engine much

Er......you mean you find joy in driving on Singapore's congested roads with so many speed cameras, red light cameras and horrible concrete jungle scenery meh??? I think the Top Gear's 3 Stooges Presenters will KPKB if they were ever tasked to come to Singapore to do an episode.

that might be a good episode to watch....

I actually enjoyed driving at night, no jam and less traffic. There's a lot of nice roads on the outskirts if you are willing to find them.

Congested? It's nothing compared to BKK la.

I do appreciate what we have here.

But come on, less than 2K rpm in every gear, where's the joy? [dizzy]

well, I got lots of torque from pickup, and I installed sprint booster. most japan cars cant out pace me.. so I have to go slow in order not to kiss backside.

Most cars have a max redline zone of 6,000 rpm and peak power at this point. You can safely constantly rev up to 3/4 of it. Constantly driving at 3-4K won't kill it, but constantly driving below 2K is sure way to kill it.

been 4K rev on sports mode, ya, only once.

less than 2k, personally, I don't wot the engine much

that might be a good episode to watch....

well, I got lots of torque from pickup, and I installed sprint booster. most japan cars cant out pace me.. so I have to go slow in order not to kiss backside.

been 4K rev on sports mode, ya, only once.

Maybe you kill the gb with your driving style? .... Should have tried with heavier right leg before you got rid of it... You might have spend lesser time at workshop.... Hehe...

I don't think it is the GB, changed the clutch plates and MU during the last workshop visit, the jerk still there, but If I press harder during 1 to 2, then the jerk is not there.

next thing to change might be the flywheel, but the flyy wheel is not under warranty. cost 18-2000 to replace.  but no confirmation to whether it is the culprit

Really? I didn't know that! hahah. thanks for the info!

I learnt from a mcfer with relatively minimal issues with a DQ200 model that the it needs to be driven hard.  Its basically maybe low revs for 1st couple/few KM, followed by aggressive driving all the way.
MU only down once at 70+k KM.    Though I understand a drain & refill of the DQ200 oil is done every 30k KM.   Also goes for track days.  So I presume it survived the 2nd link/causeway performed once in a while.

Aside from the market who wants a Cat A car with 2.0NA performance, theres a not so small market that goes for it also for the claimed 20km/L.  If this segment keeps the rev down very often, it may explain in part...

But of course it also means that some skill is required to drive it aggressively & legally daily.

OT:  I note that TD car owners also seem to have a fair segment in the game for great FC.  Similarly, keeping revs <2k rpm for TD (in general) all the time will kill engine, GB & ...DPF.

I don't think it is the GB, changed the clutch plates and MU during the last workshop visit, the jerk still there, but If I press harder during 1 to 2, then the jerk is not there.

next thing to change might be the flywheel, but the flyy wheel is not under warranty. cost 18-2000 to replace.  but no confirmation to whether it is the culprit

How bout....remove the sprint booster.....so that you can step harder more often?

tried, same effect, sprint booster actually steps harder without your physical input.

No one is bashing VW lah...

On the contrary, someone tried more than just bash a non-Conti vehicle on TV ...and its maker actually thanked them for it ! [:p]

hilux_invincible_a.jpg

this is the top gear toyota pick up that went through fire, sea water and demolition right?

super power car

what sports car you driving.... sounds funny  [laugh]

this is the top gear toyota pick up that went through fire, sea water and demolition right?

super power car

what sports car you driving.... sounds funny  [laugh]

VW spork car lo

VW got fast car? Most of their car quite normal speed unless driven hard. If never rev above 3k rpm is just like any other B&B car on the road.

yup, mine is labelled spork car. but owner never spork one.

tried, same effect, sprint booster actually steps harder without your physical input.

does VW allow your warranty claims with sprint booster or do you have to remove it every time you go back to VW?

mine is VW sprint booster, but used when I bought it..

I remove the plug everytime I send in for repairs

i believe 7dsg need to be driven hard and mellow driving will kill it prematurely.

rev rev my engine..

mine is VW sprint booster, but used when I bought it..

I remove the plug everytime I send in for repairs

rev rev my engine..

i didn't know VCS sells VW approved oem sprint booster?

who is the supplier?