Could Anyone Have Braked In Time To Avoid This Accident?

Jellandross

Be it got car or no car, a normal person should have stand at the divider to ensure that no oncoming vehicles then cross. This girl didn't even bother to turn her head to check.

I read that she was not moving and unconscious. Could anyone update me how is she now? I'm worried about her cos I am a parent too.

We also nearly kena such acccident many many years ago near the Hougang stadium. Can you imagine a 3 years old Malay girl suddenly dash out of the road when we were driving? Luckily we managed to brake in time. She was alone!!!!!!! If we didn't stop in time, then who will be blamed?

We followed her and what we saw????? After crossing the road, she walked the stairs and walked into one unit of the ground floor of the HDB flat! They were having some function and let the door open, no one look after her and she just wandered herself outside the house! So dangerous!

Oh, i read my colleague's wanbao liao.

The wanbao wrote that:

The girl was conscious when the ambulance came and someone posted on fb that there was no internal injuries.

after much debate i believe i have achieved my objective.

that is bring attention to the Authorities the design of such center fencing.

no where beforehand that i mentioned i was able to stop in time at that speed.

rather i think he shd be more cautious taking into the account of the design of the fencing.

thanks for all the heated debate.....yes i have achieved my objective.

no where i intended to deceive my intention in a willful manner.

when they redesign the fence, drivers will kpkb that there is glare coming from opposite traffic..

if everyone were to take extra steps to be cautious and more careful on the road, such things can easily be avoided...

No!

And there is no way spotting the girl based on shadow etc as camera is probably mounted near rear view mirror.

with my limited vocab really difficult to explain.

one would not expect a kid(which you cannot see here clearly) to dash across at 60km/h.

how fast can a kid run one would know subconsciously ,need not measure.

just travel slower than that pace and if she run out you already can see beforehand and stopped.

prob need a Physics student to explain.

if that was adult no doubt you could see.

the speed here was just an illustration.

If you can see the shadow, for this case, even if travel at 5km/h there is no way to avoid hitting the girl because I am sure you would have noticed that the girl hopped over the centre divider!

Edited by Qpik

If you can see the shadow, for this case, even if travel at 5km/h there is no way to avoid hitting the girl because I am sure you would have noticed that the girl hopped over the centre divider!

Qpik zeh zeh how come you no avatar one :mellow:

kids are not able to image/understand the potential danger on the road. from the video, it looks like she was chasing the bus at the other side.

your comment looks and sounds stupid. not the kid.

if your brain is the size of a pea than keep your comment to yourself.

stupid kid

bro, i think most people will agree if she is an adult but she is just a kid.

Expecting is one thing la, even the driver drives slowly, if anyone would just like this dash out of nowhere, how to stop?

Pedestrain should also responsible for their own safety, and at least look before dash out of a road.

• Dislike 1

Oh, i read my colleague's wanbao liao.

The wanbao wrote that:

The girl was conscious when the ambulance came and someone posted on fb that there was no internal injuries.

Wow that one's eyes better than X-ray & MRI?

our fark-up bus will not come in the next 15 min when you miss it. they will not even wait for you when you are 2 meters away from it.

this is part of the problem.

In the absence of traffic light, everyone need to practice safe crossing. I see even adults do that when they chase after a bus. Suddenly catching up with the bus becomes uptmost priority, at the expense of safety.

Qpik zeh zeh how come you no avatar one :mellow:

OT, hv under the old mcf.

new mcf, dono how to upload, lazy n don't c the need [:p]

I just hope all the parents reading this thread will now take extra effort when teaching your children road safety and also set a good example when you're crossing the road with them.

Feel free to show them the video, they might learn something from it.

It's blind spot because railing is same height as any sedan vehicle driver eye level.

Lower railing will make it ineffective

So every car should be SUV, then can have better view.

Instead of your fancy calculations, how about telling us the various ways this driver could have avoided/lessen the impact of the accident?

Hindsight is 20/20. But lets apply it for the future.

So easy... Ask the driver not to drive la. No accidents for sure.

You should be asking what the girl has learned from this incident.

i have shown the video to my children. i don't believe i will be able to stop in time if i was the driver.

the sad thing is most people here is looking at pointing the finger to the little girl demonstrate the lack of human decency . if she is an adult, i would say that she is reckless and maybe stupid but she is just a kid.

Somebody, a person or a committee, decided to stop the railings at that point, for some reason.

I wonder if they know about this accident and will reconsider the fencing stop off point and will allow for this type of thing elsewhere.

Personally unless the driver was speeding and impssible from the video to know that, then imo the girl is fully at fault.

Sorry to say that but it's my opinion.

I hope she recovers.

This video should be shown in all schools.

i have shown the video to my children. i don't believe i will be able to stop in time if i was the driver.

the sad thing is most people here is looking at pointing the finger to the little girl demonstrate the lack of human decency . if she is an adult, i would say that she is reckless and maybe stupid but she is just a kid.

Ya, good to show the video to your children. Hopefully they would understand that dashing across the road without checking for oncoming cars is dangerous. It may also help remind them to always check for oncoming cars when crossing the road.