Blueray Hypersonic May 24, 2017 Share May 24, 2017 (edited) Private-hire cars outnumber taxis by a mile But in just a year, their population trebled. It breached the 10,000 and 30,000 marks in 2015 and last year, respectively. As at the end of last month, it stood at 41,297 - 56 per cent more than the total taxi population of 26,476. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/private-hire-cars-outnumber-taxis-by-a-mile Edited May 24, 2017 by Blueray ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 24, 2017 Share May 24, 2017 Private-hire cars outnumber taxis by a mile http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/private-hire-cars-outnumber-taxis-by-a-mile not surprising, nowadays you can find an Uber/Grab out of 5 cars on the road. Taxi driver also dun have to work so hard, they can start late and go home early. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 24, 2017 Share May 24, 2017 why uber never provide support to these driver in HK? They did what. They did say they will pay for the drivers' legal costs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic May 24, 2017 Share May 24, 2017 Hamish Douglass, the co-founder of the Magellan Financial Group with $50 billion under management, thinks ride share service Uber has a less than 1% chance of surviving the next decade. “It’s constantly losing money and its capital-raising strategy is a ponzi scheme,” he said at the annual Stockbrokers and Financial Advisers Conference in Sydney. Douglass says Uber is under threat from the arrival of autonomous cars where the ride sharing business has no advantage. “When I look at Uber … I think of it as one of the most stupid investments in history,” the Australian Financial Review reported him saying. “The probability of this business going bankrupt in a decade is 99%.” And the competition is coming because the barriers to entry to ride-sharing are low. “All they (Uber) do is keep increasing their private market valuation and someone always says, I’ll put some money up, because next time they raise, it’ll be at a higher price,” says Douglass. Uber was founded in 2009 in San Francisco and now operates in 58 countries and is valued at more than $60 billion. Read more at https://www.businessinsider.com.au/an-australian-fund-manager-who-runs-50-billion-says-uber-is-a-ponzi-scheme-and-is-99-sure-to-be-broke-in-a-decade-2017-5#86JCXD6Vd031fxvX.99 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged May 24, 2017 Share May 24, 2017 not surprising, nowadays you can find an Uber/Grab out of 5 cars on the road. Taxi driver also dun have to work so hard, they can start late and go home early. in the near future cars will only get more expensive, with little control over this PH leasing thing we could even see 1 out of 3 or more soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 25, 2017 Share May 25, 2017 I ownself uber ownself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 25, 2017 Share May 25, 2017 (edited) Douglass says Uber is under threat from the arrival of autonomous cars where the ride sharing business has no advantage. “When I look at Uber … I think of it as one of the most stupid investments in history,” the Australian Financial Review reported him saying. “The probability of this business going bankrupt in a decade is 99%.” And the competition is coming because the barriers to entry to ride-sharing are low. The threat of autonomous car is probably close to nil. Right now, sometimes there are problems with riders and drivers. Given and going to wrong pickup point. Going the wrong way or not the preferred way to destination, riders and drivers can kpkb with each other and still get to some place they can agree or disagree on. With autonomous car, a wrong pickup point means the car will just leave after x min. It's unlikely and may not attempt to communicate with rider. Going to the wrong destination, autonomous car will just stop and wait for rider to alight. If rider doesn't want to alight, they can't communicate. The car is either stuck there or it just ignore current rider and continues on. Not a pretty picture for autonomous car. Ask Johnny Cab in Total Recall. Edited May 25, 2017 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 25, 2017 Share May 25, 2017 The threat of autonomous car is probably close to nil. Right now, sometimes there are problems with riders and drivers. Given and going to wrong pickup point. Going the wrong way or not the preferred way to destination, riders and drivers can kpkb with each other and still get to some place they can agree or disagree on. i just learn from the driver that when the route shown on the apps and the price quoted/agreed, there is nothing much that can change unless a longer route was taken which you can dispute. However, no prize or discount if you have a shorter way to reach but not suggested in the app. Nowadays i just board and do my own thing and not worry how to get there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KoreanLover 5th Gear May 25, 2017 Share May 25, 2017 not surprising, nowadays you can find an Uber/Grab out of 5 cars on the road. Taxi driver also dun have to work so hard, they can start late and go home early. I think otherwise. With such stiff competition from Uber/Grab, the taxi drivers have to work doubly hard (start early / end late) if they wish to command a decent income, unlike last time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 25, 2017 Share May 25, 2017 The threat of autonomous car is probably close to nil. Right now, sometimes there are problems with riders and drivers. Given and going to wrong pickup point. Going the wrong way or not the preferred way to destination, riders and drivers can kpkb with each other and still get to some place they can agree or disagree on. With autonomous car, a wrong pickup point means the car will just leave after x min. It's unlikely and may not attempt to communicate with rider. Going to the wrong destination, autonomous car will just stop and wait for rider to alight. If rider doesn't want to alight, they can't communicate. The car is either stuck there or it just ignore current rider and continues on. Not a pretty picture for autonomous car. Ask Johnny Cab in Total Recall. Next time cannot drive aimlessly liao: http://jalopnik.com/autonomous-cars-must-let-us-wander-and-explore-without-1795445877 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 25, 2017 Share May 25, 2017 i just learn from the driver that when the route shown on the apps and the price quoted/agreed, there is nothing much that can change unless a longer route was taken which you can dispute. However, no prize or discount if you have a shorter way to reach but not suggested in the app. Nowadays i just board and do my own thing and not worry how to get there. I just kena complained from a cheapo rider that the route I took was poor route and inefficient. I was merely following the gps route. The trip fare dropped from $14 to $5. It shows that riders can beat the system and the drivers just by complaining about poor route every time. Do that to a taxi driver and see what happens. Suka suka just take away his money by complaining about poor route. Take, within the city with maybe > 10 different ways of reaching your destination. What is good route ? Who decides ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic May 25, 2017 Share May 25, 2017 I just kena complained from a cheapo rider that the route I took was poor route and inefficient. I was merely following the gps route. The trip fare dropped from $14 to $5. It shows that riders can beat the system and the drivers just by complaining about poor route every time. Do that to a taxi driver and see what happens. Suka suka just take away his money by complaining about poor route. Take, within the city with maybe > 10 different ways of reaching your destination. What is good route ? Who decides ? Complain back to Uber bro. See what they says. Never try never know. Just tell them u followed the GPS. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 25, 2017 Share May 25, 2017 (edited) I just kena complained from a cheapo rider that the route I took was poor route and inefficient. I was merely following the gps route. The trip fare dropped from $14 to $5. It shows that riders can beat the system and the drivers just by complaining about poor route every time. Do that to a taxi driver and see what happens. Suka suka just take away his money by complaining about poor route. Take, within the city with maybe > 10 different ways of reaching your destination. What is good route ? Who decides ? Lodge a complaint back with Uber. Say you followed GPS. They should top up back for you. I got a few times where the fare is unusually low. Sent in complaint then they revised the fare back. Edited May 25, 2017 by Benarsenal 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 25, 2017 Share May 25, 2017 I just kena complained from a cheapo rider that the route I took was poor route and inefficient. I was merely following the gps route. The trip fare dropped from $14 to $5. It shows that riders can beat the system and the drivers just by complaining about poor route every time. Do that to a taxi driver and see what happens. Suka suka just take away his money by complaining about poor route. Take, within the city with maybe > 10 different ways of reaching your destination. What is good route ? Who decides ? you should complaint to uber to reinstate the amount if you follow the route agreed upon when taking the booking. if the rider agree to the route and the price, he cannot argue. On top of that give the rider 1* rating. I only complaint once when the driver took many unnecessary turns result in longer way not according to the original plan. Uber revert back to the agreed price which I first confirmed on booking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Still2016 Twincharged May 26, 2017 Share May 26, 2017 I wondered if there are provisions in place, when during your trip, the uber or grab car experience a punctured tire or engine failure, will Uber compensate both driver and / or passenger. What happens when passenger holding on the handle bar from the roof of the car then breaks? Who pays? Since delay or cancel of booking attracts some form of compensation. 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic May 26, 2017 Share May 26, 2017 I just kena complained from a cheapo rider that the route I took was poor route and inefficient. I was merely following the gps route. The trip fare dropped from $14 to $5. It shows that riders can beat the system and the drivers just by complaining about poor route every time. Do that to a taxi driver and see what happens. Suka suka just take away his money by complaining about poor route. Take, within the city with maybe > 10 different ways of reaching your destination. What is good route ? Who decides ? Uh. Did you take damn long? Otherwise inefficient so what? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 26, 2017 Share May 26, 2017 I just kena complained from a cheapo rider that the route I took was poor route and inefficient. I was merely following the gps route. The trip fare dropped from $14 to $5. It shows that riders can beat the system and the drivers just by complaining about poor route every time. Do that to a taxi driver and see what happens. Suka suka just take away his money by complaining about poor route. Take, within the city with maybe > 10 different ways of reaching your destination. What is good route ? Who decides ? What route you take can the fare dropped from $14 to $5? Or is there some problem with the GPS that point you to a longer route? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 26, 2017 Share May 26, 2017 I think otherwise. With such stiff competition from Uber/Grab, the taxi drivers have to work doubly hard (start early / end late) if they wish to command a decent income, unlike last time. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...