13177 Hypersonic June 6, 2017 Share June 6, 2017 Loads of brand new Mazda 3 and Toyota Prius just arrived at Big Box. All SLP plate. Old car never clear and now new car come. Taking PH car is even better than driving own car, cause all are brand new car fresh from the showroom de. Lol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 7, 2017 Share June 7, 2017 Just curious, has anyone sold their private transport because of Uber or Grab? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 7, 2017 Share June 7, 2017 only 22,000? 22,000 given nod to register for private-hire driver’s licence BY VALERIE KOH AND ALFRED CHUA PUBLISHED: 4:00 AM, JUNE 7, 2017 SINGAPORE — Three months after applications opened for the Private Hire Car Driver’s Vocational Licence (PDVL), the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said yesterday that about 22,000 private drivers have been given approval to register for the PDVL course. “About 13,700 private hire cars have been affixed with the tamper-evident decals,” added the LTA. The decals, which must be affixed by July 1, is to allow for easier identification of registered private hire cars, and facilitate enforcement against offences such as unregistered cars providing chauffeured services. In a media briefing yesterday, car-hailing company Uber said that over 90 per cent of its drivers had signed up for the technology start-up’s FastLane programme, designed to ease the PDVL application process for them. The programme covers application fees and medical check-ups, among other costs. Grab, which held a separate media briefing in conjunction with its fifth anniversary, said it does not share the figures publicly. The PDVL regime was among a slew of new rules announced in April last year to regulate the private-hire car industry. Applicants must hold a valid Class 3 or 3A driver’s licence for at least two years and take a 10-hour course by the Singapore Taxi Academy to obtain the PDVL. Existing drivers who submit their applications by June 30 will have a one-year grace period to take the course, during which they can continue to drive. But those who apply after the deadline will have to obtain their licence before they can hit the roads. To facilitate applications for its remaining drivers who have not gotten their PDVL, Uber began offering medical screening services at their Paya Lebar office on Monday. Over 200 drivers can book appointments online each day for the on-site service, offered by three doctors and nurses from Fullerton Health. Previously, drivers had to go to Raffles Medical Clinics around the island. In an update on other aspects of their business, Uber Singapore head of operations Jonathan Wong said since rolling out a daily report on the driving patterns of drivers six months ago, the company has been able to provide information to drivers “so that they can self-improve their driving or change their driving patterns”. Uber declined to share the trends picked up through these daily reports, which are not tied to any incentive schemes. Grab also said it will be expanding the use of its telematics programme, which will now track and cover other indicators of driving behaviour, including dangerous swerving, hard-braking as well as sudden acceleration. Drivers who exhibit such driving patterns will be sent a corrective message through the driver’s mobile application, said its head of product Jerald Singh. only 22,000? 22,000 given nod to register for private-hire driver’s licence BY VALERIE KOH AND ALFRED CHUA PUBLISHED: 4:00 AM, JUNE 7, 2017 SINGAPORE — Three months after applications opened for the Private Hire Car Driver’s Vocational Licence (PDVL), the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said yesterday that about 22,000 private drivers have been given approval to register for the PDVL course. “About 13,700 private hire cars have been affixed with the tamper-evident decals,” added the LTA. The decals, which must be affixed by July 1, is to allow for easier identification of registered private hire cars, and facilitate enforcement against offences such as unregistered cars providing chauffeured services. In a media briefing yesterday, car-hailing company Uber said that over 90 per cent of its drivers had signed up for the technology start-up’s FastLane programme, designed to ease the PDVL application process for them. The programme covers application fees and medical check-ups, among other costs. Grab, which held a separate media briefing in conjunction with its fifth anniversary, said it does not share the figures publicly. The PDVL regime was among a slew of new rules announced in April last year to regulate the private-hire car industry. Applicants must hold a valid Class 3 or 3A driver’s licence for at least two years and take a 10-hour course by the Singapore Taxi Academy to obtain the PDVL. Existing drivers who submit their applications by June 30 will have a one-year grace period to take the course, during which they can continue to drive. But those who apply after the deadline will have to obtain their licence before they can hit the roads. To facilitate applications for its remaining drivers who have not gotten their PDVL, Uber began offering medical screening services at their Paya Lebar office on Monday. Over 200 drivers can book appointments online each day for the on-site service, offered by three doctors and nurses from Fullerton Health. Previously, drivers had to go to Raffles Medical Clinics around the island. In an update on other aspects of their business, Uber Singapore head of operations Jonathan Wong said since rolling out a daily report on the driving patterns of drivers six months ago, the company has been able to provide information to drivers “so that they can self-improve their driving or change their driving patterns”. Uber declined to share the trends picked up through these daily reports, which are not tied to any incentive schemes. Grab also said it will be expanding the use of its telematics programme, which will now track and cover other indicators of driving behaviour, including dangerous swerving, hard-braking as well as sudden acceleration. Drivers who exhibit such driving patterns will be sent a corrective message through the driver’s mobile application, said its head of product Jerald Singh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 7, 2017 Share June 7, 2017 Bad experience with JustGrab this evening. JustGrab accepted our booking, waiting time 5mins. When the JustGrab (Transcab) arrived at the pickup location, another couple entered saying they booked with UBER. We asked the driver and he informed booking cancelled. The cancellation message then showed up on my phone at that instance. We have been watching my phone to monitor the arrival of the JustGrab, and wouldn't have missed the cancellation message if it was received earlier. We reported this incident to Grab, and will take note of this particular Transcab number. If there are more such incidents, then we will be guided to take PH cars (JustGrab) only. If taxi drivers are not keen to accept JustGrab bookings, then don't it unwillingly. Grabshare rides are now also available to taxi drivers. I can't imagine how the taxi drivers will undertake this role. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 7, 2017 Share June 7, 2017 Bad experience with JustGrab this evening. JustGrab accepted our booking, waiting time 5mins. When the JustGrab (Transcab) arrived at the pickup location, another couple entered saying they booked with UBER. We asked the driver and he informed booking cancelled. The cancellation message then showed up on my phone at that instance. We have been watching my phone to monitor the arrival of the JustGrab, and wouldn't have missed the cancellation message if it was received earlier. We reported this incident to Grab, and will take note of this particular Transcab number. If there are more such incidents, then we will be guided to take PH cars (JustGrab) only. If taxi drivers are not keen to accept JustGrab bookings, then don't it unwillingly. Grabshare rides are now also available to taxi drivers. I can't imagine how the taxi drivers will undertake this role. Uber dun use any taxi company vehicle for what I know, the drive got greedy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic June 7, 2017 Share June 7, 2017 This stomper is a bozo. He was quoted the fare upfront leh. Saying he didn't notice is not an excuse. Yeah, a lot of these complains on Stomps are ownself kum gong one lah. I don't bother to read Stomp stuff. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noob79 Twincharged June 7, 2017 Share June 7, 2017 Lol, they have warped mind and twisted logic Yeah, a lot of these complains on Stomps are ownself kum gong one lah. I don't bother to read Stomp stuff. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 7, 2017 Share June 7, 2017 Uber dun use any taxi company vehicle for what I know, the drive got greedy. Yeah, that's strange. Uber don't use taxis. That driver must have been playing around with 2 apps, if it's possible. Pick the best deal and discard the other. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged June 7, 2017 Share June 7, 2017 Uber dun use any taxi company vehicle for what I know, the drive got greedy. Yeah. Complain the taxi driver. It's his fault. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear June 8, 2017 Share June 8, 2017 Taxi driver mindset will forever be Taxi driver mindset. That's the major reason why PH cars able to GRAB a chunk out of Taxi market. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged June 8, 2017 Share June 8, 2017 (edited) Bad experience with JustGrab this evening. JustGrab accepted our booking, waiting time 5mins. When the JustGrab (Transcab) arrived at the pickup location, another couple entered saying they booked with UBER. We asked the driver and he informed booking cancelled. After the taxi driver accepted your JustGrab booking, he saw a Uber booking with higher pricing, so he accepted that and cancelled yours only 22,000? only 22,000? 22,000 registered as Private Hire drivers (including those who own the car they drive), when there’s more than 40,000 private hire vehicle sin Singapore? No wonder Cat A COE bidding was weak yesterday and fell to a 14 month low. Edited June 8, 2017 by Vinceng 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 8, 2017 Share June 8, 2017 After the taxi driver accepted your JustGrab booking, he saw a Uber booking with higher pricing, so he accepted that and cancelled yours 22,000 registered as Private Hire drivers (including those who own the car they drive), when there’s more than 40,000 private hire vehicle sin Singapore? No wonder Cat A COE bidding was weak yesterday and fell to a 14 month low. It means near half of the PH cars are left idling without any takers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged June 8, 2017 Share June 8, 2017 It means near half of the PH cars are left idling without any takers? is leasing considered as PH cars even if the driver don't intend to be a private hire driver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 8, 2017 Share June 8, 2017 Bad experience with JustGrab this evening. JustGrab accepted our booking, waiting time 5mins. When the JustGrab (Transcab) arrived at the pickup location, another couple entered saying they booked with UBER. We asked the driver and he informed booking cancelled. The cancellation message then showed up on my phone at that instance. We have been watching my phone to monitor the arrival of the JustGrab, and wouldn't have missed the cancellation message if it was received earlier. We reported this incident to Grab, and will take note of this particular Transcab number. If there are more such incidents, then we will be guided to take PH cars (JustGrab) only. If taxi drivers are not keen to accept JustGrab bookings, then don't it unwillingly. Grabshare rides are now also available to taxi drivers. I can't imagine how the taxi drivers will undertake this role. I agree with the rest that you need to complaint to both Grab and Uber. 1. His Uber profile should not be a taxi, Uber should blacklist him. 2. Ask grab for compensation for your time and the different amount for next ride. 3. No point inform Transcab as we know how notorious the company and drivers are. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Francis-jack 6th Gear June 8, 2017 Share June 8, 2017 Bad experience with JustGrab this evening. JustGrab accepted our booking, waiting time 5mins. When the JustGrab (Transcab) arrived at the pickup location, another couple entered saying they booked with UBER. We asked the driver and he informed booking cancelled. The cancellation message then showed up on my phone at that instance. We have been watching my phone to monitor the arrival of the JustGrab, and wouldn't have missed the cancellation message if it was received earlier. We reported this incident to Grab, and will take note of this particular Transcab number. If there are more such incidents, then we will be guided to take PH cars (JustGrab) only. If taxi drivers are not keen to accept JustGrab bookings, then don't it unwillingly. Grabshare rides are now also available to taxi drivers. I can't imagine how the taxi drivers will undertake this role. where is yr van bro... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 8, 2017 Share June 8, 2017 where is yr van bro... The vehicle was already scrapped in Nov2016. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 8, 2017 Share June 8, 2017 I agree with the rest that you need to complaint to both Grab and Uber. 1. His Uber profile should not be a taxi, Uber should blacklist him. 2. Ask grab for compensation for your time and the different amount for next ride. 3. No point inform Transcab as we know how notorious the company and drivers are. Already reported to Grab as this service attitude is downright unacceptable and damage Grab reputation as well. Do not intend to do #1,#3 since Grab provide the booking. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Francis-jack 6th Gear June 8, 2017 Share June 8, 2017 The vehicle was already scrapped in Nov2016. oh never get new car meh ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...